We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How cool!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akropolis Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akropolis Guest House
Ranked #5 of 14 Bergama B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How cool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked this place purely as a stop over b/t Gallipoli & Kusadasi (we were leaving Chanakale mid arvo & weren't sure if we'd get all the way to Kusadasi in one hit - especially having been up all night at the Dawn Service at Gallipoli).

What a pleasant surprise. Of course we couldn't find it initially- like all the maps on this web site it's not as simple as it looks (please don't take that the wrong way as "getting there" is all part of the "adventure") so we stopped at the local police station (arrived late & after the tourist info shop had shut) to ask directions. Minimal English & us with no Turkish - no problem! Rather than try to explain directions, the officer simply gave us a motor bike escort to the hotel! How cool is that?

And when we get there we find a wonderful, rustic old place with a care taker (a lovely "elder lady" who was most welcoming) & a spacious apartment style unit upstairs, which, although not the Tarj Mahal, had the biggest shower I saw in all of Turkey! And with plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was also excellent - no bacon & eggs but great traditional Turkish food & very fresh.

The hotel is walking distance to food & drinking places for dinner & afterwards- an interesting assortment. And not far from the "sights" of Bergama. Overall a great place to break your trip & highly recommended if you are looking for something a bit different to your "run of the mill" hotel.

Steve & Jeni

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    56
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
49
60
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Spotless, very large rooms each with balcony or terrace. Nice garden and pool. 5 minutes from old bus station, 2 km from new bus station. Taxi about 20TL in 2014 from new bus station. Very helpful owner who helps with buses etc and picks up the tickets. Best breakfast in 3 weeks. Place is being expanded and will be even better. Walking distance to sights, restaurants etc

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamawaySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We chose this hotel because it was close to the cable car which takes you up to the Acropolis of the ancient city of Pergamon, a fantastic place to visit. The room upstairs was somewhat rustic, as was the dining hall, but we really enjoyed sitting on the balcony soaking up the sun, drinking the tea brought to us by the lovely woman who enjoyed looking after us.The owner was friendly and helpful and we felt very comfortable staying there. There are new rooms being built next door which I would like to stay in if we ever went back to Bergama.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyroseoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lovely owner, very eager to make us feel welcome
Great location, near red basilica and entrance to Acropolis
we enjoyed our little balcony
very good value for the money
good WIFI connection
fresh food for breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Honestly, we were delighted to find this place. Rooms are comfortable and super clean. This hotel is located only a few steps from the Red Basilica and other main sites in Bergama. At this hotel we were able to enjoy the true turkish hospitality that turns a regular trip into a memorable experience. Thank you for the delicious breakfast and the warm hospitality sweet Lady... We look forward to return to Bergama and to your hotel; and we hope to bring friends along with us. Best wishes, from Carolina & Esteban (Arjantinliler)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My friends and I, 4 of us, stayed at Akropolis Guest House from 8 - 10 Feb 2014 and we enjoyed the stay very much. Clean beds and spacious rooms. Nice cozy environment. The owner was very friendly and helpful. He cooked breakfast for us when his staff was on leave and helped arranged a cab to pick us us from Izmir Airport.

Will come back again.
Mark
Singapore

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markdoxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our trip around Turkey. The people who run it were very friendly and helpful and the home cooked meals were tasty with generous portions. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and full of character with a good WiFi connection. We were on the first floor and had a balcony with a seating area outside our room overlooking the pool. Although small the pool was refreshing. The hotel was conveniently located about a 5 minute walk from the cable car up to the acropolis. The whole place had the feel of a Mediterranean villa with rooms surrounding a courtyard area and was a very relaxing environment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MANA_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergama hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Pergamon Hotel
Les Pergamon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bergama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Labella Bergama
Hotel Labella Bergama
#2 of 5 in Bergama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Basilica Hotel
Red Basilica Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bergama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Athena Pension
Athena Pension
#7 of 14 in Bergama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aristonicus Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Anil Boutique Hotel
Anil Boutique Hotel
#9 of 14 in Bergama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akropolis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akropolis Guest House

Property: Akropolis Guest House
Address: Kurtulus Mah. Kayalik Sok. No 3, Bergama 35700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Bergama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bergama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Akropolis Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akropolis Guest House is located in the historical, old part of the city where the major attractions are very close. It's on the way of Redhall-Bazelika and Akropolis. Just 250 mt after Bazelika. And everybody know where Bazelika is if you ask in Bergama....You will feel the blend of uncountable cultures from the terrace. One silent location sarrounded narrow streets with old houses which they reflects the face of pergamum stories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Akropolis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing