We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karaca Otel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karaca Otel
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A disappointing hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

I must disagree with reviewers. This hotel was run down, with dirty carpets and dreary rooms. My Turkish colleague had to change her room because of noise. The breakfast was good but the restaurant was average in quality and overpriced. The road was torn up in front of the hotel. Most important, the head staff person at the front desk was rude and aggressive and attempted to intimidate us on more than one occasion. As a result, I've advised friends to avoid this hotel when traveling to Izmir.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wistyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karaca, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Karaca Otel, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Dear Our Guest,
We are very sorry to read your commend.
*Our carpets can't be dirty , we clean them regularly and we must keep the cleaning reports on ISO 9001 Quality Management System. Your room's carpet can be old. We could't renovate all the room's carpets , few of them are old. But We are renovating them all.
*You complained about noise. That noise was for the road works.The Road work was a better road for our guests. and it is completed now.
*If you had informed us about difficulties during your stay, we could have done anything to correct the situation.

If only we could have a chance to explain you our hotel's understanding of unconditional guest satisfaction.

King Regards
Karaca Otel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    52
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
38
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Generally a good hotel, good service, very close to the beachfront. It's also handy for transfers in bus to the airport, as they offer a free shuttle and, in the middle of the night, you can take tha Havas bus just 200m off the hotel entrance.
Rooms are not very well sound-insulated, as we could hear conversations from people in nearby rooms.
Early departure so no comment on breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel_osorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

From outside, Karaca Hotel is only a centrally located, modest 3 or 3.5 star hotel.

It all starts to change, however, when you enter and check in. Everybody, from the receptionist to the bellboy, have a very warm attitude, and try to please you as much as they can. And when you show up the second, or third time at their hotel, they are even more friendly and hospitable.

The rooms are large and clean, but the breakfast selection needs a bit of improvement.

Another positive thing about Karaca Hotel's location is that it is only 50 mt. from Havas shuttle services to Adnan Menderes Airport. For those travellers like myself, who usually fly from Istanbul to Izmir frequently, this location is a bliss.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gezgin_dromedary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed here as a base for day trips to Ephesus and Pamukkale. The room was rather large and the hotel was very clean. There was a good spread for the free breakfast with many different varieties of food. The hotel also gives free passes to the movie cinema next door.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacainVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed at the Karaca Hotel for 3 nights, mainly using the hotel as a good base to travel to Ephesus, Pergama and finally Cesme.

The hotel is clean, professional and well-kept. The rooms are spacious, and done up adequately. Breakfast is a decent spread too. We appreciate the hotel keeping our room ready, complete with fresh fruits and chocolates.

The reception is helpful with all the information that you made need for your stay. The Havas bus stops just outside the Hotel lane, making it very convenient to reach the airport.

There are lots of eating joints in the lane of the hotel and just a 5-7 minute walk to the waterfront and max a 10-15 minute walk to the Konak Square.

The biggest plus of this hotel is the location, being situated between the Hilton (skyscraper) and the Swissotel. As a first time tourist, you can spot the Hilton from miles (as there are just a handfull of skyscrapers in Izmir), making in convenient to use the local efficient bus system, and getting off at the spot u feel is closest to your hotel. Even walking around, exploring the place on foot, becomes very east with the "Hilton" landmark!

To sum it up - it was a great location and a comfortable hotel - very professional. No complaints or regrets whatsoever!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jigiindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2006

I was a football referee at the 2005 Universiade in Izmir.

All the referees stayed at Otel Karaca.

The staff were friendly ans helpful and the rooms and decour tasteful.
There was a restaurant attached, which serves very good food.
There is also a number of places to dine right near this hotel in the same street.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank Staples1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#6 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
1.1 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#10 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaca Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaca Otel

Property: Karaca Otel
Address: Sevket Ozcelik Sokak Sevgi Yolu No:55 Alsancak, Izmir 35560, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Karaca Otel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Izmir and just 400m from Kordon seafront, this 4-star hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free private parking. Restored in classical style, the hotel is a 5-minute walk from Cumhuriyet Square.Rooms at Karaca have classical-style furnishings and include air conditioning and cable TV. Most rooms have balconies offering views of the gardens.Karaca serves a large buffet breakfast. Weekday lunches, both Turkish and international, can be enjoyed at the à la carte La Campana restaurant, which also has a large TV. Karaca Bar offers drinks in front of the fireplace and cookies with tea.The hotel also includes an on-site cinema room where the latest movies are shown free of charge. Ramps are available for disabled guests, and there are no door sills. A sauna, fitness centre and a massage room are available at the small spa facilities.Free two-way shuttle service to the hotel from Izmir Adnan Menderes Airport is available everyday except Sundays and public holidays. Please inform Karaca Hotel in advance if you want to use this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Karaca Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing