We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVERAGE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ege Palas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ege Palas
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“AVERAGE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I stay here alot as it is booked by my customer. Honestly although the staff are pleasant they are pretty useless. I arrived late and was told the restaurant upstairs was open until late. Actually I was given very limited snack choice by staff who were not bothered. Rooms are OK but dated. Hotel is a bit tired and honestly there are better just down the road - which I will try next week.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    82
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
25
38
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Apart from the location not much more to offer as it is simply a hotel that offers what it has to offer at its rating and certainly not offering anything more. Breakfast disappointing and bar area was dead.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

On a second stay in this hotel I had a harbor view room. The view is pretty and you get to watch the ferries go back and forth and the big ships come in and out of the port. It is nice to open the door and let in the fresh air, although the night life in the area is loud until 4AM on weekends.

I discovered that the fitness room which always looks closed when I look, can be opened by request. It has a bike and a treadmill, a weight bench, a weight machine, limited free weights, and exercise balls. There is also a sauna, which I did not use. You can order a massage.

The hotel is a block from the seaside promenade and is within walking distance of hundreds of bars and restaurants. On Saturday nights the narrow streets, which are lined with bars, are packed with people out having a good time. You see family groups, single women, groups of women, and of course many groups of men. Occasionally a bemused conservatively dressed devout Muslim couple can be seen to watch the show. As in most countries, the ideas seems to be to be out in a crowd, smoke and drink, get jostled a lot,listen to loud bad music, and fiddle with your smart phone. Not my idea of romance but oh well.

The breakfast buffet is very complete. The scrambled eggs look a little watery but there are soft and hard boiled eggs nearby, as well as fruit, cheeses, cured meats, cereal, and delicious fresh bread, better than any you get in the US. Try the fruit: the flavors are intense.

Room Tip: Try for a harbor view on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Planning to stay in İzmir? Because of its location highly recommended. Price is ok , rooms are clean spacious and modern.Very close to the street named Kordon where you can find lots of cafes and restaurants next to the sea and very close to Kıbrıs Şehitleri street "heart of nightlife" in izmir.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a wonderfull İzmir bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teco31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotel is on a narrow street a block from the seaside promenade. It is in a district with lots of fish restaurants and bars. It is a narrow high rise building probably dating to the 70s. Lobby is glitzy and checkin staff speak adequate English. The elevators are slow and small, and seem to have a bias against stopping at the 9th floor. My room was large and very clean and had a small balcony. Beds are hard by American standards but comfortable. Only one pillow, but extras are in the closet and a different kind of pillow can be ordered from the desk. Towels are of the thin Turkish type but adequate. Amenities a bit on the small side (size of the bottles and soap) but of good quality. Room has a minibar, bidet, iron, coffee maker, and safe. A free bottle of drinking water is provided daily, which is a nice touch. The air conditioner seemed only to blow hot but the weather was nice and I left the door to the balcony open. This let in the noise from a nightclub where the music went on until about 3AM but it was not overly loud and did not keep me awake. There is also a school next door and you can hear the kids reciting and the principal talking on the PA system. You can also hear some of the announcements from the nearby railway station. However I found all this kind of fun and not disturbing. I had a bit of a sewer gas smell in the bathroom, but not overly unpleasant. The fitness center was closed during hours when they claimed to be open so I could not evaluate it. The breakfast buffet is included and is first class. Has soup, different olives and cheeses and meats, eggs, delicious fresh breads and simits, fruit, fresh-squeezed juice, everything you might want. I was not paying for my room so I can not evaluate the value. The laundry fees are comparable to US hotel prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

An avarage hotel, but you can not sleep becoause of the noise coming from the entertainment district....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harmoniaist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We arrived late one night, tired from touring. The weather wasn't good so we couldn't enjoy the view from our seaside room.But the room was comfortable, clean and we had a good night's sleep. The room breakfast was served in was a little too small for our group,I felt rushed to finish to make room for others.I would have liked to see what else was in the immediate area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teacup610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#6 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 96 in Izmir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Izmir Bayrakli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ege Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ege Palas

Property: Ege Palas
Address: Cumhuriyet BulvarI No 210 | Alsancak, Izmir 35220, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
#16 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ege Palas 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The concept of unlimited service... Ege Palas Hotel, which overlooks the unique view of Izmir Bay, offers the ideal options for its guests with an excellent service and hospitable personnel. Ege Palas Hotel, which is located in Alsancak, downtown Izmir, overlooking the unique view of Izmir Bay, offers an exquisite service to its guests with its superb location between the Waterfront (Kordon) and the shopping centres. Ege Palas Hotel, which maintains its stable place among the most prestigious hotels in Izmir with its outstanding service since 1993, attracts attention of local guest along with international guests and business travellers. Every single detail is considered with great care to make its guests feel comfort of their home. Ege Palas accommodates 110 standard rooms, 2 suites, 1 family suite, 1 corner club room, and 2 disabled rooms. All standard rooms been renovated in late 2014. The hotel, which is located only 90 meters from the sea, also offers facilities to its guests who visit Izmir for vacation or business with its banquette halls, as well as its high quality and fully-equipped meeting halls with the capacity of 10-400 people and hosts all sort of private and corporate organizations with a concept of excellent service. Some events organized by Ege Palas Organization Department are; Valentine's Day Celebrations, New Year Balls, Karaoke Nights for private groups, meetings and weddings. The Best Service Ege Palas targets to offer consistent and exclusive service for its guests to make them feel like home. Constant customer satisfaction and continuity are the main principles of Ege Palas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ege Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ege Palas Hotel Alsancak
Ege Palas Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing