We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Got the hotel from our travel agent and were pleasantly surprised. Very good location -- walking distance to the pier and restaurants. They had great service, nice pool, steam and sauna rooms, clean and very good breakfast (tip: do not have an omelet line but order it from the waiters).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonzfamilyexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merih H, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Nevin A,
Thank you very much for your stay in our Mövenpick Hotel and your feedback.
We received your positive comments regarding your stay and our staff, service, location.
Your appreciation is a great motivation for us and we will be looking forward to hosting you again at your home in Izmir.

I want to inform you that we are having some problems with Apple devices. Because of their software and security issues, the internet connection drops out short time periods.

It is our goal to fully exceed your expectations the next time your travels bring you back this way. Your feedback in invaluable and we thank you very much .

We will be glad to host you again in Mövenpick Hotel Izmir during your future visits.

Best Regards,
Merih Hasaltun Yumlu-PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel is excellently located - near the main square, restaurants and shops. There is an airport shuttle conveniently located approx 1 min walk away from hotel. You are offered complementary drinks on check in, and are provided with complimentary water, coffee, tea and a kettle in the room.

The rooms are spacious, modern and very clean. There is even a proper decent hair dryer in the bathroom. There is free wifi in the hotel, but you need to log in every single time you want to use it....this can become a little tedious and means you cannot receive anything automatically via the internet (unless you are actively using the wifi connection at the time).

Everyone at the hotel is very helpful. The staff go out of their way to help. Breakfast is served on the ground floor and overlooks the sea. Breakfast is of high quality with variety every day and decent coffee. Movenpick ice cream is served within the hotel and is a must for ice cream lovers.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merih H, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Nevin A,
Thank you very much for taking time to comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay. We are happy to hear that you appreciated your stay, especially the very friendly staff, the breakfast and the location of the hotel.
Regarding the wifi connection; If you use an Apple device, because of their software and security issues, the internet connection drops out short time periods.
If your are not, Next time when you have a problem with anything please don't hesitate to call reception.
Your appreciation is a great motivation for us and we will be looking forward to hosting you again at your home in Izmir.

Kind Regards,
Merih Hasaltun Yumlu-PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

An excellent hotel. We had everything we wanted.All in all a very welcoming staff full of kindness and smiles.We did not ask for extras but they gave us everything like A wedding bed full of roses, extra sweets and champagne for our wedding anniversary. The men and the lady in the lobby were amazing and gave us lots of info and suggestions like the best Kebab house "Topcu" and an excursion to the ancent greek village "Cirince", a must see.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DIMITRIOS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merih H, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear DIMITRIOS1970,
Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir. Congratulations once again on your wedding anniversary. It is always a pleasure for us to get nice comments and we are really happy that you appreciate our efforts!
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime.
Kind regards,
Merih Hasaltun Yumlu-PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Moevenpick as part of a business delegation and was very impressed by this hotel. Izmir does not have a lot of high end hotels like Istanbul, which makes this hotel stand out.. It is probably the best option in Izmir in terms of location, cleanliness and level of service. The staff is very hospitable and the location cannot be better.. Its just a 1 minute walk to the waterfront where there are numerous restaurants and cafes.. The breakfast at the hotel is quite good actually. They also have a spa in the hotel but unfortunately I did not stay long enough to enjoy some of the other amenities offered by this hotel.. The rooms are quite modern.. Overall it is an excellent choice!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Aarij B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Aarij B,
Thank you for your nice remark about our location, cleanliness and service. We have forward your nice comments to staff and we work every day to make sure every guest experience is as great as yours was.

We hope see you next time in Izmir and in our Hotel,
Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel, with two twin rooms. The service was friendly, the rooms were tastefully furnished with everything you could expect. They were exceptionally quiet for such a large hotel. The location was excellent for all major sites.
Parking was organised by reception, they parked the car for us. We swam in their pool once, it was cold but fine if you kept swimming! They also had a sauna, steam and weights room.
Breakfast had lots of choices, you served yourself in a Buffett style, with tea and coffee being served by waiters.
We would definitely use the hotel again if returning to Izmir.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GaleB565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear GaleB565,
Thank you for choosing Mövenpick Hotel Izmir for your last stay in Izmir. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our services.
Looking forward to your soon return visit.
Best regards from Izmir,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We are currently staying at the Moevenpick Hotel, Izmir. The booking was a Travelocity Vacation Package that we booked two weeks in advance. Based on the reviews and pictures we booked 4 nights. Having stayed in a Hyatt for an entire year while remodeling our home in Massachusetts, we were hoping for a similar experience.

We asked for a seaview room in the reservation hoping that we would be assigned one on checkin. Arriving at he hotel after our BOS - JFK - IST - ADB marathon flight (pun intended), the bellman was extremely warm. The hotel lobby while not grand is respectable. We were given two small drinks while were were checking-in which turned out to be lemonade when we asked.

We inquired about a seaview room and were pleasantly surprised to hear that it would only be 8 euros more per night including breakfast (about $43 for 4 nights). Sounded great so far and we enthusiastically agreed to the added cost as $5 per breakfast and an upgrade seemed fair. As a side note the hotel is at low occupancy (basically empty, which is a little unsettling.)

The Swiss Magic ended there. The receptionist said that it would be 414 TL (about $200 for the 4 nights) and could he have our credit card as our hotel was prepaid. Okay so we misunderstood somehow and politely refused. So far so good. Unfortunately the receptionist must have been disappointed at our polite refusal. As it turned out, our punishment was a downgrade from the 9th floor (on our original registration form) to a small corner room on the second floor overlooking a street lamp and facing a high rise on a side street. Luckily the window is not large so the view is not too depressing.

As a veteran of 20 years on the road, this was a first. Is the room a five star, possibly although the bathroom/shower tub is barely wide enough to stand facing the shower head. Anyone 6 feet and above would not be able too. The complimentary water bottles, tea, and coffee are nice. The TV is basically a large monitor and the closet is the size of small cupboard.

We love traveling in Turkey and in Switzerland but find it difficult to love this hotel, especially the front desk. The Moevenpick will not be adding to the pleasure of our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Asiatravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Asiatravels1,
We greatly appreciate the time you spent to post a feedback about your recent stay. We deeply regret that some of our services and offers did not meet your expectations and satisfaction to make your holiday a completely successful one.
Regarding to your comment I want to inform you that all of our sea view rooms are executive and all our standard rooms have the same view. So it is not possible to downgrade. Our staff offered you an executive room but you refused the offer because of the price, so they gave you a standard room.
We regret to learn that you have been misunderstood about the price for an upgrade. But as you know 8 euros would not possibly meet the cost of the breakfast.
We hope, that we have the chance to host you in the near future again at our hotel and we will be glad to offer you the Turkish hospitality and Swiss quality.

Best regards,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the Moevenpick for just two nights at the start of a longer trip in Turkey. I regret we did not book more nights. The staff is incredibly cordial, and generous. We were upgraded to a suite with a lovely ocean view. We enjoyed the spa and the restaurant. I'm going to be missing that breakfast for some time (several different, fresh honeys and jams, cooked to order eggs, etc.). It's also easy access to the bayside avenue. If we launch another excursion from Izmir in the future, we will undoubtedly stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Justineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecIzm, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Justineau,
Thank you very much for your positive note about your recent stay at Mövenpick Hotel Izmir.
We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our spa, restaurant and breakfast. We appreciate all of your comments and hope to see you again in the near future.
Best reagrds,
Merih Hasaltun-PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#4 of 98 in Izmir
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 98 in Izmir
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Izmir

Address: Cumhuriyet Blv. 138, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range: £54 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Turkey's Leading Business Hotel" by World Travel Awards in 2011, 2014 and 2015, Movenpick Hotel Izmir is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance to business and shopping districts as well as the trade fair grounds. It is also, the ideal starting point for visiting local attractions such as world-famous Ephesus and the popular destinations of Kusadasi, Cesme and Bodrum. The 185 modern rooms, including 36 executive rooms and 17 suites, extend the highest levels of comfort for business travellers, and flaunt style with their special colour scheme, furniture design and modern decor. Margaux Restaurant is Izmir's choice for an early morning breakfast, sophisticated business lunches and intimate dining experiences from 6.30 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. Overlooking the beautiful bay and the twinkling city lights from the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir, Mistral Lounge Bar offers you the Izmir's most distinctive cocktails and widest selection of premium drinks in an elegant setting. The Coral Health Club, located on the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir with a breathtaking view of Izmir Bay, provides all the necessities for a healthy, active and fulfilling lifestyle from 7.00 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing