We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in a lovely hotel”
Review of Key Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Key Hotel
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a lovely hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Key Hotel for two nights. The room was lovely and spacious. Little things really made our stay special. As it was our anniversary the hotel have us a bottle of wine and a fruit platter. The hotel offered us ice cold welcoming drinks which was very much appreciated in the 40 degree heat! The mini bar costs were ask included in the room rate which was great. Toiletries were of the better quality and more comprehensive ones in all the 5 star hotels we've stayed at around the world. The restaurant was great. We ate all three meals of the day there and really enjoyed the food and the service (the waiter not only remembered our preferred table but our coffee and egg orders). Highly recommend the hotel to anyone who comes to Izmir.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelinskiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is so lovely to hear that you had such a nice stay at Key, and thank you for writing about it. We are indeed lucky to have such a fantastic location and such a motivated team. If there is anything we can do to help you plan your next trip, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    30
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
56
164
19
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilamoura, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights at his hotel , on the 3rd floor in the room overlooking the harbour. Fantastic views, nicely designed and equipped room full of electronic gadgets and very helpful staff. Location is perfect with all attractions at around 1/2 hr walk . Restaurant is OK. Ambiance very stylish, some scope for improvement in quality considering the pricing.

It is a converted bank building and therefore comes with a completely different atmosphere from where we stayed before.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the harbour are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are more than happy to hear that your stay was delightful.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Best regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent location right on the pier, in addition to modern technology at your finger tips.Control lights, curtains,wake up call,Billing, radio,DND,Clean room,weather, news etc all through the TV and remote and bedside phone.Big neat clean rooms with prompt service.

Room Tip: Try to get the sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docjari18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your glowing review. It is really nice to read that your stay here met your expectaitons.

I do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at Key Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The modern Key Hotel just oozes cool. Everything from the decor, the rooms, and the atmosphere in this mid to upper range boutique hotel is hip and happening. Service is pretty spot-on as well. This was the best place that I stayed at on my weeks long Turkey journey.

I took a cab (about 25 mins) from the sprawling Izmir otogar (bus terminal), as I couldn't find a dolmus to Konak Meydani. My driver didn't really know where it was, so it was an adventure. Its along the pleasant seafront area close to Konak Pier, which is a very poppin place. There are tons of restaurants and shops nearby, including a Starbucks northeast on Cumhuriyet Blvd. Nightlife is a bit of a walk, with Alsansak (25 min walk to the north) a possibility. Basmane train station is about a 20 minute walk east, which I later used to get to Selcuk/Ephesus.

The hotel design, incorporating dark colors, lighting, and glass in interesting ways, is quite impressive. Its a futuristic-type chic without being too fancy. The front desk staff was friendly and handled check-in efficiently; communicating was never an issue. Even the elevator is a catchy design. The concierge seemed knowledgeable about the neighborhood.

The spacious, well-furnished room and the king bed were extremely comfortable. The free Wifi worked well, as did the large TV, which had some English language channels. You can control room features with the TV, which was interesting, although a little bit slow at times. The Ipod/Iphone dock was one of the 1st I've seen in Turkey and sounded great, and there was also a handy free minibar with drinks and candy. AC control was easy enough. There was a good view of the city out of the windows. The closet provides a lot of room. The bathroom is a decent size, well designed, and has pretty solid products; I just wish that they provided tissues in the bathroom.

I tried the hotel restaurant for one dinner. It was not cheap, but it was really delicious, with some solid mezes. Service was slightly less impressive compared to the other parts of the hotel, as they forgot my drink and a couple of other things.

The only real downside is that the upstairs fitness area is pretty simple, so I didn't use it. And it would have been better if breakfast was included with the cost of the room, like it was for most other Turkish hotels I stayed at. But for 25TL it was still pretty good and had ample variety. I had no issues at check-out, and the concierge near the entrance secured my bags for a bit before I left for the train station.

Overall, its got a few minor things to tweak, but its a real fantastic establishment. I'd definitely go back if I ever get to return to enjoyable Izmir.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your detailed review. Your kind words are ver much appreciated.

The reason we don't have a much more complex fitness room is the lack of space due to the features of our historical building. However we will brainstorm for things that can be done.

Sorry for the little confusion in dinner. As Key Restaurant itself is a trendy dining option for the city, sometimes it may be unexpectedly crowded at the very last minute.

Our main concept is bed & breakfast inclusive basis that can always be booked. Sometimes we apply room only basis as well. That is totally up to guests' needs and choice.

Thank you once again for taking time to share your vision with us and the Tripadvisor community.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Key in near future.

Best regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

my wife and i stayed at key hotel for 2 nights this month. Our room had 2 bedrooms and a sitting area and a beautiful view of the sea. It was high tech in every way possible. beautiful jacuzzi tub and everyone was very friendly. only hitch was they were to have their car take us to airport and they forgot so we took a cab which was cheaper anyway. ate at the restaurant which had a great view. had salmon which was okay----they said it was not fresh from the region so not sure why they didnt have local fish. would go back.

Room Tip: had french superior room with 2 BR. great value. corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay at Key. We appreciate all feedback as it helps to ensure that our service is constantly improved to meet the needs of our guests.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the confusion in arranging the pick-up. We already discussed the matter with the service providing third party company and agreed on some precautions to avoid such disturbances.

Key Restaurant, being one of the top notch options in the city, showcases international cuisine with an Aegean flair in a contemporary setting and having so many famous fish restaurants around, it is planned to serve something different.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your future trips to Izmir.

Best regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Key Hotel in July 2014. We chose the hotel based upon the tripadvisor high ratings and the web site.

We found the room to be all that was advertised. It was extremely modern, spacious and had an amazing view, right on the water. The room was also spacious and tastefully decorated.

The location was very convenient to restaurants and shops.

I would rate this a 4-5 star if travelling on business. If you are on holiday, then the rating drops . We found the front desk to be of little help on restaurants, sites to see or even on hotel services. I scheduled an in room message (no spa in hotel) and the person never showed up. The front desk really dropped the call. In general, we found the front desk attendants to not be comfortable in speaking English.

The infrastructure of the hotel was great but the service needs work.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Key Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide.

I am very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site, and the errors in the service you received were indeed highly unusual for us. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and my assurance that I have personally addressed every single point you raised with the team.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Key in person at some point in the future and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

Kindest regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our first stop in Turkey; extremely helpful staff and one of the most beautiful and chic hotels we've ever stayed in. They helped us arrange an Ephesus tour (careful about these - tell them if you don't want a shopping stop) and also got us a great rental car - had it brought straight to the hotel. Terrific amenities. The gym is not really a gym, just three or four pieces of workout equipment. Location is so wonderful, right on the water - it's a breakfast that rivals no other looking out over the sparkling sea. Kind, kind people.
We took our rental car for a day to Cesme and Alacati - highly recommend for a day trip, only an hour away and an easy drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZGUN_CAN, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in July. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us. There can be no bigger motivator than our guests' comments.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.4 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.4 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 96 in Izmir
1,252 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Hotel

Property: Key Hotel
Address: Mimar Kemalettin Caddesi No:1 | Konak, Izmir 35260, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Key Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the city, the KEY is a 31 room, luxury-driven lifestyle hotel, catering to the discriminating taste.We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalised attention, unparalelled service, cutting edge technology, delectable food in a refined atmosphere and we want to be your choice of hotel in the Aegean region! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Key Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing