We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great basic hotel centrally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Antikhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antikhan Hotel
Ranked #31 of 91 Izmir B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great basic hotel centrally located”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Really great breakfast, wifi works well, very clean, staff lovely, quiet but central street, rooms simple but comfortable. Excellent base for trips to Ephesus. Would recommend. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoeb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
12
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was recommended by our guide book as being charming. It certainly has an antique charm, but the rooms are very basic. There is a nice courtyard and decent local food. Our room, which we were told was the "best", was very strange, with a bare wooden, creaky, staircase leading up the sleeping area. One of the walls was made of breeze blocks and another was peeling. It had a very bare, unwelcoming feel to it. The area is close to the city, but in a slightly seedy neighborhood. However, the staff were friendly and it was not at all expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Do
The services are great, waiters are very helpful and very kind.
The room is good.
The hotel is near the coast with few mins walk can reach the sea.
I like the outlay of this hotel, with one word---"elegant".




Room Tip: ALL ASPECTS ARE EXCELLENT except that remote for air-conditioner doesn't work sometimes,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Mostly Turkish people staying here, and although the management is friendly, the service is orientated toward locals. The chances of finding someone fluent in another language are low. No security...not for the average traveller or single women. In a boisterous and authentic neighbourhood but your comfort level may be challenged.

Room Tip: ask for an interior garden room, otherwise street noise is a big issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Izmir hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Izmir is a city with a heavy problem in accommodation: there is a stark lack of boutique hotels and, in fact, hotels with character. Thankfully, Antik Han, which I discovered by chance back in 2004, has been my address during my several visits to Izmir over the last years. It was recently restored. Its courtyard with the huge lemon tree is an oasis of tranquillity in the buzzing bazaar district. The hotel is very conveniently situated in the heart of the Juderia, the old Jewish quarter, a few steps from the ancient Agora, the city's old synagogues, the bazaars and the lanes of the old Armenian quarter of Basmane. Its immediate surroundings are the most picturesque part of town, which was survived the 1922 fire. The staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient, polite and smiling all the time. The rooms surrounding the courtyard are very pleasant indeed, arranged on two levels and opening on the court, which is the heart of the hotel. Excellent dinner (mainly grilled fish and mezes) is served under the immense lemon-tree here, and you should insist to get hold of one of these seven rooms (which are prefixed by Z). The breakfast table is very generous. Overall, it is an unpretentious and friendly place, where you will feel like hosted in an old townhouse, a hotel with much character - it certainly feels a gap in the tourism industry in Izmir...

Room Tip: insist to be given one of the ground floor rooms which open on the magnificent courtyard, you will e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Istanomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is of historical interest and is one of the oldest in Izmir. It is quaint and cute although some would say run down.. yes could do with a little up dating and a lick of paint but it is very authentic. The staff were very helpful, Valet parking was fast and efficient, Breakfast was plentiful. Tea and coffee were available as a courtesy throughout our stay. The location is very close to the bazaar. It is very secluded and a little scary at night. I would not recommend for lone female travelers. Very close to Konak and all public transport links. On the down side one of the 2 rooms we booked had severe damp and mold on the walls, but we could not change as the hotel was quite full and we needed two rooms together. We were also on thesecond floor and there was no internet access available on this floor.

Room Tip: Check the room first some have damp and smell from this. No internet available on top 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annmarie2231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The pictures of this "hotel" are totally misleading. My partner and I were expecting a quaint hotel full of antiques however what we got was a tatty, old, run down b and b down a dodgy street in a bad part of the city. The room smelt musty as we walked in and the bed covers stank of smoke. The bed squeaked during the tiniest of movements. The breakfast was horrible and the restaurant stank of smoke. The two men on reception were however very polite on the other hand the lady was rude and tried to charge me for our stry despite me paying for it through travel republic. As the hotel had "lost" our confirmation we had to spend time arguing when all I wanted to do was get out of there ASAP!

Room Tip: Don't sleep in any rooms in this hotel, choose another one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank FluffyChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.1 mi away
Konak Saray Hotel
Konak Saray Hotel
#54 of 96 in Izmir
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ismira
Hotel Ismira
#67 of 96 in Izmir
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Smart Hotels Izmir
Smart Hotels Izmir
#11 of 96 in Izmir
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Konak
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#17 of 96 in Izmir
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antikhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antikhan Hotel

Property: Antikhan Hotel
Address: Cankaya Mah. Anafartalar Cad. No:600 Kucukyali, Konak, Izmir 35230, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Antikhan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antikhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing