We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations, average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I had expected a higher end hotel, not luxury, but comfortable, maybe that's where I went wrong. The staff were friendly and helpful, and things were clean and in order, no complaints there. I had reserved a "Double room for one person", and the room had a double bed, but if they market it as a double, I assume it's suitable for two people, but this barely fit one. The bed could only be accessed from one side, and that was a squeeze (the arrangement was: wall, ~50 cm of space, bed, wall). There was no space for luggage, and the bathroom was tiny (you could sit on the toilet with knees and head against the opposite wall). Maybe the Double for one room is smaller, but the discount seemed only to account for the loss of one breakfast, so that was not my assumption. Aside from the size, two big complaints: air conditioning was weak, managing only to cool the room to about 23C/73F in September, and most bizarrely, the room doors could not be closed from the outside without (a) using the keycard to unlock the door and then turning the outside knob and closing it softly, or (b) slamming the door as though storming out on someone. As very few people thought to do (a), this meant you heard slamming doors from around the floor all evening and from the early morning. How did that seem like a good idea to management?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srh1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Director of Human Resources & Quality at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We have reviewed your feedback regarding size of the room, aircondition and the function of the room door. Please accept our apologies for all these inconvenience. We would like to host you again in Mövenpick Hotel Izmir during your future visits to Izmir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,398)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Hotel Izmir
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed for one week....the room was spacious and clean...the view from the executive lounge is excellent!!! Though they need to add more variety of food in the lounge.staff is great..had a really great time !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hahney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Director of Human Resources & Quality at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Guest,

It is great to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the variety of food in the lounge. Hope to host you again in Mövenpick Hotel Izmir during your future visits.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Sept, 2012. Although the description sounded and looked good, for the 103 euros a night and no breakfast, I would have chosen the Sofitel for just about 30 euros more.The lobby looked nice, the rooms were clean and the bed and pillows comfortable. The only thing that was not up to par was the fitness center, The pool was nice but the water cold, it said that the was a jacuzzi available but there was a spout with cold water in the corner of the pool and some water jets, and the steam room was out of order the next day. I decided to complain and the manager Miss Foulya, apologized and offered all 4 of us free breakfast. Nice gesture we thought and made us feel a bit better, as when the day before when we complained to the front desk, nothing was done about it.

Room Tip: The hotel has double pane windows that kind of acts like a sound proofing. The hotel is situated in...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoFortLee_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed 2 days en route to Izmir and with a day trip to Ephesus. Service at hotel was impeccable, the rooms large and well suited for the 5 star visitor and fitness center was awesome!
The hotel is located near to seaport with lots of restaurants to choose from and scenic walks.

The only objection was that we could not request non smoking room ahead of time ( not sure if all rooms may be smoking because many people smoke in Turkey). So the stale odor of tobacco was in the hallway and in the room at times.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Director of Human Resources & Quality at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We have non smoking rooms however, depending the occupancy we may not able to assign you a non smoking room. Please accept our apologies for this inconvenience and we will be glad to host you again in Izmir during your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank selma2000
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ExecIzm, Director of Human Resources & Quality at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The hotel is an excellent one, and my review is somewhat limited by the fact that we only stayed one night. But the bedroom was wide and spacious, with everything we needed, including mini-bar, good air conditioning, a nice toilet, and all very modern and functional. The common areas were also beautifully designed and furnished, and the restaurant offers a nice view of the sea. The hotel is also situated bang in the centre of Izmir. The staff is also kind and makes you feel comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nando2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Director of Human Resources & Quality at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments. Hope to host you again in Izmir during your next visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Rooms and service are what you would expect from a star hotel. Front desk was especially helpful with directions and tourist spots to see. It has the best location in front of the pier and its lounge offers a 180deg view of the horizon. Highly recommended.
Breakfast is not included in the room price, but it was quite reasonably priced for the spread offered.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rld_Traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Director of Human Resources & Quality at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I wanted to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing Movenpick as your home during your visit to Izmir. Our entire team will be pleased to host you again in your next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#4 of 97 in Izmir
1,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#11 of 97 in Izmir
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Izmir

Address: Cumhuriyet Blv. 138, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Turkey's Leading Business Hotel" by World Travel Awards in 2011, 2014 and 2015, Movenpick Hotel Izmir is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance to business and shopping districts as well as the trade fair grounds. It is also, the ideal starting point for visiting local attractions such as world-famous Ephesus and the popular destinations of Kusadasi, Cesme and Bodrum. The 185 modern rooms, including 36 executive rooms and 17 suites, extend the highest levels of comfort for business travellers, and flaunt style with their special colour scheme, furniture design and modern decor. Margaux Restaurant is Izmir's choice for an early morning breakfast, sophisticated business lunches and intimate dining experiences from 6.30 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. Overlooking the beautiful bay and the twinkling city lights from the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir, Mistral Lounge Bar offers you the Izmir's most distinctive cocktails and widest selection of premium drinks in an elegant setting. The Coral Health Club, located on the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir with a breathtaking view of Izmir Bay, provides all the necessities for a healthy, active and fulfilling lifestyle from 7.00 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing