We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding value”
Review of Hotel Baylan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Baylan
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“outstanding value”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Fully renovated (I stayed here before the renos, night and day difference) and great value for the money compared to other Izmir hotels (the Park Hotel used be my favourite in Izmir, but the rooms are smaller and lately the price higher). This year two visits and my wife and I stayed in both of the suites, Agora and Kale. Kale is brilliant - separate bedroom and living room, huge terrace with evening shade, worth every lira (one possible drawback - the elevator does not go to the top floor where the two suites are located).

Room Tip: Kale suite is worth the lira
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank canuck_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    74
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
59
26
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed in Baylan for 3 nights, 2 in terrace room and 1 in standard room. This hotel is absolutely perfect with its cleanliness, warm staff and amazing terrace room. As we entered the room, a plate of fruits were served. Rooms are spacious and everything you may need are available. I think this Hotel's manager team is very experienced, wide-scoped as they operate a 4-5 star hotel. Hotel has its own car park Place and 24 your security. It's very close to train station and subway. It takes half and hour by İzban. After you get on İzban in airport, 10 stops later you'll arrive to Halkapinar. Get off there and pass to
Metro line towards Basmane. There's a mosque at the left side of Basmane station and the hotel is in the street just opposite the mosque. Before we left the hotel we decided to rent a car and asked the reception. They find the best car with a good price that matches our expectations. Breakfasts were also great with wide variety of choices. High Speed Wireless connection was available in rooms thanks to access points in all floors. Also there's a Free computer for guests in the ground floor. I've to mention about the terrace room; it's amazing! We stayed at Kale room, which views the Castle. Castle view may not be interesting but city lights at night and cool wind makes you feel relaxed while you're drinking your tea on a deckchair at your private place. Briefly, we got much more than we expected and Hotel Baylan Basmane is a hidden gem with its comfort, staff and price. I hope they keep their standards and continue to be the best option to stay in İzmir for us.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Eresin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This place was like a breath of fresh air after the other budget places we had been staying at. Yes the rooms are quite small, but still bigger than what we had in Istanbul, however the fact that everything is brand new and modern makes up for the lack of space. There is something about a freshly decorated place that just feels so much cleaner. We enjoyed the walks to the sights and the waterfront for dinner each night and the complimentary fruit platter was a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The hotel is situated very close to the Basmani station, in an area which does not look very promising - but in fact it is a hidden gem. It is quiet, well-kept, and very comfortable.
We stayed in the suite at the top of the hotel, which had a roof terrace and two very big rooms but was surprisingly cheap.
The staff were all extremely helpful and spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank BookwormOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I was only staying 1 night in Izmir in order to catch an early train the next day, so I was just after a cheap hotel. After arriving I now wish I had stayed another night or two as this has simply been the nicest hotel (and the cheapest!) of my trip. The hotel is modern, extremely clean and the room I had was fantastic - minibar and tea and coffee making facilitiies included! OK, the view from the window wasn't the best, but everything else about this hotel is simply surprisingly good given the price. Breakfast was reasonable selection of hot and cold items - all very typical.

Don't be put off by the location, it's just a short walk from Basmane station and the area is not quite as dodgy as some reviews had led me to believe. The only real downside to the location is that it is quite far from the interesting parts of town.

And finally, the staff here were absolutely brilliant. They carried my bags into the hotel for me and up to the room. There always seemed to be about 4 members of staff milling about in the reception/bar/loung area and on the morning I left they even gave me a lift to Alsancak sttation for free - saving me a taxi fare!

If I'm in Izmir again, I shall definitely be going straight to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank TheLordMayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

It is a clean, quiet, and comfortable hotel in Izmir. Friendly to foreigners. Location is supposed not to be so good, but its in the historical center. Rooms are great, we didnt expect that, and breakfast is really big!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank cathpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karsiyaka, TRNC
Level 6 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I visited Izmir with my husband in December 2010 staying at the 5* Moevenpick which we enjoyed but honestly did not think it was that fantastic at £100 per night. When some friends and I decided on a short, last minute trip I was just looking for a reasonable, budget hotel and having read some reviews on another site we booked the Baylan. Well, what a great surprise this hotel turned out to be. The service was excellent right from the start when I emailed them to arrange an airport transfer at 11pm at night (50TL). The staff came out to meet us and take our luggage and we were provided with a tourist map each and a business card with all the hotel's contact details which came in handy when getting taxis. The hotel has obviously been recently refurbished and is very clean and comfortable. We had a triple room which was large with a nice, modern bathroom. Lots of boiling hot water with a very high pressure shower. There was complementary fruit in our room. Breakfast was included and was more than adequate and plentiful. The hotel has its own car park and a lovely outside terrace area with a bar which would be lovely when the weather is warmer.

The area where the hotel is located is pretty central and although it is quite shabby myself and my two female friends did not feel in any way unsafe even when we went out to eat after midnight on our first night (although we are used to the Turkish culture).

I cannot praise the hotel staff highly enough. They were so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help us when our return flight home was cancelled by the airline.

If you are looking for a very reasonably priced hotel for a couple of nights stay in Izmir then Hotel Baylan has everything you need for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank cyprusjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.1 mi away
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
#23 of 97 in Izmir
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#4 of 97 in Izmir
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#11 of 97 in Izmir
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tempo Residence Comfort
0.6 mi away
Marla Hotel
Marla Hotel
#42 of 97 in Izmir
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baylan

Property: Hotel Baylan
Address: Anafartalar Cad. 1299 Sok. 8 | Basmane, Izmir 35240, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baylan 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Baylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing