We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Izmir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great service and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed a few nights at this hotel early July and overall had a pleasant experience. I had never stayed at this hotel chain before so I did not know what to expect. The hotel was very clean and service was very prompt and professional. The hotel room was clean, somewhat modern and the bed quite comfortable. If you are looking to use this hotel as a base while visiting other nearby attractions around Izmir it is centrally located. It is in a very safe area of Izmir and right by the waterfront.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VasiliPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Vpanopoulo,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Johann Strauss and that you appreciated the great location, our nice staff, as well our spacious rooms.
Looking forward to your return visit, next time you visit Izmir.

Best Regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    376
    118
    36
    38
See reviews for
201
263
62
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a Senior Suite with my family for three nights and it was one of the best hotel experience of the tour. The view from the room and especially the top floor lounge was quite nice. Breakfast buffet was quite appetizing with a range of breads and dishes available. Overall a good experience!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hasan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Hasan ,
We're delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit to Izmir.
It is our goal to fully exceed your expectations the next time your travels bring you back this way. Your feedback in invaluable and we thank you very much .

We will be glad to host you again in Mövenpick Hotel Izmir during your future visits.

Best Regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel has a good location near the sea. We were late checking in, so we did not get to take advantage of the area as much as we would have liked. The hotel had great wifi and a lovely lobby to sit and wait for our friends. The rooms were clean and comfortable - wished we could have stayed there longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 112910Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Beth,
We are delighted to hear that you wish your stay could have been longer and that you really enjoyed your stay.
I hope to see you at the Mövenpick Hotel Izmir.
Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very impressed. Breakfast was fantastic with many, nice choices including my favorite kaymak with Turkish bread. Coffee was good, too! You can walk to sea side walkway and enjoy the sunset. Dinner was ok, nothing special. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlesumirekan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear seattlesumirekan,
Thank you very much for taking time to fill in our guest survey and for your nice review! It is always a pleasure for us to get nice comments and we are really happy that you appreciate our efforts! It is very important for us to keep the charm of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again!
Best Regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a Trafalgar Tour of Turkey. Good quiet room, water and tea/coffee facilities provided. Evening meal was served and ok. Getting a glass of wine proved a challenge as the young girl serving had to go to find glasses for each glass of wine, she did this one glass at a time. Breakfast good.

Room Tip: Excellent soundproof glazing kept traffic noise out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscoml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear mrscoml,
Thank you very much for your stay in our Mövenpick Hotel and your feedback.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir.
We hope you were satisfied with our service and will visit us in the near future.

Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Elegant hotel in alsancak .
I was imformed wrong about extras during C/I infact all extras was paid buy the company.I was informed that ı will pay and learned in the morning.
I used spa and welness center it is okay but can be better in hyjiene.
The wood floor covers were dirty and almost turning to black.
A la carte restaurant was okay but the sinitzel was not fried good and a bit greasy but the ice cream menu was perfect.
Next day o stayed in swiss hotel izmir read my compertion.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Proconesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Proconnesus,
Thank you very much for your stay in our Mövenpick Hotel and your feedback. We are happy that you found our hotel elegant but we are also sorry it seems we didn't quite meet or exceed your expectations.
It is our goal to fully exceed your expectations the next time your travels bring you back this way. Your feedback in invaluable and we thank you very much.

We will be glad to host you again in Mövenpick Hotel Izmir during your future visits.

Best Regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul / Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

During check in someone literally throw on the reception desk one glass that I assumed was a welcome drink. The problem is that neither the front officer nor the person that left the drink said anything, therefore I was not sure if it was for me or not.

The room looks old. When I turned on the air conditioning, a bad smell came (probably old dirty filters). When I turn off before going to bed, I could hear very loudly the air conditioning from the room below (probably they use the same pipes/tubes).

Very poor breakfast for a 5 star hotel with Movenpick name. Sausages were cold, the Nutella and the peanut butter were in the original jars, with a knife inside! Really not elegant and hygienic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brazturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear brazturk,
I am very sorry to hear about the bad experience you had while you are checking into Mövenpick Hotel Izmir. It's a little bit surprising because we are usually known for our hospitality.

Regarding the noise from air conditioning, we are sorry to hear that it disturbed your rest.
I will share your comment with our management committee.
Please be assured that your comments are taken seriously and will be fed back to the relevant heads of department for their attention.

It is our goal to fully exceed your expectations the next time your travels bring you back this way. Your feedback in invaluable ,and we thank you very much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir!

Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#6 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
0.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 96 in Izmir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Izmir

Property: Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Address: Cumhuriyet Blv. 138, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Turkey's Leading Business Hotel" by World Travel Awards in 2011, 2014 and 2015, Movenpick Hotel Izmir is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance to business and shopping districts as well as the trade fair grounds. It is also, the ideal starting point for visiting local attractions such as world-famous Ephesus and the popular destinations of Kusadasi, Cesme and Bodrum. The 185 modern rooms, including 36 executive rooms and 17 suites, extend the highest levels of comfort for business travellers, and flaunt style with their special colour scheme, furniture design and modern decor. Margaux Restaurant is Izmir's choice for an early morning breakfast, sophisticated business lunches and intimate dining experiences from 6.30 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. Overlooking the beautiful bay and the twinkling city lights from the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir, Mistral Lounge Bar offers you the Izmir's most distinctive cocktails and widest selection of premium drinks in an elegant setting. The Coral Health Club, located on the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir with a breathtaking view of Izmir Bay, provides all the necessities for a healthy, active and fulfilling lifestyle from 7.00 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing