We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfectacly Acceptable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

The Good:
- Service from the front desk was great. Very friendly and go out of their way to help out.
- Rooms were fine. Beds comfy enough and furniture somewhat new (maybe this was just our room though - 109)
- Value. Good budget choice for Izmir.
- Brekky - while nothing special it was satisfying and got us on our way.

The Bad:
- Our booking was based on location and parking availability. Both of these boxes were ticked. Nothing wrong with location but the "private parking" wasn't really what I was expecting. It is the old part of town so streets are narrow... However it really was just parking on the old cobbled streets in front of the hotel so someone can look after it. No problems when woke up in the morning other than being completely parked in which was resolved quickly enough but it wasn't what I was expecting for oeuvre parking.

The Ugly:
- Noise. Walls are thin and despite being in the old town there's still plenty of road traffic. Then the TV in the lobby was playing Turkish MTV way too loud while were trying to sleep. It cut off around midnight I guess. I was exhausted so actually managed to fall asleep with my earplugs in.
- Cigarette smoke. It's everywhere in the lobby and then you would get wafts of it under your door. Just no need for it guys.

Would I recommend this place? Probably not. If you had no other choice in Izmir then yeah go for it but surely there's better run places.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

I've stayed in this hotel twice, 2012 and 2013 years, both in summer. And I can say it was awesome! Staff is very friendly and helpful, they're always help you if you need something. Rooms are very cozy, towels and bed linen always clear. There is even hair-drier in the bathroom) Breakfast is good - especially fresh bread... Also, great location - Basmane is about 5 minutes on foot, bazaar Kemeralti is about 10 min.
Actually, I was very surprised reading bad reviews, because my days in Olimpiyat were great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yustina_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was one of the worst hotels I have stayed at. It was dirty and shabby. The room was small and uncomfortable. The bathroom looked as if it hadn't been cleaned properly for a long time and I just didn't want to use it. The staff were smoking all the time and the whole place including my room stunk of cigarettes. Lastly the breakfast was meagre and poor quality.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalindantonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

- This hotel is a good place to stay for a weekend trip.
- Staff at the reception was really helpful and very friendly. When we checked out we got a little present, which really surprised us.
- Rooms are pretty small, the bathroom even more (I think it's not suitable for very tall people).
- The location was alright, close to Basmane station where you can take the Izban and trains for example for going to Efes.
- Clean: more or less.
- Breakfast was a typical turkish one, with çay, nescafe or juice as beverages.

Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arual22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I've stayed 4 nights in September 2012. Great well come and friendly staff. Hotel's location is very easy to reach everywhere. Single room and bathroom was too small but at this price it is ok.
Train station and underground is 2 min. walking distance. You can take a bus or walk about 15-20 min. to find the nightlife in Kordon.
The place "Basmane" (where the hotel is) could be rarely dangerous, Local people say it used to be in the past but not any more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I won't book this place again..
1. People were smoking in the hallway and it leaked into my room.

2. Rundown building and rundown supplies. The room had bed and bathroom so it had what I needed but bathroom was very tiny and smelly. The sink was the size of my face. Towels were visibly overused. I was afraid to use it because I didn't want it to get ripped while wiping my hands. The soap was used as well. It had "we ome" on the soap.

3. Neighborhood. The streets can get confusing in this area and the hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the main road. At night, those narrow streets looked a bit sketchy.

4. Basic language. There were younger person and the older person at the front desk when I checked-in. The younger person understood most of necessary questions (e.g., how to get to airport, check out time, etc) but the older person didn't speak English much at all. I didn't see the younger person after I checked-in. But both were very nice people. Probably this is only reason I give it two instead of one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyBunny486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We did read good and bad reviews for this hotel, so we didn't know what to expect. We were truly pleasantly surprised. We were greeted in a very friendly and helpful manner at the front desk when we arrived and they knew who we were considering we had a reservation. The room was cozy, the breakfeast very acceptable and the whole atmosphere very amicable. The hotel is very clean and you feel there is an additional effort for decoration. We found the area animated and full of surprises, as this is truly an area for the full immersion into turkish daily life in a large city. It was obvious also to understand that the area can be not so safe later at night when restaurants and shops close as we many rough individuals with seemingly nothing to do just hang around around a small park one street away from the hotel. The Bismane train station is just a few minutes away, which was very convenient for us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.1 mi away
Konak Saray Hotel
Konak Saray Hotel
#48 of 98 in Izmir
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#15 of 98 in Izmir
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tanik Hotel
Tanik Hotel
#47 of 98 in Izmir
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marla Hotel
Marla Hotel
#42 of 98 in Izmir
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zeybek Hotel
Zeybek Hotel
#66 of 98 in Izmir
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olimpiyat Otel Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olimpiyat Otel Izmir

Address: 1296 Sk. No: 24 Basmane-Izmir | Behind Sifa Hospital, Izmir 35240, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range: £16 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Olimpiyat Otel Izmir 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Olimpiyat Otel Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing