We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its budget hotel but surprisingly good - location location location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olimpiyat Otel Izmir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Its budget hotel but surprisingly good - location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

First of all, it is a budget hotel and the rates are reasonably low end of the market. So do not expect too much out of it.
We booked through booking.com and we clearly stated that we wanted a NON-smoking room and we got the same. The location is perfect for many things and it is in a central location. The airport is just under 30mins drive. Breakfast is included in the price and it is a decent one for the rate we paid. We stayed here for two nights for Ephesus and Pamukkale. I would highly recommend if you are looking for a cheaper yet central location.

The hotel owner (one of them) smokes most of the time at the reception so you get to inhale the smoke in the reception and sometimes in the landings but we didn't smell the smoke inside our room and moreover we were there just for sleeping in the night and most of the time we were out so it didn't bother us too much.

We took an Airport bus 202 (red colour) from Izmir Airport to Basmane (last stop) and from there we walked to the hotel. It took sometime but eventually we reached with all our luggages (we didn't know initially as Airport staff kindly recommended to walk of 10mins - but it was not the case with luggage and etc). Be warned if you take this route, it is cheaper to do this way but I would advise if you take a taxi from the last stop (basmane) to this hotel. Our single trip from Izmir Airport to this hotel (2 people) is 11 Lira. If you take the 202 red bus it is 5.50TL and Havas 10TL one way so just imagine how much money you can save!!! If you don't mind walking then it is the cheapest option.

There are buses running between Izmir Airport to Izmir city throughout the day and 24 hours a day. For example, bus 202 runs hourly every 00 hours and Havas bus runs every .30 hours so you have no issues catching buses to and from Airport to Izmir city anytime.

For us, we wanted to catch the early morning flight so we booked a taxi with this hotel owner who dropped us promptly.

Room Tip: You must ask for NON-SMOKING room if you wanted that way
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alphalabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    42
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
22
44
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

This hotel is borderline poor/average. We had basically the same experience as damoosa. After reading decent reviews on booking.com, we decided to stay here. The place is very smoky, both in the lobby, in the corridors and the room. There are 2 ash trays in the room and one at every point in the hall. We also had a room with a sloped ceiling, making it impossible for me, who is 5'10 to stand up anywhere in the room except the hall. The bathroom is very narrow and there is no divider between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. According to the guidebook and what we can see, the area around the train station isn't the best. It recommends not going out at night around here and I would say that is a good assessment of the area. 
Regarding the price: we are here in the off season and we paid 29€/night. We just arrived from a lovely hotel in Selçuk where we paid 30€ and had a beautiful, comfortable, smoke free hotel and were treated like family.
Pros: close to Basmane train station, good breakfast, free wifi in lobby (intermittent in the room)

Room Tip: Avoid the room with sloped ceiling if you are tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desireebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We booked this hotel after seeing the reviews. Even for a budget choice, this hotel was actually quite terrible. The room had a sloping roof and was so low that we could fully stand up only on one end of it. Starting about the middle of the room you have to duck and towards the end of the room (where 2 of the three beds were in our triple room) you would bang your head if you sat up straight in your bed. Bathroom was a super narrow room (probably about 2 feet wide), and incredibly inconvenient. Location is nothing special - we didn't find anything around there to do and the airport wasn't especially close either. Bottom line - not recommended at all.

also - wi-fi worked in the lobby area but not in our room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank damoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

It's a budget hotel! Don't expect anything special. Breakfast is included but I left before it opened. I don't think there is one non smoking room. My linen smelled smoke and people was smoking in the corridors. Nice staff and location. For the price of 19€ i didn't expect much.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Olimpiyat Otel is a budget hotel. It is very important that it is in a very good point in the city.
Very easy access to the airport, which can be reached by train from the station Basmane Gari.
Nearby is the Agora, which can go on foot.
For other attractions can be reached quickly by subway or bus.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrekW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.0 mi away
Konak Saray Hotel
Konak Saray Hotel
#52 of 96 in Izmir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#15 of 96 in Izmir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walk In Hotel
Walk In Hotel
#22 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#77 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#10 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olimpiyat Otel Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olimpiyat Otel Izmir

Property: Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Address: 1296 Sk. No: 24 Basmane-Izmir | Behind Sifa Hospital, Izmir 35240, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Olimpiyat Otel Izmir 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Olimpiyat Otel Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing