We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Needs a facelift”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Reasonably good hotel. Exceptionally well located. Right in the center of the city. And best of all, sizable rooms and responsive service. Yet needs a bit of a "new look". Decor smacks of Middle Eastern motifs and details. Parking is yet another issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saboratore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Oktay y,
Dear Guest, Thank you for the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I wish to inform you, that we are planning a renovation next year.

We have noted your comment with regards of the physical status of our facility.
We don't have a parking area but we offer complimentary valet parking service to all our guests.

Please be assured that your comments are taken seriously and will be fed back to the relevant heads of department for their attention.
It is our goal to fully exceed your expectations the next time your travels bring you back this way. Your feedback in invaluable and we thank you very much.

Hope to see you again at your home in Izmir.
Best Regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    420
    145
    43
    50
See reviews for
237
288
69
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I'm so happy that I reserved this hotel for our 4-night stay in Izmir. We got a good deal of an executive room because it was already off-season. The price was the same as for a 'normal' room. The room had a king size bed with excellent mattress and pillows. The room was spacious with an ocean view and bathroom with a tub (and a rubber duck!). Of course the usual stuff: minibar, satellite TV, free wifi, security box, air conditioning, coffee makers etc.

There is a well equipped gym on the 11th floor with amazing views towards the sunset over the ocean. It was such an experience to exercise while watching the sun set. And go after the gym to sauna (two of them) and pool. And after you are done, you can visit the executive lounge next door for a late night drink, coffee or small cake.

The bell boys are really energetic and eager to serve, whether it is about taking care of your luggage or your car. When you arrive at the hotel front, there is at once the bell boy attending you.

The breakfast is plentiful, a good selection of cold and hot items in an open buffet. You may also make an order of additional dishes if you fancy something else.

The reception is very polite, efficient and friendly, smiling heartily. Also, the rooms are very clean and the turndown service is sweet.

You can get all of the above in most good quality hotels but what was so special in this one is that most of the staff exceeded the expectations and provided better service than necessary. They truly wanted to delight their quests. This happened in the reception, during the breakfast, in the executive lounge, in the gym, in the lobby (chocolate and ice cream tastings). Constantly. Amazing.

Room Tip: Executive room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear pepics,
Thank you for choosing Mövenpick Hotel Izmir for your recent stay in Izmir. We are delighted to hear that you loved our hotel, the location, the room, the health club as well as the services provided by our staff.
I am extremely thankful to read that our team was professional and friendly. Thank you again for posting your review! We look forward to your return visit!
Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed at Movenpick in Izmir this summer. We had a small problem with the first room. I phoned reception and we were moved to a suit with a sea view. My complaint was dealt with a professional manner and they really made us like we are in charge. Breakfast was truly 5 star. Staff in the breakfast room made a big difference. They were real professionals. Before you finish coffee they notice that and immediately somebody asks you if you like more. Our 2 year old girl was in centre of attention. Everyday she got a present from the staff. If go back to Izmir I know where I will stay. Great experience and well recommended hotel. Well done Movenpick you are the BEST> ( Best hotel bed I have ever slept)

Room Tip: Ask for suits if you have a kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Josh41,
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir. Thank you very much for mentioning our delicious breakfast buffet and our friendly staff. Thank you for recommending us to your friends! It’s always a pleasure to welcome you at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir
Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for work. Great location, close to the water, the bazaar, konak pier, clean rooms, and walking distance to the Havas (airport shuttle). Great service by the front desk staff- willing to help to ensure your stay is a great one. Booked through hotel.com, same prices were available on their website.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Salisha M,
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your past experience. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir and our central location. Hope to welcome you soon again.
Kİnd regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel and we had a very good experience.
The best thing about this hotel is its excellent location, just few minute walk to waterfront and lots of restaurants. 10 min. walk to the main old bazar and İzmir Clock Tower (Turkish: İzmir Saat Kulesi which is a historic clock tower located at the Konak Square in Konak district of İzmir).
It is a real 5 star new and modern hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are fairly big and spotlessly clean. There are everything in the room (except ironing) from slippers, coffee-tea maker, coat- towel, etc.
We were on half-board and dinner were fixed menu and very delicious. We had a partial view of the waterfront. You could hear cars in the street but overall sleep quality was very good, thanks to extra comfortable bedding materials. Wi-Fi was good in rooms and free of charge.
I will definitely come back to this hotel and I wish I had spent more time in Izmir, as it is a very beautiful nice clean city and worth visiting again.

Room Tip: Try upper floor rooms with a direct front view of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drshervin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear drshervin,
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding Mövenpick Hotel Izmir. We are very glad that you felt comfortable and we hope to welcome you back again soon
Your appreciation is a great motivation for us and we will be looking forward to hosting you again at your home in Izmir.

Kind Regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

the hotel is clean, modern and in a great location - just across the street from the waterfront. the front desk personnel are very well trained in that they know what customer service is. helpful with restaurant recommendations, helpful in supplying an electrical current adaptor, accommodated late checkout and allowed us to change our prepaid dinner to the late check out day which was very graceful of them.

the workout room on the top floor is fabulous - great view, clean, roomy and adequate equipment.

the rooms are quiet and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddleballdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear paddleballdude,
Thank you very much for your nice reviews regarding your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be a pleasure to serve you again if your future plans bring you again to Izmir.
Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent one night here. Our view was spectacular, the service and the breakfast were good. Its was a short walk to a whole row of restaurants on the water front. It was definitely a brass and glass, full service style hotel, but that was a welcome for the weary travelers we were.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to get the view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Carol F,
Thank you so much for taking your time in writing this review. Thank you for your nice words about our service, we try to do the best of us for our customers.
We hope see you next time in Izmir.

Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 96 in Izmir
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
0.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 96 in Izmir
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Izmir

Property: Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Address: Cumhuriyet Blv. 138, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Turkey's Leading Business Hotel" by World Travel Awards in 2011, 2014 and 2015, Movenpick Hotel Izmir is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance to business and shopping districts as well as the trade fair grounds. It is also, the ideal starting point for visiting local attractions such as world-famous Ephesus and the popular destinations of Kusadasi, Cesme and Bodrum. The 185 modern rooms, including 36 executive rooms and 17 suites, extend the highest levels of comfort for business travellers, and flaunt style with their special colour scheme, furniture design and modern decor. Margaux Restaurant is Izmir's choice for an early morning breakfast, sophisticated business lunches and intimate dining experiences from 6.30 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. Overlooking the beautiful bay and the twinkling city lights from the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir, Mistral Lounge Bar offers you the Izmir's most distinctive cocktails and widest selection of premium drinks in an elegant setting. The Coral Health Club, located on the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir with a breathtaking view of Izmir Bay, provides all the necessities for a healthy, active and fulfilling lifestyle from 7.00 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing