We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic rooms and very good breakfast”
Review of Key Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key Hotel
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Located in the Izmir bay just next to the sea you get a wonderful view at day or night, besides being next to various restaurants that serve everything you can wish for, from fish and sea food to traditional meat or vegetarian turkish dishes. The promenade has just been rebuilt and hundreds of people walk by day and night, giving the place a nice cosmopolitan atmosphere.
As far as the hotel is concerned this is a modern construction of very high quality with a fine restaurant room and a good bar lounge. The rooms are fantastic especially those with a sea view which offer a very large living room of a very high standard. The decoration is top notch and the bed quality is the best one can find. Bathrooms are also very good with shower and bathtub and stocked with everything you can imagine to cater to every need.
Even the minibar is free and there is plenty of mineral water to keep you hydrated.
Breakfast options look small until you realize that there´s a menu from where you can order almost anything freshly made, like pressed juices (apple, carrot, pomegranate...), pancakes, turkish specialities, etc..Just great.
Staff is very professional and english speaking and always willing to help.
It´s not cheap but well worth the money. First class experience and not just a regular five star hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the back where there's a large avenue with intense traffic. Go for the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for very much for writing a review for us. We are more than happy that your stay was so enjoyable.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Key in the not too distant future.

Warm regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Had a little jaunt down to Izmir to head out to Ephesus and possibly to see Cesme (a little sea town). The Key Hotel was our HQ for 2 days. The hotel sits right on the water, so if your pocketbook can stand a $1,000/night set back, knock yourself out and get you one of those "sea view" rooms. Since this trip was already hitting my bank account pretty hard, I opted for the more economic alternative - the "city view" room. Still, the hotel was a steal on one of those hotel sites for what you get.

The service is impeccable. The staff is very friendly and are all empowered to make guests feel most comfortable. The rooms ... now ... the rooms are another story all together --- WAY beyond impeccable! I seldom have the opportunity to stay in one of those highfalutin hotels here in the states. This place amazed me. By nature (nor profession), I am not a techie geek (contrary to popular belief - my life in IT at the world's largest telecom company is just a facade), but I had the best time with the technology in that room. Everything was operated by a remote - the lights, the television, the iPod dock, the blinds, the alarm, the wake up call - EVERYTHING. Way Cool!

The rooms were very large (for Turkey standards), the beds very comfortable with awesome linens (very much my "thing"). The water closet looked like it was straight out of the latest Architectural Digest - all chrome and glass tile. It was gorgeous with the the glass wall looking out into the bedroom (for privacy, they have installed a - again, remote controlled - blind system).

We did have an opportunity to taste the dining menu - they had most anything a traveler would want - I opted for the peppercorn steak, which was well prepared, and served with a side of veggies and couscous.

Great stay in an awesome hotel. If you find yourself in Izmir, I highly recommend the Key Hotel (Key Otel) - Go ahead ... splurge for the "sea view room" - you know you want to!!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CaliGal089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Key Hotel, Izmir.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the facilities and services that we provide and your kind words are greatly appreciated.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Key Hotel, hopefully in the very near future.

Kind regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in July 2013. What a beautiful place! The rooms are ultra modern and high tech, very clean! The hotel has very cool glass elevators. The building was converted from an old bank. Great location on the Promenade, with a short walk to all of the restaurants

If you're planning to go to Ephesus, you don't need to stay anywhere else! That's the mistake my wife and I made. We planned on staying 2 nights at a hotel near Ephesus. We ended up leaving and going back to Key Hotel.
Here's what you do! Rent a car for the duration of the stay. Drive for a day to Ephesus, (it's a beautiful 1 - 1.5 hour drive) see the ruins, St. John's Basilica, and drive up the mountain to Seringe for a great dinner and drinks. Then drive back to Key Hotel. It may be a long day, but well worth it to stay at this great hotel

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to read that your stay with us met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our glamour city soon.

Warm regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the Key Hotel for 3 nights - room 402 - and it was fantastic. Definitely worth springing for the 4th floor where you have a balcony that overlooks the water - didn't try the other rooms but the balcony is huge and you can sit out and have meals there, watch the boats, etc.

Hotel is very modern and has a great design. Service was very friendly and attentive. Room service was excellent, and the meals at the restaurant were all very good - we were there during low season so the hotel wasn't too crowded which was nice.

Only issue we had was the bed wasn't all that comfortable for some reason, and the pillows weren't very good either. The workout machines also looked like they hadn't been used in a long time - lots of dust on them and the cardio equipment had to be restarted to get the computer to work. I would suggest management have someone come along each day and just wipe down the equipment, and make sure the computers are working for the elliptical, cycle, etc..

Overall a great hotel and a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Definitely worth staying on the 4th (top) floor. Room 402 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Key Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with the service you received from my whole team. I am really surprised that you were dissatisfied with the bedding as the quality of bedding has always been an asset to our guest satisfaciton. However there might be something wrong technically with that only bed, and we will definitely check it thoroughly. Regarding the pillows, we do have a menu including different types of pillows to fit your comfort. Please do not miss to have a look at the menu next time.

I am of course most concerned to learn of your disappointment regarding the condition of fitness area. All necessary actions are taken, due to your recommendations.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay with us. I do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at Key in the near future.

Warm regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed two days in this hotel right after a long cruise in Mediterranean. Our room was Superior one in the third floor with a sea view. Room was literally spacious! Lots of space for your luggages, clothes, tablets, etc. Along with a one king size bed, you have two big couches to rest or to watch TV. A mini bar is at your service with full of beverages and snacks and all free! A coffee machine is ready too to have your coffee two times a day.

You have a remote commander which controls almost everything in the room. All TV operations, on/off DND sign at the door, open/close curtains, lights. When you turn on the TV, you have all the controls and information on the screen, even real time weather forecast! Hotel has the latest Alcatel phone system which you have a color screen with lots of information. We loved all these stuff playing all the time!

Rain shower is another beauty. You wouldn't want it to finish! There is also a hand shower in case you need aimed watering. Lots of towels and papers to dry off. All toiletries are in a luxury wooden box to pick up. We found the toiletries are in good quality.

Breakfast has everything cold and hot. They make hot things to order for free. It's not common at all to find free fresh orange juice in many 'brand' hotels, but Key Hotel offers it in the breakfast for free! We loved the way how they serve, always smiling and gentle.

Next time we visit Izmir, Key Hotel will definitely be the address to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnkaraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Key Hotel. We are delighted when we read your comments. Rest assured that we will continue to strive in providing the best service and product that Key Hotel is renowned for.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Best regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked this hotel after seeing its reviews & were not disappointed at all.
situation of hotel is excellent. most helpful staff, specially mr. Ismil who always keep smiling & mrs. Nursug & Bupruc , and all others. we were here to celebrate our Golden wedding anniversary, they made it Golden for us in every aspect from arrival til departure. we got room 309 on third floor with magnificent view of sea and like a suite. Breakfast is most delicious.
we could not have dinner at hotel on day of our anniversary as its restuarent was already fully booked a month before for private party.But we did find a cake & rose sparkling wine bottle in our room from hotel when we come to our room after day`s trip out. That was very nice to start your evening of golden day. they have even a weighing machine in the room which was handy not to see how much weight you put on BUT to weigh your suitcase after your shopping.thank you all at Key hotel for making us feel at home. God bless you all.If we are in Izmir will certainly stay at Key hotel.

Room Tip: Room on third floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripssr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during your Golden wedding anniversary. Special thanks for praising my dear teammates, Nursac, Burcu and Ismail.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Key Hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Occupying an old bank, the Key is probably the best hotel we stayed at in three weeks in Turkey. Right on the water, the hotel is walking distance to the pier, the market, and everything located along the waterfront. Our rooms were large with sea views, and except for some strange lighting issues, exceptionally well appointed. I would have loved a reading lamp by the bed, as the room lighting, with everything on and even given the reflective black glass panels along one wall and on the ceiling, is way too low for reading.
Breakfast was excellent and included lots of fresh fruit, vegetables, local cheeses, baked goods, yogurt, honey, hot foods, etc., well beyond the usual Turkish hotel breakfast buffet.
But what really makes this hotel special is the staff! They went above and beyond in every way to be helpful and make us feel cared about at the most personal levels.
If you're going to Ephesus, this is the perfect jumping off point. If you're using a local guide and don't want to get stuck at rug dealers, make that perfectly clear ahead of time. They'll try to sell you on a "school" for teaching weaving, but know that is nothing more than a ruse.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are likely quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sweetwood1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your detailed feedback. I was really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our service. I have passed on your kind words to the team.

I do hope that you will return to us soon in the near future.

Kind regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.4 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.4 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 98 in Izmir
1,410 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Hotel

Address: Mimar Kemalettin Caddesi No:1 | Konak, Izmir 35260, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range: £71 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Key Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the city, the KEY is a 31 room, luxury-driven lifestyle hotel, catering to the discriminating taste. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalized attention, unparalleled service, cutting edge technology, delectable food in a refined atmosphere and we want to be your choice of hotel in the Aegean region! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Key Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing