We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel - excellent cost-benefit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kordon Otel Alsancak
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - excellent cost-benefit”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I’ve been several times to Izmir and stayed in two hotels (Ege Palas - old and worn & Mövenpick – not worth the money). I must say, in Kordon Otel Alsanzac (don’t get confused with the Kordon Otel directly on the promenade!) you get an excellent Hotel for a good price (I paid 65€/night incl. breakfast & taxes via HRS). The room & bathroom was freshly renovated. The reception was very, very polite and friendly. English and German not a problem. Water from the mini-bar is included in the price as well as WLan in the room. The Hotel is located in a side-street and quiet, but still located 5 Minutes way from the promenade. Who likes it less touristic just… take the opposite direction and enjoy authentic Turkish bars, restaurants and coffees. I recommend also the “Meeting Point” (5 Min walk away), with excellent (western) food. The breakfast is OK. I would stay anytime again in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 415 with balcony, but not a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caipimichl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    36
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
18
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The room was compact and well done. However there was no view , hence should be a good place to stay if you are in izmir on business. It is within walking distance to the sea front and the taxi stand. It was a quiet area. The staff were pleasant and helpful . The breakfast could have been better though it served standard menu. We did have a problem reaching the correct Kordon otel though we explained to the driver , however they are not too far apart so ..... We reached at midnight quite hungry and the staff were considerate to arrange for some food though their restaurant had closed down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profshenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izmir
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Kordon Hotel stands in a good location. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I didn't have time for breakfast but it seemed fine. Reasonable prices and the good attitude of the personnel was satisfying. The negative thing is they cannot give you a second key and the a/c doesn't work very good, you have to leave it open for hours.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezgi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Top location near the watergront. Great value for money. Nice clean rooms, great location, helpfull Staff who provided info AND good breakfast for Turkish hotel Will definetely stay here again if I go to Izmir.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janteuwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Famagusta, Cyprus
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel which has recently been renovated. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent location and only a few minutes walk from the sea front. I had a room with a balcony. Only downside is, there are 2 kordon hotels in Izmir and taxi drivers don't know the location of this hotel. When we arrived we were taken to the wrong hotel. I was there for a conference and this happened to many of the conference delegates. Even though the staff told us to ask for the 'old kismet' hotel, most taxi drivers still didn't know where it was.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This 3 star Hotel is very clean, nice rooms and very good staff. Would not hesitate to recommend.
The only problem is Taxi and Airport Transfer drivers have difficulty finding the Hotel as there are 2 Kordon Hotels in Izmir. The Hotel changed its name from Kismet Hotel and I would recommend anyone travelling there to ask for Kordon Kismet Hotel. I intend contacting Hotel Management with this comment.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrys0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Nice basic hotel with good sized rooms. However, the staff is less than friendly and helpful. My friend and I got stuck in their elevator and they completely ignored our traveling companions when they asked for help getting us out.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 955jessican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.3 mi away
Kordon Hotel Pasaport
Kordon Hotel Pasaport
#26 of 97 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zeniva Hotel
Zeniva Hotel
#29 of 97 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#11 of 97 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond Hotel
Beyond Hotel
#32 of 97 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marla Hotel
Marla Hotel
#31 of 97 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ege Palas
Ege Palas
#20 of 97 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kordon Otel Alsancak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kordon Otel Alsancak

Property: Kordon Otel Alsancak
Address: 1377 Sokak No 9 | Alsancak, Izmir, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kordon Otel Alsancak 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Kordon Otel Alsancak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing