We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Esfahan, Iran
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This hotel is excellent”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

this hotel has a bodybuilding , good pool that is free for passengers.the staffs are polite.rooms are clean and each room has a free charge safe deposit that you can assign or change the password.Buffet breakfast had a wide range of choices and was very enjoyable

Room Tip: Rooms On the sea side and higher floors have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Ali R,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    414
    141
    42
    48
See reviews for
229
282
69
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent one night in this hotel and immediately felt that we made the right choice as soon as we walked into the hotel. The receptionist was very friendly and upgraded our room to a honeymoon suite as soon as he knew we were on our honeymoon. We got a room with a wonderful view of the square, the sea and beautiful sunset. There were rose petals (artificial) arranged on the bed, a basket of fresh fruit and a plate of chocolate greet us in the room. A complementary sparkling wine was also given to us to make our stay perfect and memorable. To our surprise, the housekeeping was very responsive and could deliver the laundry as our requested time.

A map of Izmir city, wine and dine directory, thick book about Izmir including Ephesus, Isa Bey mosque, shrine of Mother Mary are provided in the room. You should have a quick read (or a quick glance if you don`t have time at least) on the directory and the book.

Guest of suite rooms have access to the lounge, the view from there is marvelous.

The hotel serves wide selection of cheese and I found they served the best cheese pie I ever tasted in Turkey. There are quite number of food served at the breakfast and fresh salad.

We would like to thank Moevenpick staff member, Metin Akture, who had been very helpful in providing us information on tour, airport shuttle and mostly for upgrading our room to a honeymoon suite. We could not have more perfect stay in Turkey if not because of him.

Room Tip: - Choose the room with the square and sea view for the spectacular and view. - If you book this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mima_Isono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Mima_Isono,
Thank you very much for taking time to fill in our guest survey. We received your positive comments regarding your stay and our staff service.
Your appreciation is a great motivation for us and we will be looking forward to hosting you again at your home in Izmir.

Kind Regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We book this hotel through some friends as we had an important appointment nearby .
Perfect welcome, free upgrade, rooms very clean with a spectacular view on the square and the sea.
Particularly appreciated the local pastry, the best chocolates in all Izmir!!!
A special thanks to the breakfast staff, everything always perfect!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ylenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Ylenia S,
Thank you very much for coming back to us with your review about your stay in Mövenpick Hotel Izmir. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our service provided by our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Best wishes,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I just stayed there last week and have to say that it was a very good experience. From the moment we checked-in to the moment we checked-out. The staff might be a bit serious and distant, but that might be the fact that they speak in a different language, still they were very helpful and corteous. We had an executive room which gave us complimentary drinks and food from 6 to 8 in the rooftop bar, which. by the way, has beautiful views of the city. The rooms have everything you need and the hotel is very centrally located which is a plus. I would definitely stay here again if I went back to Izmir.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egajuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear egajuan,
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Hotel Mövenpick Izmir. We are very glad that you felt comfortable and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Pitch your expectation for a cookie-cutter hotel with impersonal, yet efficient, service and you won't be disappointed. No complaints really, except that the carpet needs to be cleaned more regularly. Smooth and swift check in, check out, quick taxi call...
We didn't eat at the hotel - why would you when you're at the heart of a range of fantastic eateries? - so cannot comment on the restaurants. What the hotel has best is location. Izmir has a limited arc of interesting places and this hotel is bang in the middle of it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Foodie301,
Thank you for your stay at our Mövenpick Hotel Izmir and your nice feedback.
We recommend you to also try our 5-star restaurant on your next visit to Izmir. You won't regret trying it!
Thanks for all your kind comments and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our first bad experience was at check in after a 16 hour trip and the hotel had no record of a smoke free request. We later opted to keep the room for an extra $51 USD/night to avoid moving.

We were traveling on a budget to watch our son's volleyball tournament playing for the USA Under 21 Men's team and a belated 35th anniversary celebration. The two week schedule required us to make reservations in Izmir AND Ankara for the second week due to poor planning and info from the organizers of the FIVB tournamnent.

When FIVB changed the schedule mid stream we were forced to cancel our Ankara lodgings, (costing us $150 USD), and also our entire 6 day provisional extension at Movenpick Izmir at $150 USD PER NIGHT and rebook two additional nights at $250 USD per night, and $208 USD for any extra nights if we did not go to Ankara. When the tournament rules changed and required us to remain in Izmir for the duration, we had to rebook through hotels.com for $175 USD to get a lower rate for the remaining four nights, resulting in a total cost to us of several hundred dollars more than we had originally booked for.

It is not the fault of the hotel that the FIVB plans were so confusing, however when we were caught in this quandary, the hotel chose to force us to choose a higher rate or leave for other lodgings on a busy period or pay the additional $100 USD for two extra nights that we ALREADY HAD booked on a 6 nite stay. In fact, we had to release 6 nights that they then could resell at the higher rate AND charged us the highest possible rate to keep our current room.

Everything was blamed on the "system" not allowing any grace for our dilemma.

Although the staff is very friendly, the management basically stuck a knife in our back while they smiled politely with ZERO sympathy for our problem, knowing we had no other viable options with the town solidly booked.

The restaurant was very impressive the first 2-3 mornings we had breakfast, as was the Mistral lounge which we paid extra for each day (about $50 USD per day), however, it became apparent that they put the same thing out every day. For a 12 night stay it gets pretty boring, and we found ourselves needing to ask for special requests to break the monotony.

My wife has a gluten allergy and getting special accommodation is made more difficult by the language barrier, especially in the lounge, which was necessary since our budget took such a hit at the desk.

A one or two day stay would likely be fine with most trips, but I do not recommend longer and do not expect any sympathy if you have a problem. You will pay dearly for changes due to circumstances beyond your control.

By the way, we NEVER received our "complimentary fruit basket" even after repeated requests at the desk. The carpets in the room and hallways are in need of a good steam cleaning.

Pool and gym are excellent. View from lounge/roof are beautiful. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are average at best. Did not pay extra for meals, but not surprised by reports of overcharging by other reviewer. We are still here as I write this so checkout may be interesting!

Definitely took some of the sparkle out of our 35th anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: If your plans are "set in stone" book a value price online. If flexible, get ready to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Rod G,
First of all thank you for choosing Mövenpick Hotel Izmir and your detailed feedback.
We are very sorry to hear about that FIVB changed your schedule and you have to cancel your trip to Ankara.
We realized that you made your reservations online from one of the booking sites. You can be sure that you have booked the best rate available for your room during that period.

Hoping to have the opportunity to host you soon again.
Kind regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Greece
Level Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A great hotel is primarily people. The material things supplement the people experience. This is the case in Izmir's Moevenpick Hotel. Centrally located, ideal for long walks along the sea promenade, or visits to the beautiful suburbs, it offers the visitor all the comforts of a five star hotel plus the warmth and professionalism of its staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panathinaeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Panathinaeos,
Thank you very much for your stay in our Mövenpick Hotel and your feedback. It is our goal to fully exceed your expectations the next time your travels bring you back this way. Your feedback in invaluable ,and we thank you very much .

Hope to see you again at your home in Izmir.
Kind Regards,
Merih Hasaltun-Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 96 in Izmir
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
0.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 96 in Izmir
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Izmir

Property: Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Address: Cumhuriyet Blv. 138, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Turkey's Leading Business Hotel" by World Travel Awards in 2011, 2014 and 2015, Movenpick Hotel Izmir is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance to business and shopping districts as well as the trade fair grounds. It is also, the ideal starting point for visiting local attractions such as world-famous Ephesus and the popular destinations of Kusadasi, Cesme and Bodrum. The 185 modern rooms, including 36 executive rooms and 17 suites, extend the highest levels of comfort for business travellers, and flaunt style with their special colour scheme, furniture design and modern decor. Margaux Restaurant is Izmir's choice for an early morning breakfast, sophisticated business lunches and intimate dining experiences from 6.30 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. Overlooking the beautiful bay and the twinkling city lights from the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir, Mistral Lounge Bar offers you the Izmir's most distinctive cocktails and widest selection of premium drinks in an elegant setting. The Coral Health Club, located on the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir with a breathtaking view of Izmir Bay, provides all the necessities for a healthy, active and fulfilling lifestyle from 7.00 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing