We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kanuni Kervansaray Historical Hotel
Ranked #91 of 134 Hotels in Cesme
Ankara, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Room”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were able to walk to Kanuni from the bus stop. The hotel is located right next to the castle and marina, so it's in a great location, but expect to be awakened at 5 am for the call to prayer!

We were able to check in early, which was greatly appreciated and the staff was very friendly. We stayed in the Sultan's Flat: It. Was. Amazing. There was a large living room with a fruit basket waiting for us. The bedroom had a huge domed ceiling and a shower inside the room with no roof so when you were in it, you could look up and see the awesome designs painted onto the ceiling. The bathroom was the second best part. There was a full sized jaccuzzi in the middle of the room, a tv on the wall above a fireplace, a Turkish bath and a private sauna. The best part of the room was the two private terraces. We stayed out there for hours sunbathing and looking at the water. We had a private dining table right outside our door and in the morning, the staff set up breakfast for us.

The only downside was that the sauna didn't work at first. A maintenance worker showed up right away to fix it, but once he got it started, the electricity kept tripping when the sauna and the lights were on at the same time, so I used the sauna in the dark (the window shade in the bathroom wouldn't raise). Also, the wifi only worked in the living room and even then, it wasn't strong, but it was very strong right outside of the room if you sat at the dining table.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheslikeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    22
    15
    7
    15
See reviews for
20
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after visiting Chios. The hotel had our rooms ready for our early arrival and the ambiance was awesome. The bed was insanely comfortable. It serves as a good point for walking around to the various spots in Cesme. We didn't get to have breakfast our last day because they were running late which was the only draw back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were attracted by the historical side of this hotel (the word KERVANSARAY is so exotic!)but we were a little bit nervous about the comfort and the cozyness. All worries for nothing - the room was large, the bed comfortable, the bath area very good. Remodelling the hotel the architects kept the spirit of the old kervansaray. BUT! there is some problems with the noices from the running waters and the system of sewers. And also there is a need of some signs for visitors to keep silence after 10 PM.
We liked the breakfast but we were sorry there was no real juice and real Turkish coffee which would be exellent with the spirit of the place.
Wonderful location!

Room Tip: Vesir suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smily53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was entirely in awe of this place and what they have been able to do with such a historical building to make it a fantastic place to stay. From the attention to detail in the room to the beautiful view from the rooftop, I loved this hotel! Outside the room, we had nice couches where we could sit to take in the inner courtyard or browse the internet (wifi was just fine here). The location was perfect, with or without a car; the breakfast offered the only omellette bar that I experienced while in Turkey. We only stayed one night and I left wanting more. I highly recommend this unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT_travels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Oh
Level 6 Contributor
1,501 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 548 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It is a historic building tastefully transformed in a very comfortable hotel. The location is excellent, in the center of Cesme village on the waterfront below the castle. It is less than half a mile from the bus station, from the little beach and a few blocks away from the marina and the shops and restaurants. The rooms are around the courtyard for the animal which has been transformed in a small swimming pool and lounge and dining areas. Because the footprints of the old building, the rooms are small but nicely appointed and have excellent air conditioning. The original thick walls provide great soundproofing but do not permit wireless service, which is available in the courtyard and it is good and free. There is a nice terrace on the third floor with great view of the castle, the harbor, the marina and the island of Chios.
For the location and quality of the room it is of great value, especially with free breakfast and parking.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are quitter and most of them have a window whereas some on the first floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcopolo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Ops!: There is no WIFI in this hotel except in front of reception desk.
I will start with pros:
This hotel can be good for one-two nights business stays in the area if you plan to use it for only sleeping. (not that because it is quiet, it is not) They have interesting decoration and nice to atmosphere with a small pool and trees in the middle of the building.
and cons:
They are extremely rude, unbelievable! Ask for something like "can I have one more pillow" or direction to somewhere and they are like ":\ I DONNO! THERE ARE NO (fill with what you ever wish)!!! IT IS BROKEN, okay, hah!!!" we couldn't even get scissors to cut a bandage when my friend was bleeding in front of their eyes. Most of the stuff doesn't speak english, accept one stone faced, rude girl.
I couldn't sleep most of the nights as well because the acoustic, stone walls + wooden big doors becomes so noisy.
The pool is for decoration, lame and unnecessary. Go find a hotel with a beautiful pool. There are many options. There are tiniest windows in the room, just consider them not there.
I forgot the most important part; breakfast buffet is too limited. dried out, old cheese pieces, awful metal oxidation tasted tea and no coffee (or just: who drinks worst brand instant coffee, huh?)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elodeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cesme hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

First impression wasn't good. Because of the reviews. But I stayed 2 nights and we had a great time. For this price Rooms, location is great. Hotel is in the downtown and shops are close. also roof bar is great a place to chill out. This is not a 5 star hotel so breakfast was ok as well next. Well renovation had been made.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesme hotels
2.4 mi away
Kamer Suites & Hotel
Kamer Suites & Hotel
#44 of 134 in Cesme
93 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sisus Hotel
Sisus Hotel
#28 of 134 in Cesme
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koz Marigold Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ege Tulip Cesme
Ege Tulip Cesme
#64 of 134 in Cesme
62 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arinnanda Hotel
Arinnanda Hotel
#26 of 134 in Cesme
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boyalik Beach Hotel & Spa Cesme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanuni Kervansaray Historical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanuni Kervansaray Historical Hotel

Property: Kanuni Kervansaray Historical Hotel
Address: Musalla Mah. Carsi Mevkii Kale yani No.5, Cesme 35930, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Cesme
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 134 Hotels in Cesme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kanuni Kervansaray Historical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kanuni Kervansaray Historical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing