We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utmärkt!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balcova Termal Otel
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Izmir
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A very nice hotel with All Inclusive (for a good price). Friendly staff that answered all my questions. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was various and you could choose from fruit, vegetables to hot dishes, always 2 dishes at dinner. Cleaning of the room vas very satisfying. Nice to have a balcony. A shoort walk to the big poolarea.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Majsan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel in April 2011 on a business trip.

For one, the hotel was recommended to me by someone and as it was also advertised as a nice four star hotel on the Internet I was really looking forward to staying there. I took a taxi cab from the airport to the hotel which cost around 35 US$ if I remember correctly. There’s no public transportation from the airport to the hotel. The hotel is located on the foot of some green hills and made a very good first impression on me. The good impression continued to check-in. The person at the reception was friendly and efficient. Within 2 or 3 minutes maximum I was on my way to my room.

The room
========
The dated room was overall OK but certainly nothing special. I cannot see how this can possibly be a four star hotel by international standards. The room reminded my much rather of a perfectly normal three star tourist hotel – at best. I’ve stayed at two star hotels that had nicer rooms. What I liked however was the small balcony with a nice almost scenic view of the hotel surroundings. The plastic chairs looked a bit dirty though.

The twin beds were reasonably comfortable but a bit too small for me. There was an electronic in room safe and a conventional TV with a few English language channels.
Internet access was available but you had to ask for a cable to connect your notebook to the Internet. Speed was Ok so surfing the Internet was no big problem.

The bathroom was relative large with a bathtub and shower. Also, as the hotel mostly caters to older people, there were emergency buttons in the bathroom. The room was by and large clean but yet I believe cleanliness could be a bit improved. It was difficult to control temperature in the room. There was an in-room refrigerator with a very small selection of beverages.

The restaurant
============
Breakfast and dinner was included in my booking. However food was the most disappointing part of the stay there. Apart from being the same day in day out, the food lacked any form of finesse. Everything was arranged in a rather unloving way. Food itself was geared toward the Scandinavian guests and their tastes, so almost no local food available.

A bottle of water was included for dinner but it was difficult to get anything else to drink. You had to go upstairs where there were two a-la-carte restaurants but eating there was not included in my package so only went there once. Upstairs it is much nicer than in the main restaurant hall.

Service at the main restaurant for breakfast as well as dinner was almost non-existent. I remember one case when one of the elderly ladies from Norway asked a staff member if she could get the food to her room but I had the impression that staff member had never ever heard of the concept of room service. Some of the staff members had major problems understanding English.
The ambience in the main restaurant reminded me very much of a hospital canteen. I certainly did not enjoy this restaurant. Four stars? Never.

The location
=========
The hotel was located several miles outside of the city center. By bus it took around 35 minutes to get to the main square. A much more expensive taxi ride took 10 minutes or so. A 20 minute walk from the hotel there are several modern, excellent Western style shopping malls. Also, there are a couple of restaurants within a 15 minute walk.

The area between the hotel and the shopping malls appeared very safe to me. The area around the hotel can be described as a nice middle-class neighborhood. The large German consular office is right next to the hotel. There are several nice hiking paths behind the hotel. Unfortunately I didn’t see any bicycle rental as there would have been several possibilities for cycling there.

Facilities
=======
The thermal bath installations looked a bit dated but overall were good. I enjoyed swimming up and down the large pools. The hotel is located in a huge garden area. The premises looked very nice and well cared of.

Summary
=======
If you have to stay in the Balcova area, you don’t have a lot of choices. This hotel is an OK option if you don’t really care much about good food or a sophisticated ambience. Almost all of the guests were elderly people with some degree of health problems. Without any other real alternative in Balcova I would (have to) book it again but if I had no preference regarding location I would certainly choose a better hotel in the town center.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank my_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The hotel is located outside the city center but easy to get via taxi or public transport. The room we stayed in was very small but still enough for one night stay. The breakfast room gives a hospital or canteen feeling as there are many tables next to each other but the food is OK. There are two restaurants in which there are events some evenings. We have been to an event there. There was a live band in the evening we stayed there and the dinner was really high quality and delicious. I think the normal restaurant is the breakfast room, in which most probably other food is served. We unfortunately did not have time to enjoy the thermal but the tap water in the room is also thermal water. Our room was viewing the garden and it was very silent and nice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank -C_h-e_s-s_y-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I grew up in Izmir and living/working abroad since 2000. Therefore I know the city well and stayed some other hotels as well. My marriage took place in the hotel and I stay one night there as well.

Fabulous live music (French, Italian, English, Turkish all languages are possible) surprisingly good food for such a big hotel. However we ate a la carte. It is very likely that open buffet is worse than what we had.

Hotel is run by state therefore quite clean but specially rooms looks like rather hospital than a 5-star hotel. Primarily the visitors comes from Nordics, if I understood correctly from the hotel staff it is due the insurance policy of the Nordics countries. The state pay the treatment –spring water-

It is not in the city but close to the city. Several malls –mediamarkt, best buy, palmiye, kipa etc.- are close to the hotel as well as many restaurants at seaside.

Last minute deals are usually quite good for the hotel and likely best value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pegasustr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Nur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalcovaTermalOtel, Satış Müdürü at Balcova Termal Otel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: anex odalar ana binanın dışında..100 lerce metre gitmek zorundasınız.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalcovaTermalOtel, Satış Müdürü at Balcova Termal Otel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ayhan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalcovaTermalOtel, Satış Müdürü at Balcova Termal Otel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
1.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Izmir
Ramada Encore Izmir
#46 of 100 in Izmir
143 reviews
6.2 mi away
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
#33 of 100 in Izmir
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
6.1 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#7 of 100 in Izmir
1,468 reviews
6.8 mi away
Veramor Hotel Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcova Termal Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcova Termal Otel

Address: Vali Huseyin Ogutcen Cd. No: 2 | Balcova, Izmir 35330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Izmir
#29 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
Price Range: £30 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balcova Termal Otel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balcova Termal Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcova Thermal Otel Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing