We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“appalling service - look elsewhere” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Izmir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Izmir
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“appalling service - look elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Having arrived here from the Hilton Istanbul i expected it to be of similar standards. Nothing could be further from the truth. It is old and substandard and the service was terrible. Staff were rude and not willing to help. Everything seemed like an effort or too much trouble. I was shunted from recpetion to my room twice, just to get the Internet connected, even though in a busienss room i had to pay or 24 hour access.

Over price, neglected and lacking in even standard levels of customer service, this hotel reflects very poorly on the Hilton chain.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere when in Izmir
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODORI, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your response on this website..

We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Hilton Izmir and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention.

As to your comments regarding our internet service, please be kindly advised that our high speed wireless Internet service is provided by an external provider and therefore charged to us. I want to take this opportunity to inform you that we also have internet included rates available.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the nearest future..

With Kindest Regards,

Todori Kalamaris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    403
    148
    34
    22
See reviews for
195
207
64
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour. Not far from the boardwalk in Izmir where we enjoyed a lovely sunset. Typical lower end Hilton Hotel; much lesser quality than other Hiltons we stayed in in Turkey. Food mediocre; it was hard to find anything appealing on the dinner buffet. Breakfast fair. Hotel seems tired and needs some cheering up.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaGoToASkunkFight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODORI, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this web-side.

I have read your comments with great concern and shared with my team accordingly. As Hilton Izmir, the comments made by our valuable guests assist us to do better in the future.

I hereby want to take this opportunity to inform you that we have already renovated fully a number of our rooms. We would be happy to accommodate you in our renovated executive rooms on your next visit.

For and on behalf of Hilton Izmir team members, we will be looking forward to welcoming you for your next visit but not in the distant future.

Best Regards,

Todori Kalamaris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Izmir Hilton is a nice hotel near Kordon

This is a typical Hilton hotel with everything well done

2 things can be noticed
- basic rooms are quite old and near to be refreshed
- as in ll Hilton internet is not free of charge that is incredible for such an hotel

Otherwise breakfast is excellent , executive floor has a wonderfull view on Izmir bay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breizh_Brest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODORI, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for filling out a review on Trip Advisor.

First of all, I would like to convey my sincere thanks to you for your positive comments about our hotel. As to your comments regarding rooms renovation, please be kindly informed that we have already renovated fully a number of our rooms.

I would also like to thank you that our high speed wireless Internet service is provided by an external provider and therefore charged to us. However, our Business Center, located on the second floor, provides Internet service for short time usage with better price.

I hope you get another chance to experience the Hilton in the nearest future...

Kind Regards,

Todori Kalamaris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Hilton Izmir lives up to its status as a chain hotel. There is little special about the room, the decor, the layout. The property is not new and it shows - clean and proper as it is, the hotel could do with a little revamping. However, there are some strong assets. First, the location couldn't be better - smack in the centre of downtown Izmir. With its 30 floors, the hotel towers over the city and a room at one of the top floors will afford an unforgettable vista of undulating hills of urban sprawl or the sparkling waters of the bay. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The breakfast smorgasbord is truly impressive. The one big disappointment and a real problem was the wifi internet in the room provided by Swisscom: not inexpensive, as often in big chains, the connection was impossibly slow and patchy, so don't waste your time and use a Turkish internet cafe instead.

Room Tip: A top floor is a must; choose between the busy city skyline or a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcinBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODORI, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for staying with us while in Izmir as well as for your kind review.

I was very pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay, especially with the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff.

I am pleased to inform you that we offer Hilton Business rates which are inclusive of complimentary internet access. You may easily book these online at hilton.com or through our Reservations Department. In the meantime, our Informations System Manager may assist you if you have a trouble with the internet connection on your next visits.

Thank you once again for your gracious review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Todori Kalamaris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Izmir, Turkey only has a handful of commerical hotels. The Hilton is the tallest hotel in the city and it's easy to spot when one find themselves lost in the city. The front desk staff is excellent! They really understand the meaning of customer service. They are helpful, friendly, and accomodating. They will help with booking day trips (Ephesus and Pergamon) and off-the-beaten path excursions (i.e. Turkish football games and basketball games). The breakfast buffet is a bargain; it has lots of variety and ready-to-make options for special diets.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODORI, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments on this website..

As Hilton Izmir, we would like to take the time to personally thank you for all your kind comments in your letter.

We really appreciate everything that was done for you, and please be kindly informed that your great comments have been shared with our team members; especially Front Desk Team.

For and on behalf of Hilton Izmir team members, we will be looking forward to welcoming you for your next visit but not in the distant future.

Kind Regards,

Todori Kalamaris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here our first two nights in town after an overseas flight to visit family in the area. Had an amazing view on one of the top floors. Gorgeous room with a king bed and an extra long Chicco pack-n-play for our toddler (provided by hotel). Their breakfast buffet is AMAZING!! We are still longing for it. Excellent service from the front desk to housekeeping. Had a great time at the indoor pool as well. Looking forward to going back this year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygirl_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODORI, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post review on this website.

As Hilton Izmir we always try to offer the highest level of service. Therefore, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation, of which we are very proud and thank you for your valuable comments about our friendly & helpful staff.

I have also passed your comments to my team, especially the amazing buffet and excellent service from Housekeeping to Front Desk...

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Izmir again.

Kind Regards,

Todori Kalamaris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Va
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

You'd expect good things, and the staff and rooms and location live up to that.

The central location of the hotel makes it a great base for exploring Izmir on foot. The staff were very helpful with directions and recommmendations on where to eat. The housekeeping staff went above and beyond however.

Merla and Lela cleaned our rooms each day, although we never actually saw them face to face. Our 3 night stay was at the end of a 10 day trip so we were sorting our clothes for repacking. Actually to be honest our dirty laundry was piled pretty night. Merla and Lela folded our clothes and provided a laundry basket. It was totally unexpected - and very helpful.

Room Tip: the higher up you are the better the view. We had two rooms - one on each side of the building, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODORI, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments regarding Hilton Izmir on this website.

I would also like to thank you for your most favorable comments about our team members, which made me proud to be General Manager of this hotel. As we always strive to create for our esteemed guest a home away from home, your impression and feedback of our hotel is of extreme importance to us. Thus, we are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you very soon in another Hilton experience.

Kind Regards,

Todori Kalamaris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Izmir Bayrakli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Izmir

Property: Hilton Izmir
Address: Gazi Osmanpasa Bulvari 7, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
#5 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
#6 Business Hotel in Izmir
#7 Family Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Top of the Town. With 32 floors and sea views on 3 sides, Hilton Izmir is also located just behind the seaside, Pasaport, Konak, The Kordon, Alsancak and Kemeralti. Enjoy the difference at Hilton Izmir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Izmir Hotel Izmir
Hilton International Izmir
Izmir Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing