We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect setting, great staff, lovely rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Key Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Key Hotel
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
231 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Perfect setting, great staff, lovely rooms!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Occupying an old bank, the Key is probably the best hotel we stayed at in three weeks in Turkey. Right on the water, the hotel is walking distance to the pier, the market, and everything located along the waterfront. Our rooms were large with sea views, and except for some strange lighting issues, exceptionally well appointed. I would have loved a reading lamp by the bed, as the room lighting, with everything on and even given the reflective black glass panels along one wall and on the ceiling, is way too low for reading.
Breakfast was excellent and included lots of fresh fruit, vegetables, local cheeses, baked goods, yogurt, honey, hot foods, etc., well beyond the usual Turkish hotel breakfast buffet.
But what really makes this hotel special is the staff! They went above and beyond in every way to be helpful and make us feel cared about at the most personal levels.
If you're going to Ephesus, this is the perfect jumping off point. If you're using a local guide and don't want to get stuck at rug dealers, make that perfectly clear ahead of time. They'll try to sell you on a "school" for teaching weaving, but know that is nothing more than a ruse.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are likely quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jww1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your detailed feedback. I was really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our service. I have passed on your kind words to the team.

I do hope that you will return to us soon in the near future.

Kind regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    29
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
160
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

It was the best choice for Christmas Holidays in Izmir! Amazing rooms with great design, high-tech equipment, unforgettable comfort. The see view from the restaurant is beautiful. It is quite expensive in general but it is worth it - with the exception of the bar and any extra expenses in the hotel. I suggest it strongly to visitors.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your kind review. We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Key Restaurant is considered to be one of the most elegant dining options in the city. We believe that price / performance provided is really satisfying considering the general applications in the city.

Once again, many thanks for your review, and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to KEY in the not too distant future.

Warm regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel has the character of "GREAT" hotel in the world. The ambience is charming and with luxury mood, the interior designe of the hotel is amazing (minimalist concept) the rooms are all very comfortable and elegant . I was in a fantastic suite with incredible view on the sea habour.
The staff is very kind and professional... never let you feel alone!. The restaurant is amazing and the food is great! Service too. Ambience great! I really suggest this hotel that let you feel part of the best world! Amazing!And all this luxury for incredible price!!!

Room Tip: The suite with the view very good price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommiAleRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy life to write for us... We really appreciate it.

We are very pleased that everything came up to your expectations.

We look forward to the next time you are in İzmir.

Best regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived at 2 am and our driver collected us in a vintage Rolls Royce (nice welcoming touch). This service is complementary for those who have booked a suite. Upon arrival, check in was rapid and we were wisked to the top floor. There is a large balcony and lovely vistas.

The bathroom is well stocked although the husband had problems figuring out how to work the shower (there are four dials and perhaps a little card with directions would be nice). The mini-bar and Expresso pods are continuously restocked. The suite is tastefully and reasonable decorated with ample room and with up to date technology. It would be nice if there were more English channels available (only BBC and CNN).

The hotel was used as a base for multiple daily excursions to Epheses and Pamaukkale so the location was not a key factor for us for site seeing in Izmir although it sits on the harbor and there are some terrific seafood/fish restaurants nearby. The food was superb and room service prompt. There was gym adjacent to our suite but it did not appear to be used during our stay. The hotel bar is sometimes not staffed and you may have to track down someone. Overall recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyandDeanHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you dedicated in sharing your experience at KEY. We are glad to know that you spent a pleasant stay with us.

There are points to shed light on as I think not noticed during your stay.

Showers at KEY (including the rain effect) are designed for full comfort and pleasure and may be a little more complicated than ordinary ones. Being aware of that, we placed instructions both on the bathroom wall and in the info folder in the room.

Regarding the TV channels, I'd like to express that we have 19 channels in English (some of them are opitonal multi-language channels).

As we have a cosy lobby bar adjacent to our unique restaurant, members of our Food & Beverage service team sometimes contribute to both areas at the same time. I already shared your experience with our F&B Manager. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our glamour city.

Warm regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a nice hotel and you won't be disappointed. It's a great location in good walking distance to a number of restaurants. The rooms have a lot of hi tech features and they have a great breakfast. The hotel bar is a really nice place to relax after a day of touring.

Room Tip: Recommend a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSUGrad1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with Tripadvisor community.

We are more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at KEY.

Hope to welcome you back to İzmir in not too distant future.

Best regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Ofiice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is perfect in every aspect.From the location,decor,cleanliness,their amazing breakfast and pricing.It is small in respect to the chain hotels with huge rooms and a staff always on alert to serve Us and do all they can to assist Us on Our stay here.
With a lovely room on the 3rd floor,no.307,overlooking the bay of Izmir(this is our last day here while I'm reviewing the Key),leaving it to do our sightseeing takes all Our efforts.
Regarding the hotel restaurant,it is one of the best We have eaten at while on Our visit down the coast.A highly recommended choice!
Thank you Burcu and the rest of the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bare-with-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience at Key Hotel with the Tripadvisor community.

Each and every guest comment (whether positive or negative) counts as this is the main source of quality control. Comments of a professional frequent traveller like yourselves are also additionally valuable. Thanks.

We are more than happy to learn that your stay here was enjoyable. I will definitely share your nice words with the team, especially Ms.Burcu YILDIZ.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our glamour city.

Kind regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.4 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.3 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 96 in Izmir
1,187 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Hotel

Property: Key Hotel
Address: Mimar Kemalettin Caddesi No:1 | Konak, Izmir 35260, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Key Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the city, the KEY is a 31 room, luxury-driven lifestyle hotel, catering to the discriminating taste.We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalised attention, unparalelled service, cutting edge technology, delectable food in a refined atmosphere and we want to be your choice of hotel in the Aegean region! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Key Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing