We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel in my life...”
Review of Palm City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palm City Hotel
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
703 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“worst hotel in my life...”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed here 2 nights, because a local business partner booked it for me. And I didn't wanted to be impolite, so I decide to stay, but this was the worst hotel in my life!

Is difficult to me to describe everything that is bad here. Is not a posh accommodation, but for me that´s ok. It it´s at least clean, safe and quite enough to rest, this are my basic standards.

But here everything is old...in fact too old and falling apart.
Smells bad everywhere, smoke and mould mixed. Lack on clean, there´s patches on the bedspread, cockroaches and other bugs. Mould on the walls and ceilings, with some holes also. the light is insufficient, mainly in the toilet. In the toilet hygienic things like soap, shampoo etc, were refilled. That is ok, considering environment, but not when you look to the soap and have hairs stuck on it.
And when in the desk of the bedroom the available magazine is glued?
and the information flyers of the hotel dirty with patches? And the kettle available are too dirty?
and a ashtray in the bedroom broken with a matchbox used?

Beside all this, the noisy from outside is too much 24h a day, impossible to rest.

The only thing that surprised me, maybe beacause everything was so, so bad, was the breakfast. not good, but decent!

be careful, they asked to keep the passport, that´s not a usual proceed in Turkey. It´s in several different countries, but not in Turkey I visited a few cities several times and no one asked me to keep it on the reception during my stay.

I believe the images speak for themselves.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chonqging China
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel on Sept 5, 2013 for 1 night paying 106.60 Turkish Lira on my credit card and I have the receipt. When I checked my credit card today, I noticed that they had charged me $49.72 on Sept 5 and submitted the charge on Sept 6 and then on Sept 9, the submitted a charge of $49.89 (probably the same amount in Turkish Lira but it changes daily). I only stayed there one night and have proof of another hotel (I am on a cycling trip through Turkey) I stayed at on Sept 6. I have sent notice of double charge to Visa, my credit card company. Beware of this hotel; it was not by mere coincidence that the resubmitted a charge 3 days later since I did not have to sign for the charge.

Also as it relates to the room; the AC does not cool the room and I did nto sleep well all night due to sweating all night in a very hot room.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel; I suspect a scam by a double charge on my credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultrarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Izmir hotels

Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very poorly isolated (despitevdouble glazed windows) the traffic noise (the hotel is located on a main road) was just too much to let me sleep. The room is not bad, good size. the bathroom is spacious and with a good shower. the tv has only turkish channels. there is free Wi-fi. breakfast was good. the staff is professional. so overall the hotel is ok but ask for a room away from the main road otherwise it might be difficult to sleep

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viridiana2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I would like to recommend this hotel to all my friends................... Excellent staff, very helpful and polite, nice breakfast and dinner, clean comfortable and good location.................. I would love to stay there again...................

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evdokimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#62 of 97 in Izmir
7 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#12 of 97 in Izmir
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anemon Izmir Hotel
Anemon Izmir Hotel
#41 of 97 in Izmir
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#14 of 97 in Izmir
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tempo Residence Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm City Hotel

Property: Palm City Hotel
Address: Mursel Pasa Bulv. No:149 Kahramanlar, Konak, Izmir, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing