We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best choice we made” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Key Hotel
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The best choice we made”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is definitely worth the price. I loved staying here. They helped us with all we wanted. And its near what you wanted to see and do. I enjoyed the new age feel of the place. Its in an old bank building and was really nice. Right next to the water. Its gonna cost you but I still enjoyed it. We stayed in three rooms here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GZCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at KEY. If there is anything we can do to help you plan your next trip, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards.

Ozgun CAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    27
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
158
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at the Key Hotel for 3 days in the middle of May. From being first greeted by Yakup, a hotel porter to our final moments there the service was fantastic. The entire staff made personalized service a priority, and is the major reason to stay at the Key Hotel. We were able to leave some of our luggage while going to Greece for a week, and Yakup Bey helped manage the situation in a most friendly and trustworthy way, and also helped in getting a Taxi at a great rate. Central to many of the main sights of the city, you can't ask for a better location, especially if it is your first time in Izmir. Soundproof walls, give you an oasis in an otherwise bustling and, at times, congested city. And, due to location, most of the tourist draws are within walking distance, a good thing, as tourists.The breakfast was fantastic, and so were the lunch and dinner options. The wine collection is sincerely well selected. There is plenty of space per guest at KEY due to its limited size, and so you will feel luxuriously positioned. The technology and well appointed rooms are also highlights. Finally, the view from the room of the harbor is not at all to be underrated.

Room Tip: Get a view of the harbor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at KEY. We are aware that the KEY fact for our success is the team spirit we have. Thanks for praising YAKUP.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our glamour city.

Warmest regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I was here on my third stop in my honeymoon. They made us feel so special! The concierge sent us a bowl of fresh fruits and a bottle of Pinot Grigio - Blush that we're great! The room was all hi-tech, very nice and comfortable. The breakfast was really good and super nice service

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemenpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for taking time to share your experience at KEY.

We are pleased to hear that your stay met your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again in not too distant future.

Best regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have to echo previous reviews. This is the best hotel we've stayed in in Turkey and it is hard to think of many others worldwide, of the same size (30 rooms), that are as good.

We agree with all the superlatives already offered here on the room, bathroom and service. Just to be different - the concierge service deserves a mention, they were excellent, and we loved the design of the bar. But it was our dinner at the restaurant that was the greatest and most pleasant surprise. It really was fine dining with service to match. Huge pan-fried prawns to start and one of the best chateaubriands we have ever had the pleasure of eating. And we didn't find the food over-priced (drinks are very pricey and wine expensive as usual in Turkey, but a nice list). We also tried a club sandwich from room service and that was good, too.

It's perhaps worth mentioning that the sea view is not of a quaint harbour with sailing boats. This is a busy working port, with container ships and ferries, but very interesting to watch.

In contrast to others, though, we were disappointed at breakfast, both with the quality and choice of food, the cooking (the chef can't cook eggs) and especially the service. A bit of work is needed here, but it cannot stop me giving an 'excellent' to Key. I just hope they open a second hotel in Antalya, a much more interesting city than Izmir.... . Special thanks to Özgün and to Hakan in the restaurant.

Room Tip: A sea view if you can manage it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you dedicated in sharing your experience at KEY.

I appreciate very much your comments as a tool to offer an even better service and make your next visit an exceptional one. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously, and we sincerely regret that even slight details did not meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in our glamour city.

Kind regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Everything other reviewers have said is true, and the quality of the hotel saved the day, because there is no reason on earth to be in Izmir, unless you are obliged to be there for business reasons or maybe to pick up the winning ticket for a lottery.
True Ephesus is impressive but if you have seen similar sites still not worth the traveling.
Izmir itself is slightly grubby and has nothing to offer.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yendys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of KEY on Tripadvisor.

Rest assured that we will continue to strive in providing the best service and product that our hotel is renowned for.

Though we believe that Izmir is a pearl of Mediterranean with its natural beatuies and rich history, maybe KEY itself can be considered as an attraction, why not?

Best regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is a brilliant hotel. The location in great, right on the seafront (although getting a taxi to the hotel door was a little tricky). From arrival we felt taken care of, but in a subtle way, never overbearing or pushy.
We had a partial sea view room which was great, the room itself is beautiful and echoing the reviewers below, the beds and bathrooms will make you never want to leave. The free mini-bar was also a great touch.
We had room service one evening and it was good, very prompt. When you leave your room there is a button on the room controls to request housekeeping, so when you get back your room has been sorted (small things!).
They also have a very high tech gym and a sauna which we used one evening.
The concierge recommended the spa at Swiss hotel down the road and we went one evening for an hamam and massages. Not a 'local' experience maybe, but it was fantastic and I'd completely recommend the Amrita spa there.
I'd also recommend walking down Konak pier and having a drink at one of the cafes there. Great views back over Izmir.
I left my external hard drive in the room and the manager of the hotel, Mr Can, couldn't have been more helpful in assisting me in getting back.
If you're going to Izmir, stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Char017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

WOW - your review is just amazing, thank you so much. Reviews such as yours are a constant source of motivation to us all and make us all smile even more!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to KEY, hopefully in the very near future.

Warm regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I had a great time at the Key hotel.
Everything in the hotel was highly maintained.
It was very clear that plenty of thought was put into the design and the service was kind, proffesional and personal.
Thank you Key Hotel - You are without a doubt in my top 3 most favorite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lior_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your glowing review. "Felt more than like home" describes evertything..

You are among our favorite guests.. Needless to say like every and each of them...

Warm regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.4 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
5.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.3 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#6 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Hotel

Property: Key Hotel
Address: Mimar Kemalettin Caddesi No:1 | Konak, Izmir 35260, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Key Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the city, the KEY is a 31 room, luxury-driven lifestyle hotel, catering to the discriminating taste.We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalised attention, unparalelled service, cutting edge technology, delectable food in a refined atmosphere and we want to be your choice of hotel in the Aegean region! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Key Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing