We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its about 10 pound taxi ride to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Its about 10 pound taxi ride to town”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Yes this is a nice hotel and the spa is great. I have not seen the rooms nor eaten there so can not comment. There is a small naval ship directly outside on the water but its not HUGE may take about an hour max to see. The store behiind the Plaza is called Ozdilek which has a supermarket on the ground floor which is great for water supplies etc and upstairs there is clothes and shoes etc they do sell Turksih towels/dressing gowns which are reasonabe- Not what I would call a mall!.. Electric eqiupment and alchohol is very very expensive due to high taxes on any goods not made in Turkey. Ozdelik has a shop in Stratford shopping centre in London too.

Just a little walk from the hotel there are roadside flower shops great, fresh and cheap.
There is a mall a short tax ride away but not what I would call walking distance. There are some restaurants just outside but you need to head into town for a real feel of Turkey. I travelled by taxi from town to about half way towards the Plaza and it cost about 6 UK pounds. Petrol is as expensive as UK so Taxi's are not cheap for long distance. Head in the Kemaralti (bazaar) BUT they are used to cruise ships coming in and the prices go up1. Near the Mosque there is fab restaurants for realy good local food as a realistic price

As the manager reads these forum and comments please can you confirm if you offer the (gym/Spa) mini bus to guests for a lift into town. You go every hour ad would be great for your guests. If not I would try to find another hotel further into town, but if you want to stay in a hotel and go out occassionally via taxi then its a nice place to stay. I lived in Izmir for 3 years!

Room Tip: facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkslasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for spending your precious time to write this review about our hotel.
You have described the hotel surrounding and city in detail, this will be a good tool for our future guests.
May we add the information that all hotel guests may benefit our free scheduled shuttle to/from airport and commercial city center Konak and Alsancak. This information is mentioned ; on our local web site, brochures & posters in guest rooms & public areas.
Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    213
    48
    15
    15
See reviews for
128
205
46
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
357 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

...and superb staff. They seem to care! I arrived early after an all night miserable flight and had a conference to attend. They made space for me within a few minutes. They waited an extra amount of time when a colleague arrived on a late flight and with missing luggage.

The spa is the best I've seen.

The place is popular for weddings.

I could just sit happily relaxing in front of the windows, watching the great view. Good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is great news that you had such a pleasant stay with us .
Your wonderful feedback will be shared with our front office team and SPA team members.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Izmir again.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We spent 5 days at the hotel, at the end of May. The weather was ok, but not as warm as one would expect (one whole day it was pouring). The hotel itself is nice and comfortable, with beautiful views. Rooms are spacious and nicely maintained but - as the hotel is whole is glass - windows cannot open, so no fresh air - only air conditioning. The breakfast is enjoyable, but other 5* hotels in Turkey serve greater variety. The staff could improve their English (apart from the reception desk) but are always helpful. The spa is very good but saunas and turkish bath are visited mainly by male guests, so a single woman might feel a bit 'lonely'. Transfers are organized to the airport and city centre (nothing particluar to see really) but you have to be carefull about the return transfer. The only negative comment is related to a freezing outdoor pool - could be heated up.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FUNDAB, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to hear that you had a very pleasant stay here at Crowne Plaza Izmir. Also we thank you for sparing time to write this review on tripadvisor.
We would like to underline that each guest comment is very important for us. Our management examines each guest questionnaire and review about the guest experiences.
Due to our modern architecture it is not possible to open the windows but fresh air is supplied to rooms through cooling & heating systems for 24 hrs.
Please kindly be informed that our breakfast buffet offers; 10 different types of hot-dishes, 38 different types of cold dishes, 8 different types of jam & honey , a diet corner composed of each breakfast component,14 different types of pastry, fresh fruit juices, seasonal fruits and A La Minute Omelet Station which is highly appreciated by our guests.
Concerning the English level of our staff; we would like to share our human resources policy related with the issue. Our HR Management pays high attention to the foreign language levels of the candidates during the job interviews but unfortunately it’s not always very easy to find the ones fulfilling our requirements; which is a general problem in our city. Depending on this our hotel has scheduled foreign language courses as a part of on job training program.
The SPA facilities are available between 05, 30-23, 00 hrs. and the usage frequency by male / female may change within day time. Please kindly be informed that we have 3 different saunas; Classic Sauna, Color Light Sauna and Steam Sauna and Classic Sauna is offering service only for ladies. Three pools are available for our guests; outdoor pool, indoor pool and thermal pool. Indoor pool is heated and hot thermal water is used for thermal pool. Our outdoor pool is seasonal & not heated and water temperature is dependent to sun rays.
I would like to thank you once more for your preference & looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards
Funda BEZIRCILIOGLU
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel is a mirrored tower connected to a big store close to the bay. Featuring a battleship and submarine in front. Don't know where and how far Izmir actually is away from the hotel. Around the hotel is a university campus the mentioned store and lots of Turkish bars and restaurants. The hotel staff is friendly the hotel offers the usual crown plaza standard, has free wifi at the whole property and a nice spa and gym. Only strange thing in the room is the iron board attached to the wall next to the bed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FUNDAB, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Izmir,
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your personal experience. As a response to your question ‘’ Where am I’’ we will be pleased to give more information about our location; our hotel is situated 10 km. away from the commercial center of city, Konak. The area where we located in ‘’Inciraltı‘’ is very popular with its natural beauties. As you have mentioned there is a navy museum, big shopping malls, restaurants and bars. In addition our location gives guests the opportunity of easy access to city center, airport, industrial & commercial centers, ancient cities and resort towns.
As an award winning Crowne Plaza hotel we are happy to learn you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are the winner of 2011 ''Torchbearer Hotel'' Award, 2010 ''Quality Excellence'' Award and 2009 ''Torchbearer Hotel'' Award which is given by Intercontinental Hotels Group.
Our hotel facilities, services and rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of guests travelling for business & pleasure purposes. Facilities like free Wi-Fi and iron - ironing board & trouser press (which is a available in all Crowne Plaza Hotels ) are especially needful for guests travelling for business.
It’s so nice to hear that you liked our SPA center offering many facilities; outdoor pool (seasonal),indoor pool, thermal pool & jacuzzi, saunas, Turkish bath etc. Also a wide range of massage & beauty treatments are offered by professionals in SPA.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highfields, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights stay at the Crowne Plaza. It's an easy building to spot from a distance - being blue, circular and about 20 stories high it stands out on the horizon. Its location, about 10 km from the centre of Izmir, suited us very well. After an excellent breakfast (probably the best we had in our travels around Turkey) we would go out for the whole day and then come back to dinner at one of the nearby fish restaurants, before going back to the hotel for a very comfortable nights rest. We ate in the hotel just one evening - as only a buffet was available in the dining room. There was al a carte in the Garden Bar, and this was Ok. This hotel provides a good base for visiting Ephesus, Pergamon and the like - and the regular shuttle bus service made it easy to go into Izmir. The staff were helpful and the service was good. The spa facilities looked terrific, sadly I just never made time to go back and actually try them out.

Apart from the string of fish restaurants and a very conveniently located large supermarket just behind the hotel, there is not too much else in the area. Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The large windows gave us panoramic views across the gulf.

Room Tip: We had a king sea view room on the 10th floor. This was comfortable, spacious and quiet. The view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian_QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FUNDAB, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you for taking your time to write this positive review . We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Crowne Plaza Izmir.
Your compliments about our buffet breakfast will be shared with the Food & Beverage team.
We are surrounded by a beautiful nature and in addition to the natural beauties big shopping malls, restaurants & clubs are minutes away. All these give our guests the chance to breathe the local atmosphere.
As you mentioned we are not in the heart of city but our location gives the opportunity to reach commercial & industrial areas and ancient cities via auto route easily. And scheduled free shuttle bus service offers guests an efficient & quick route to/from city center and airport. We are pleased to hear that our staff were able to assist you in making your stay an enjoyable experience. We hope you may have a chance to benefit our SPA services in the near future. Guest rooms are designed for your utmost comfort and thanks to the floor to ceiling windows each offer a panoramic view & spacious atmosphere.
Thank you and we very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to Izmir.
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 5 days while I was attending a conference in Izmir. It was an amazing experience. The single room was really spacious, with a great view of the sea and the mountain. The washroom was very spacious, too. All was very clean. The breakfast is to die for, with a great selection of cheeses and other vegetarian options. The room service menu is very vast and it also has ample vegetarian options - the salads are great. The prices are very accessible. The spa facilities are well worth a visit. You can pamper yourself there for sure. Be sure to take advantage of the free airport shuttle that the hotel offers to and from the airport, just make sure that you don't have to be at the airport before 6.30 am. Make sure to let them know when you're arriving, as well. I definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FUNDAB, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Warm greetings from Crowne Plaza Izmir.
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased you had a pleasant experience with us.
It is through feedback such as yours that we work to maintain the level of service and quality provided by the hotel to ensure every guest stay is an enjoyable one.
Thanks to our unique location our rooms offer the most beautiful city & nature views through their floor-to-ceiling windows.
Your review about room cleanliness will be shared with the Housekeeping team.
Our opulent breakfast buffet is prepared to meet each guest expectation and your nice compliments about breakfast buffet and room service menu items will be shared with the Food and Beverage team.
Our SPA center is designed to make all our guests pamper themselves- business travelers or the ones travelling for vacation purposes- and seize the chance to restore, revive & replenish with a unique menu of international massage & beauty treatments. Accommodating guests may benefit complimentary SPA facilities like indoor & outdoor swimming pools, thermal pool & jacuzzi, Turkish Bath, sauna, steam bath, aroma therapy rooms and fitness center.
It is so good to have such reviews showing us that we have maintained our target.
Thank you for highlighting our free scheduled shuttle service procedure (to/from airport , points in the city), this will be good tip for our future guests planning a trip to Izmir.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This really is an excellent hotel. The room I had was on a high floor and the bedrooms have wall to ceiling glass windows. The view over the bay was really beautiful. The room was large and well-equipped with wi-fi and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was probably the best I have seen in a hotel with a huge choice of food and many turkish options. The resident chef will cook almost anything you want on the spot. If on holiday and looking for a place to fill up for the day, this is the place to be.

The spa and health club are outstanding and is a great place to chill out after a days business.

The staff are excellent and the staff in the breakfast room really look after the guests. Some hotels I've stayed in could learn a lesson from this hotel.

The downside is that it is very far from anywhere and a long way from the centre of Izmir. It is great for a business trip if you are being picked-up and dropped-off. There is a shuttle service to Izmir Airport which is an advantage for business travellers. If you want to be near a city centre then this is not the place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FUNDAB, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your support and kind feedback. Your positive reviews about room, food service and SPA will be shared with the teams. Such encouraging feedbacks like yours make us happy and show us that we maintain high quality of service and ensure every guest stay is an enjoyable one. Related with the free scheduled shuttle services that we offer; please let us kindly remind you that additional to the airport transfer service, we also offer free scheduled transfer service to/from city center which is explained in our flyers in detail by mentioning the departure points and hours.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Izmir.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
5.7 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 97 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
5.7 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
5.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Izmir Bayrakli
5.7 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
5.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#3 of 97 in Izmir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek

Property: Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
Address: Inciralti Mah, Inciralti Cad, No:67 | Balcova, Izmir 35340, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Izmir
#2 Spa Hotel in Izmir
#2 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
#4 Business Hotel in Izmir
#5 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a member of Wyndham Hotels & Resorts chain, Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek offers privileges and advantages of distinguished location embracing sea & city to guests travelling for business or leisure purposes and meeting delegates with five star hotel quality. Hotel is close to recreation area with shopping malls, restaurants, cafes and military museum ship. Proximity to motorway for International Adnan Menderes Airport, Gaziemir Fair Complex, industrial zones including Aegean Free Zone, Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary makes the Hotel' s location excellent. Scheduled free shuttle service to/from airport & different points in city,internet and free parking are available. Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek's deluxe guest rooms; standard, club, connecting rooms and suites offer sea & mountain view, wireless high speed internet access in addition to luxurious comfort as expected from an international chain hotel.Club Lounge presents special complimentary services to suite & club room guests at a private floor devoted for lounge.SPA & Wellness Center offers free of charge services for guests; indoor& outdoor pools, jacuzzi, Turkish Bath, sauna, steam bath, aroma therapy rooms & fitness center usage.Beauty , body care & massage services are available. Meetings, events and banquet organizations are well catered at high-tech indoor venues with daylight outdoor venues. Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek serves exclusive tastes at 2 restaurants & 3 bars distinctively designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Izmir Hotel Izmir
Izmir Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing