We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well preserved castle/fort.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cesme Castle

Cesme Castle
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Cesme
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well preserved castle/fort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Great views, nice small museum; in great shape. Fun to walk around, and imagine what it was like when functioning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FJE_4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    128
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cesme castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

This castle is not much different than the castles at other cities and there are too many reconstruction.

In sommer there are celebrity concerts held in this castle highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ephesusguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No 2 castle in anatolia is alike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

stupendous space great location witness to history. The castle is easy to access. I am proud to say that used as an audotorium, it serves the purpose perfectly with its grand aqcoustics

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mehlika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Definitely not one of the biggest castles I've visited, but it's very well preserved and definitely worth a look if you are spending a day or more in Cesme. Having just taken the boat over from the island of Chios, the top of the castle offers a great view back to Chios. It was a clear and warm day too, so it was perfect!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Panionara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonya, Bus
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth your time to visit if you are in Cesme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Hi,

This gem is tucked away and if you are in this town I highly recommend that you check it out. It is not a huge castle but the views from the top are very beautiful panoramic of the harbor and city. I took some lovely photos but I have not posted them up yet. Also inside the castle is the museum, which is basically that they have some of the ancient artifacts that were unearthed in some of the rooms of the castle under video surveillance, armed guards, and climate controlled conditions. I did not know about this and my relatives even had never been to this location but I am very happy I was able to see it this past summer. There are some stairs so if you are very old or have difficulty walking up stairs then you may need to rest but they have benches around and again it is not a huge place, surely worth your time for a visit, especially since it is relatively cheap to see. Btw they have renovated the mens and womens restrooms beautiful marble throughout, not original tiles of course, but very modern and clean.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Big_Shadow_Stalks_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cesme Castle also viewed

Cesme, Izmir Province
Cesme, Izmir Province
 
Cesme, Izmir Province
Cesme, Izmir Province
 

Been to Cesme Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing