We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olimpiyat Otel Izmir

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

I've stayed 4 nights in September 2012. Great well come and friendly staff. Hotel's location is very easy to reach everywhere. Single room and bathroom was too small but at this price it is ok.
Train station and underground is 2 min. walking distance. You can take a bus or walk about 15-20 min. to find the nightlife in Kordon.
The place "Basmane" (where the hotel is) could be rarely dangerous, Local people say it used to be in the past but not any more.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    42
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
22
44
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I won't book this place again..
1. People were smoking in the hallway and it leaked into my room.

2. Rundown building and rundown supplies. The room had bed and bathroom so it had what I needed but bathroom was very tiny and smelly. The sink was the size of my face. Towels were visibly overused. I was afraid to use it because I didn't want it to get ripped while wiping my hands. The soap was used as well. It had "we ome" on the soap.

3. Neighborhood. The streets can get confusing in this area and the hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the main road. At night, those narrow streets looked a bit sketchy.

4. Basic language. There were younger person and the older person at the front desk when I checked-in. The younger person understood most of necessary questions (e.g., how to get to airport, check out time, etc) but the older person didn't speak English much at all. I didn't see the younger person after I checked-in. But both were very nice people. Probably this is only reason I give it two instead of one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyBunny486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbleton, Quebec
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We did read good and bad reviews for this hotel, so we didn't know what to expect. We were truly pleasantly surprised. We were greeted in a very friendly and helpful manner at the front desk when we arrived and they knew who we were considering we had a reservation. The room was cozy, the breakfeast very acceptable and the whole atmosphere very amicable. The hotel is very clean and you feel there is an additional effort for decoration. We found the area animated and full of surprises, as this is truly an area for the full immersion into turkish daily life in a large city. It was obvious also to understand that the area can be not so safe later at night when restaurants and shops close as we many rough individuals with seemingly nothing to do just hang around around a small park one street away from the hotel. The Bismane train station is just a few minutes away, which was very convenient for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Olimpiyat Otel's staff are liars ! Dont trust the pictures of the hotel that you see when you are searching for an hotal to book in izmir, because those are not representative of what the hotel is really in fact ! It turned suspect when they asked us where we are from (to let them have an idea about how we're going to react and how much people we're going to touch by a negative opinion on internet) and specially when they asked us to pay first before getting the keys (in fact in the previous 3 hotels in turkey we were never asked to pay at check-in). There are four rooms on a shabby small and dark building next to what is shown on pictures and supposed to be the hotel. Those rooms (rooms 108, 109, 110, 111) seemed to be used once upon the time for maids and cleaning workers. We were family of four with two young daughters, we've booked 6 weeks ago, but were given two dark rooms, inside as ugly as they looked outside : dark with a sad view on garbage and plumbing. We could look to one of the other two remaining rooms and were surprised to see no window on it, worse than a cell ! And guess what : broken toilet ! After complaining with no success, we asked them to NOT enter and NOT repair the toilet, pefering rather going anywhere outside ! When we returned, we fined the toilet repaired because they got affraid to see the touristic police. They tried to get a smile from us but it became impossible, even when they tried to give us some so-called sweets, that you can probably buy less than 2 turkish liras...
We will never forgive them because they make us feel like we are second category customers compare to others. You'll certainly pay the same price as somebody else, but with 50% chances to sleep backstage...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LNK_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
441 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The location of this hotel is great! 3 mins to Basmane train and metro station just turn right at the mosque when you exit the train station. The room was small but comfortable. The staff was very warm and friendly gave me a map and directions where to go. It is a 20 min walk to Konak which is where a lot of the shopping is and waterfront. 45 mins from the Izmir airport. take the Izban to Halkapinar and then transfer and get off at Basmane station. Really had a nice time here.

Breakfast was included in the price, and it was a very good breakfast too.

Issues: As a solo traveler I would not walk the streets late late at night as I was told it was dangerous especially for women.

WIFI internet is free but you need to connect via the hotel's connection. It took me awhile but I finally got it. Had to go to microsoft.com to get it working at first.

Overall would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PresPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Located within walkin distance of everything worth seeing and doing in Izmir - a characteristic however shared with almost all of the city's accomodations. The hotel, which is very charming in a strange sense, provides the average backpackers with everything needed - a nice bed, decent air conditioning, a bathroom with hot water, a surprisingly good wi fi connection (although the receptionist needed about 15 minutes to create our two accounts...), and a breakfast able to fill the stomach. However, it is highly recommendable to be proficient in the language of pointing, nodding, and other create gesticulation, as the English levels of the personnel vary from mediocre to non-existing.

In conclusion, if you find the price to fit the budget, this accomodation satisfies the basic needs.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if avaliable, it has four beds but my friend and I got it nonetheless - nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norwegian000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

First of all, it is a budget hotel and the rates are reasonably low end of the market. So do not expect too much out of it.
We booked through booking.com and we clearly stated that we wanted a NON-smoking room and we got the same. The location is perfect for many things and it is in a central location. The airport is just under 30mins drive. Breakfast is included in the price and it is a decent one for the rate we paid. We stayed here for two nights for Ephesus and Pamukkale. I would highly recommend if you are looking for a cheaper yet central location.

The hotel owner (one of them) smokes most of the time at the reception so you get to inhale the smoke in the reception and sometimes in the landings but we didn't smell the smoke inside our room and moreover we were there just for sleeping in the night and most of the time we were out so it didn't bother us too much.

We took an Airport bus 202 (red colour) from Izmir Airport to Basmane (last stop) and from there we walked to the hotel. It took sometime but eventually we reached with all our luggages (we didn't know initially as Airport staff kindly recommended to walk of 10mins - but it was not the case with luggage and etc). Be warned if you take this route, it is cheaper to do this way but I would advise if you take a taxi from the last stop (basmane) to this hotel. Our single trip from Izmir Airport to this hotel (2 people) is 11 Lira. If you take the 202 red bus it is 5.50TL and Havas 10TL one way so just imagine how much money you can save!!! If you don't mind walking then it is the cheapest option.

There are buses running between Izmir Airport to Izmir city throughout the day and 24 hours a day. For example, bus 202 runs hourly every 00 hours and Havas bus runs every .30 hours so you have no issues catching buses to and from Airport to Izmir city anytime.

For us, we wanted to catch the early morning flight so we booked a taxi with this hotel owner who dropped us promptly.

Room Tip: You must ask for NON-SMOKING room if you wanted that way
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alphalabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.0 mi away
Konak Saray Hotel
Konak Saray Hotel
#51 of 96 in Izmir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#16 of 96 in Izmir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walk In Hotel
Walk In Hotel
#21 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#78 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#10 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olimpiyat Otel Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olimpiyat Otel Izmir

Property: Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Address: 1296 Sk. No: 24 Basmane-Izmir | Behind Sifa Hospital, Izmir 35240, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Olimpiyat Otel Izmir 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Olimpiyat Otel Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing