We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms but a bit dated”
Review of Hilton Izmir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Izmir
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 days on business was good location and the staff very pleasant,outstanding view from my room overlooking the bay was on 26th floor, Air con not so good in the room had to open window in room which was a bit noisy at night but not as noisy as the air con it's self had a banging noise all night thought at first it was the room above or next to me but was coming from the air con trunking so switch off and opened window!! The shower had very weak pressure took a while to get wet unusual for hotel may have been a blocked shower head, the staff in the exec lounge were very welcoming and polite again great views but a bit dated snacks and breakfast was adequate there and fantastic views as the Window of the Bay restaurant, nice polite staff but when I dined there they seemed to be a bit short staffed or busy waited 15 minutes before anyone can over after being seated food was ok but nothing to write home about the staff apologised and stated it had been like it all the day , The bar was a bit boring not much interaction with customers providing extra strong drinks though maybe to keep you quiet it seemed no one wanted to stand behind the bar just by the phone in case it rang but still nice and polite staff, overall good location in Izmir but the Swiss hotel looked more appealing but would guess not have the same views.

Room Tip: 26th floor over looking the bay had stunning views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairlightW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,354)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Izmir
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton in Izmir for a one night stay on our way back to Istanbul. Upon arrival we were greeted by an uninterested, unattentive receptionist who was very eager to check us in and get us out of his hair as soon as possible. We asked if he could check when our pick up to the airport would be and possibly our flight time and given a very rude and dry response that he could not tell us these things and it was not his job. He created further confusion for us by insisting that there was no record of us with the company which arranged our travel. Even after we had given up on getting any kind of help from this particular receptionist, he called our room to again tell us that the group had no record of us and there was no transport arrangement for us to the airport and when we asked if he could help us arrange it, he again refused. This is the absolute worst hospitality I have ever experienced at a hotel, anywhere. This hotel tries hard to fit some kind of American standard for hotels and fails miserably as any concierge service would have assisted with these things normally. As it turns out, he jumped the gun and all arrangements were in place, only the company took longer than expected to contact us with the information. This was only realized after we made numerous calls to Istanbul where the company is based and after paying the ridiculous cost for WiFi- expenses that could have been avoided had reception done their job and helped us in the first place without giving us incorrect and insufficient information! The fact that the reception was comfortable knowing their guests might be stranded in Izmir and did not offer help to clarify things was beyond disappointing and unprofessional.

At checkout we encountered another rude receptionist who tried to insist she could not accept our US dollars because of a tiny tear in the money. I would have understood if it were noticeable but we had to look twice to actually see it!

The hotel has a very busy and bustling lobby and a metal detector for guests at the entrance. It is located in an area with many other hotels and walking distance to the waters edge where locals and visitors alike take nightly strolls. very nice to unwind after a long day of travel. Lots of waterside cafes and restaurants that stay open later, adding to the young and lively atmosphere of this city. The hotel is not particularly close to the clock tower, or any other interrsting sites for that matter, so expect to take a good 30 min walk or more to visit that by foot.

Our room was a rather large suite with average furnishings and slight musty smell but absolutely stunning panoramic view of the water which was a comfort during the confusion which took place at the beginning of our stay. It was the only thing we enjoyed at this hotel aside from breakfast but even these things cannot make up for the poor treatment. Bathroom was updated and modern and we had no problems with water pressure or temperature which was a relief.

Dinner service began at 7 and they will give you call to let you know it has begun, especially if you are part of a group. The buffet area is located in a particularly small room and it can get crowded when groups are dining. The food was average and disappointingly, not particularly Turkish. The dining room host was extremely courteous and polite and welcoming and we appreciated his tips and friendly conversation very much. There is also a beautiful panoramic view in the dining room that you will enjoy. We watched the sunset from our table and it was very romantic and relaxing.

You won't have a hard time finding something to eat for breakfast. Located on a higher floor there is a terrace with a fantastic view of the water again. You have the choice of sitting indoors or outdoors depending on the weather. There is a station for custom omelettes and fresh waffles which everyone is sure to enjoy. Be patient as their is usually no more than two people manning it and they really do try their best to accommodate everyone's requests.

Staff and service make or break a hotel as they are usually your first and last impressions of it, the Hilton Izmir should really look into hiring more personable individuals for the reception and offer training in hospitality and helpfulness!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marwa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonIzmirGM, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear TheMariasMA,

Thank you for staying with us recently while in Izmir as well as for taking the time and trouble to submit your review.

I am most concerned about the treatment which you say that you encountered at our reception and can only apologize on behalf of the entire team here for this uncharacteristic behaviour. Should you be able to provide me with a little more information, I would be most grateful for the opportunity to investigate the matter further. ( My direct email is olivier.vetter(at)hilton.com )

Thank you for your gracious remarks about the other aspects of your stay which make us all the more committed to finding out what did not go as it should have at our Reception.

Should you be returning to Izmir for any reason or already be a Hilton HHonors member, then please let me know so that I could make the appropriate gesture of our good faith to compensate you for your disappointment.

I look forward to hearing from you and thank you once again for your constructive and candid review.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Olivier Vetter
General Manager
Hilton Izmir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

If you fancy a bit of time travel to 1986 go stay at Hilton Izmir and you will not be disappointed! You can revel in the antiquated broken sinks, museum-piece American Standard faucets and try to relax admiring the worn-out upholstery and carpeting. Really shameful considering this is Hilton & it's 2014. The fact that they ask for 150TL to put you in one of their renovated rooms is distasteful to say the least. Really not worth it especially when there are so many nicer alternatives around (Swissotel, Radisson, Key Hotel to name a few).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank The1Deniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I liked the hotel, both the hotel, the view from the room and the location from the hotel. A few metres walk to the sea. the Sunset from the room was stunning. The food and the srvice in the executive lounge was very good. Take a sea view room to experience the amaxing sunset

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nettoor Veettil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonIzmirGM, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Nettoor Veettil B,

Thank you for staying with us while in Izmir recently and for your review.

I was pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our services and we met your expectations.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Olivier Vetter
General Manager
Hilton Izmir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

we stay for 1 night in this hotel,during my short business trip.

the hotel situated close to the sea front of izmir and the hotel itself is acually a high bulding with 32 floors.

most of the room have excellent view to the harbour/sea,and the room we stay was quite big and specious with all the amentitys for a 5* hotel,but the bathroom despite been specious looks quite old.

on the top floor there is a nice bar/restaurant with stuning view to the sea/harbour where you can eat/drink anb relax in a nice place.

Breakfast is served on the 9th floor and have a wide variety of food/drinks/beverages/etc.

Regarding the public spaces of the hotel are very clean and big.Hotel also have few stores and a nice loby bar.
Last but not least i would like to say that the hotel personel are very friendly and especially the reception team.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_treker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonIzmirGM, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear world_treker1,

Thank you for staying with us while in Izmir recently and for your review.

I was pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay and our facilities as well as helpfulness of our team members.

You may be interested to know that our renovation programme will begin within 2014 for our guest rooms and has already been completed for our Ballroom and Meeting Rooms last summer. We hope that the outcome will be in keeping with your expectations.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Olivier Vetter
General Manager
Hilton Izmir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We recently stayed in the Hilton Izmir for a week on a holiday break. It was our first visit to Izmir, and Turkey for that matter, and we could not have made a better choice.
With its 32 floors the hotel is an absolute landmark, we could see it from almost everywhere in the city so we could never get lost. Also, this let to the most amazing view I had ever have from a hotel room (we opted for an Executive room which was located on the 25th floor). Morning, day and night, the views were amazing and we spend a lot of time just standing at the window and watching this enormous city.
Having said that, all the rest of the hotel was very nice as well. The room was immaculate, very spacious (except for the bathroom), perfectly clean and with all amenities you can expect. As we booked an Executive room we also had access to the Lounge on the 30th floor which really is a gem of the hotel. Fresh juices, soft drinks, fruit and snacks during the day, a proper breakfast in the morning and an evening reception that more than once let to us not even going out for dinner anymore. Views were fantastic as well and the atmosphere was always calm and pleasant with very attentive and friendly staff every single time we were up there.
The fitness and spa area is a little small but clean and well maintained, and where else would you find a sauna with a full panoramic view on the full moon shining over a bustling city?
Breakfast and the food in the restaurant were good with plenty of choices and here as well, staff was faultless.
Booking, check in and check out went smoothly and very professional with also a personal touch which I really much appreciate.
The location of the hotel is perfect, we could walk everywhere and a lot of restaurants and shops were in direct proximity.
I would always recommend the Hilton Izmir to any type of traveller as it really offers the full package.

Room Tip: If you can at all afford it, treat yourself to an Executive room with Lounge access.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonIzmirGM, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Halinchen,

Thank you for staying with us while in Izmir recently and for your detailed review.

I was pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay and we met your expectations.

You may also be pleased to hear that we offer a special business rate on line that is inclusive of Internet and Breakfast.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit as well as your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Olivier Vetter
General Manager
Hilton Izmir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

It is located at the heart of the city with many different facilities . Classical Hilton style is perfect for business stays . Walking distance to famous Kordon street where you eill find many tasty restaurants .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank TMERIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonIzmirGM, General Manager at Hilton Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear TMERIC,

Thank you for staying with us while in Izmir recently and for your review.

I was delighted to learn that you were generally satisfied with our facilities, especially our location.

Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

Olivier Vetter
General Manager
Hilton Izmir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Izmir Bayrakli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Izmir

Address: Gazi Osmanpasa Bulvari 7, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
#4 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
#6 Business Hotel in Izmir
#7 Family Hotel in Izmir
Price Range: £57 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Top of the Town. With 32 floors and sea views on 3 sides, Hilton Izmir is also located just behind the seaside, Pasaport, Konak, The Kordon, Alsancak and Kemeralti. Enjoy the difference at Hilton Izmir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Izmir Hotel Izmir
Hilton International Izmir
Izmir Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing