We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice and tidy budget hotel in the center of Izmir City”
Review of Kocaman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kocaman Hotel
Ranked #89 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Kocaman Hotel is located at the main street, at a reasonably close distance to sea-front, 2 km away from sea side.
Street side rooms are somehow noisy but back side is quiet enough.
Reception and entrance is wide enough and spacy.
Reception is 7/24 reachable.
Hotel personnel are gentle and smiling.
Rooms are plain and tidy, moderatetly spacing. Regulary serviced daily in the morning.
Breakfast starts at 07:00. Foods are OK.
İt is a family-running hotel.
A budget and clean hotel, it is preferable..

Room Tip: Back rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mr_pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2010

I've stayed here for 2 nights and I must say that I would not repeat it, although I cannot say it was terrible.
The location is not the best (it is located in a poor area of Izmir with gypsy neighborhood) but you may easily reach Izmir's sea area by the Metro which is roughly a 5~10 minutes walk (you will need to cross the train line and pass by a military facility).
The space was not a problem but the room was not very clean (especially the bathroom) so you need to be prepared for that.
The breakfast was ok.
I've paid about 35~40€/night for a double room. So it was cheap.
Don't expect nothing fancy nor very clean. But I would recommend it if you have a tight budget and if you don't need to sleep there for more than 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruicarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The pictures on Trip Advisor of this hotel look nothing like the actual hotel. The hotel is not near anything you might want to see as a tourist or probably even as a local. The area is pretty run down. The hotel was completely empty and the entire hotel has a thick haze of stale cigarette smoke. The carpet is tattered or in some places non-existent and the paint is peeling off the walls in many places. There are many burn marks in the carpet that does exist, and mildew spots elsewhere. The door in our room to the bathroom was almost completely rotted through and every time you shut the door little wood particles scattered across the room. We had originally planned on staying for two nights, but left after only one. We have never done that before at any hotel, ever, and we travel a lot.

Having said all that, the staff was friendly. We didn't try the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank budgettravellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

The place of the hotel is stated wrong on google maps. It is near Izmirum hotel and Aksan hotel. The price we paid for it was around 40 USD including breakfast, and was a much better value for money than Aksan where we also stayed and have a separate review.

The area is some walking from Basmane station, it should be over 1 km. Next to it is a hotel. The view was very nice, although it is a poorer part of Izmir. They are currently restructuring the high way near it so it is harder tor reach by taxi.

The rooms are good. A seperate airco and also beds and showers work properly. The buffet breakfast is OK, although do not expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank cigdem s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015
2  Thank ugur360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Ahmet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
1.1 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#67 of 96 in Izmir
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#14 of 96 in Izmir
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
#24 of 96 in Izmir
163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#4 of 96 in Izmir
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kocaman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kocaman Hotel

Address: Gaziler Cad. 1195 Sok. No:2 Yenisehir, Konak, Izmir 35120, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range: £26 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kocaman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kocaman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing