We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation from Hell!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akay Family Club Hotel
Ranked #125 of 137 Hotels in Cesme
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and the road to the hotel is very dangerous and long. If you do not have a rental or your own vehicle you may as well plan on not leaving for anywhere worth seeing around the west coast. Our vehicle was covered with tar because the road actually melts when it is hot. The municipality's idiotic solution to this problem is to put loose gravel on the melting asphalt instead of fixing it right the first time!
Upon our arrival, the Hotel Management advised us that the villa that we have reserved months ahead was not available for our stay because the previous guests there decided to stay longer. Therefore they had to place us in two separate rooms which had the issues listed below:
1. Toilet did NOT flush at all.
2. Shower rod fell on a family members head without even touching anything.
3. A/C did NOT work at all. The other room that it was actually working was dripping water on the bed!
4. Landscape was not maintained at all.
5. The walls were falling apart.
6. The windows had gaps so large that the hotel management made rolls from old newspapers and stuck between the windows and the frames.
7. There was not a single towel or pillow covers in the rooms.
8. Dishes provided were dirty.
9. Bathroom was unbearably stinky (equal of being by a sewer/septic field).
10. Black mold was all over the lower bathroom walls.
11. Dead bugs/flies all over the walls and ceiling.
12. Furniture was old and some of the furniture was broken.
13. Room phone had no connectivity.
14.Floors were covered with dirt, under the cabinets were nasty!
15. NO FRESH WATER WAS AVAILABLE FROM ANY OF THE TAPS INSIDE!!!!! ALL SOURCES INSIDE THE ROOM WERE SALT WATER!!! WE WERE UNABLE TO TAKE A FRESH WATER SHOWER OR DRINK!!!
* If you are still planning on staying there after reading our experience, I wish you the best of luck being miserable!

Room Tip: There is no good room! Even the best rooms/villas are in awful condition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveler60893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is the worst hotel i've been in my whole life.
No service, rooms are dirty, nowhere is clean. you cant find any stuff. i found some insects in the bathroom.
the worst holiday mistake i've made ever.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Renissance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here on a timeshare exchange and were at first initially disappointed -the rooms were sparsely furnished with next to no facilities - it was like they were 3/4 finished - there was a spot for the fridge and stove and range hood but none there after complaining we had a small fridge bought in and a hot plate and some glasses, plates and cutlery. They really tried to accommodate us with whatever we asked for - English isn't spoken very well by anyone in the area. The unit was 2 storey and huge - 3 bedrooms and 2 balconies. Most of the time we ate out (Class Bialik restaurant down the road was to die for) but we had a few meals in where we managed to buy local produce (brilliant bread and vegetables and wine). our outlook was to die for, the pool superb and the resort was empty - it may get busy in the summer we were there in October - 26 degrees beautiful for the pool or Illica beach. Cesme was about 20km away great little village to visit - great restaurants - but we kept coming back to Bialik just down the road - you will love the waiter. Anyway we would return to Akay Gardens because we loved the area and we made it home for out time there

Room Tip: get a room with a view - up high near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rrene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The view at this property was incredible. The pool was beautiful, but too cold for swimming. The restaurant wasn't open for the season. We should have been informed of this when making reservations. The property is far from convenient restaurants and the roads were terrible to get to Ildir. Unfortunately, the resort needs a lot of updating. Both toilets leaked and rocked. The bathtub leaked. The bathroom smelled after a couple days of use. We had no water on two different occasions. The kitchen only had a small hot plate so it was difficult to cook our meals. We had to request the towel exchange after 4 days. They did attempt to clean the townhouse once after 5 days, but it was never clean. The yards and gardens were a mess. There is a lot of work that needs to be done to bring this group of townhouses to a resort status.

Room Tip: Wait a year or two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iowa_oma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Şeydagoktepe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Can Doğan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
8  Thank Nilgün U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesme hotels
8.1 mi away
Ilica Hotel Spa & Thermal Resort
13.0 mi away
Hotel Babaylon
Hotel Babaylon
#39 of 137 in Cesme
211 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ontur
Grand Hotel Ontur
#47 of 137 in Cesme
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Cesme
9.0 mi away
Sisus Hotel
Sisus Hotel
#25 of 137 in Cesme
366 reviews
8.8 mi away
Miplaya Hotel
Miplaya Hotel
#60 of 137 in Cesme
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akay Family Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akay Family Club Hotel

Address: Ildir Mah. 37202 Sok. No: 11 | Dolaplikuyu Mevkii, Cesme 35945, Turkey (Formerly Cesme Inn Garden Resort)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Cesme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Cesme
Hotel Class:3 star — Akay Family Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Akay Family Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akay Garden Hotel Cesme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing