We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Red Basilica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Basilica Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Bergama B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I felt so lucky to find this place. The rooms are clean, and quiet, and close to the ancient site.
I will definitely come back this summer. The breakfast amazing too; local cheese and something that I have not seen for awhile; fresh kaymak (cream) and local honey.

Room Tip: I had room number 2 and this had a double bed, the light was good for reading, the bathroom super mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdmorsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ufuk a, Yönetici at Red Basilica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Madison; thanks for your kindly comment. We are happy for your visit and we are happy to hear that you liked our breakfast. We serve natural and local foods at breakfast. Thats very important for us. We hope that you will visit Bergama and our hotel again. Best Regards Ufuk Akyüz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Last summer , When I was in Turkey I decided to visit Bergama for three days.Then I went.I had to book hotel.Someone from county recommended to me Red Basilica.It's too closed to castle.I can say at the foot of the castle.İn somuch that in the middle of the history.Hotel is really great comfortable and peacefully.Because İt's very quite and safe place. I can easily recommend everyone.You should taste comfort!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edupadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UfukSofaCafeBergama, Yönetici at Red Basilica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thanks for kindly comment.Best Regards Red Basilica Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

After travelling in Turkey for a week we were so pleased to be staying at the Red Basilica. We had the Paris and Helene suite. It was an oasis, a home away from home. The breakfasts at the cafe were superb, as was the service of all concerned. We highly recommend this"hotel" and thank the owners for their warmth and friendliness . The hotel "reception " is the cafe .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheerfulunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UfukSofaCafeBergama, Yönetici at Red Basilica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thanks for your kindly comment.We were happy to welcome you and your family. Thanks also for the information you provide about cycling. Best Regards Ufuk AKYÜZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Great location to access the red basilica and walk to the cable car to the acropolis. Great decor and excellent fittings throughout. Trendy bathroom with all modcons. The proprietor is charming and very informative. When leaving he kindly walked us to the nearby secondary otogar and helped arrange our tickets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mim1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ufuk a, Yönetici at Red Basilica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thanks for your kindly comment. Thank you for your conversation enjoyable. Items that we think you may need to make your stay comfortable while decorating our rooms and we have endeavored to use. All of them one by one, we chose our own hands. Have tried to give you the feeling of a Turkish bath with marble used in the bathrooms. We're glad you like it. Best Regards Ufuk AKYÜZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Don't think of the "Red Basilica Hotel" as just a hotel with comfortable rooms, think of it as a magical, transformational experience.
A gorgeous brand new boutique hotel in a town with scenic beauty & historical sights.
The owner's consistent charm, generosity, helpfulness and friendliness make this a very special place- a lovely environment to meet lots of interesting people- and base from which to explore Bergama's wonderful historical sites such as the ancient Acropolis.
The hosts are keen to make sure you have a great stay with some well chosen local advice.
The location of the hotel is perfect as it is a very close proximity to all the tourist attractions & famous historical sites.
The hotel is new so the rooms are absolutely spotless and even smell divine. Each room is decorated with a different colour. Our room was my favourite all white - simple, clean and peaceful with traditional style. Each room is equally sleek, stylish and decorated with tender loving care...
The food must not be missed, whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner, I was so impressed by the standard of cuisine on offer. If you are after a quiet getaway with a relaxing atmosphere but full of history then this is the place for you.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!
This hotel is like a paradise in Bergama!
"Idyllic and heavenly!...."

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aysegulbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ufuk a, Yönetici at Red Basilica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Barber family, who loved walking like you, everywhere they go sightseeing to the finest detail and the cultural need more did not find a family who enjoys the social aspects. There are so many good comments we receive from you as a person who walks in were very happy with us even more. We were motivated by the fact in order to provide better service. Pergamum was glad to love and keep you satisfied with our services. Best Regards Ufuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Very beautiful design and boutique hotel. Every part of interior design was carefully choosen with very specials pieces of design and arts. The staff was very kindly.

The rooms are warm, inviting, and designed for your comfort and convenience. I stayed in a white room which was trendy, elegant, and spacious .

The Red Basilica Hotel is located close to Bergama's notable ruins are the Sanctuary of or Asclepeion, and the Red Basilica complex. If you are adventurous and you are looking for a decent stay in Bergama, RBH would be perfect for you.

I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Remember, this is a big time tourist city and in the UNESCO's cultural heritage tentative list...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ufuk a, Yönetici at Red Basilica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thanks for your kindly comment. I'm glad you liked our hotel and satisfied with our services. Best Regards Ufuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed at Red Basilica Hotel with my teenage son. We had a very spacious twin bed room considering this being a small hotel. Room has all the amenities that I'd look for when I am traveling but we enjoyed most looking around for little details in the room: small local rug, old wooden cabinet under the sink, lamps, furniture..it is a room with style and character which very nicely represents the area. Each room is decorated in a different color. Even the bathroom is very nicely decorated with a combination of wood and marble, modern bathroom fixtures and old wood furniture and lamps. We loved staying in the old part of Bergama town, right below the ancient Acropolis. Everything is pretty and soothing. Best of all, you wake up to a quite morning with lots of sunshine in your room. We enjoyed walking by our local neighbors sitting in front of their houses as we go for breakfast to the lovely Red Basilica cafe. They serve a big local breakfast on a very chic plate. Local cheese was delicious with local simit, just fresh out of oven. It is hard to leave the room and the breakfast, but hotel owners offer quite an exciting package of activities in the area from outdoor adventures to village visits and of course a visit to ancient Pergamon acropolis was our favorite..Even my teenage son was highly entertained and happy during our stay at Red Basilica Hotel. He especially enjoyed the free wi-fi all around! I cannot wait to come back to stay in the blue room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayleeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UfukSofaCafeBergama, Yönetici at Red Basilica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear Ceylan, you, your son, and we were glad to welcome American guests. Thank you for your kind thoughts. These comments are very motivated and happy than us. I hope your son through a very enjoyable school life in America. Best Regards . Red Basilica Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergama
22.2 mi away
Kalem Island Oliviera Resort
16.3 mi away
Rakasta Boutique Hotel & Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Les Pergamon Hotel
Les Pergamon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bergama
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anil Hotel
Anil Hotel
#12 of 15 in Bergama
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hera Boutique Hotel
Hera Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Bergama
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akropolis Guest House
Akropolis Guest House
#3 of 15 in Bergama
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Basilica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Basilica Hotel

Address: Kinik Cad.Kalayci Sokak.No : 9-10, Bergama 35700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Bergama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bergama
Price Range: £34 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests, Our goal is to create places where people sit their coffee with pleasure, have nice conversations and to give simple, high class and different accommodation services and our goal is also to contribute our country's tourism. In ancient city Bergama which host major civilization for more than 3000 years , we're excited to bring into action these projects.Thinking that how can we make feel this tissue, in August 2010 we set up a pretty cafe that opposite of the Temple of Serapis ( Red Basilica ). Our breakfast and coffe became legend. This is our gate that open towards Bergama. In very short time we make elite and good friends. When we saw the old Greek house we bought it and made alterations.In September 2011 we began to restoration and in August we finished our house, ParisHelena Suite where a family or two couples stay easily in this two-storey house, was our first child. We started welcoming guests and comments received from you was a huge motivation. Being the original names of Temple of Serapis impressed by the story of the Red Basilica , opposite neighbour of ParisHelena Suite. Our hotel has 7 rooms which is decorated differently from each other. Bergama is not only ancient city. After leaving you feel yourself like a cotton and we have an Ottoman bath that serve for 500 years. The world-famous Kozak Plate pine nuts and honey, goat cheese,olives,cream, çığırtma,patties,local rugs made with vegetable dyes.Not tell all, come and explore rest of it ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Basilica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing