We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated, but still a good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Izmir Palas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Izmir Palas
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A bit dated, but still a good place to stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2006

The staff think this is a top hotel and make sure you know it! But they are helpful and will unbend with a little conversation. Make sure you get a room overlooking the sea, it a superb view, and any spare time can be frittered away on your balcony watching the little ferries and the sparkling sea. The other side of the hotel overlooks a busy road. We had a good sized room on the 7th floor, with comfortable beds, and plenty of space, and never heard a thing through the walls from other rooms. The bathroom was beginning to show its age, with a noisy shower and lots of glugging when emptying the bath, but there was plenty of hot water and it was spotlessly clean. Also an extra feature of a speaker under the sink so you could keep up with your TV show whilst in the bath, and an extension telephone too!
Buffet breakfast was OK, with a good varied choice, though the coffee was disappointing.There are plenty of good restaurants and cafes on the sea front promenade right outside. We didn't try the hotel restaurant, but it was clearly popular with the locals.
Yes, we would stay there again.

  • Liked — Great view
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travelyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    57
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
17
30
13
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2006

Really enjoyed our stay at Izmir Palas. Great location, with lots of good restaurants nearby. Overlooks the harbor and the promenade. Staff was exceptionally accommodating and responded to every request. Internet in the rooms was not available, but free in the lobby with log on to the hotel's wireless network. We used Izmir as a base to tour Efesus and the coastal towns as far south a Bodrum. Had a great time in the area.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank sterb131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 April 2006

This is a nice hotel in a great location. The room was nice, clean, and had satelite TV with several english channels. They also had free onsite internet, a big plus in a city without very many net cafes.

The staff was not very friendly, however. And given the cost, I would say you can save a lot of money without sacrificing a lot in quality.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 February 2006

The Izmir Palas has a great location, near the city center and a great view of beautiful Izmir Bay. I just think it is a little pricey for the time of year that I was there. $100.00 for city view and $115.00 for the sea view. I think that $85.00 for the city view and $100.00 for the sea view would have been more fair. The staff was professional and very courteous.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2005

The Izmir Palas has seen better days as it is a little tired

The location is great and the sea views fantastic but it is in need of refurbishment

The room was tidy and comfortable and there is certainly nothing in the hotel to complain about

Not knowing the layout of the city we chose the hotel to be close to the waterfront and restaurants

I think the Ege Palas is probably a better option (but at a higher price point )

Helpful?
9 Thank GRNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Izmir hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.4 mi away
Ege Palas
Ege Palas
#18 of 96 in Izmir
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond Hotel
Beyond Hotel
#36 of 96 in Izmir
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kordon Hotel Pasaport
Kordon Hotel Pasaport
#25 of 96 in Izmir
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zeniva Hotel
Zeniva Hotel
#26 of 96 in Izmir
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilim Hotel
Kilim Hotel
#46 of 96 in Izmir
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Izmir Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Izmir Palas

Property: Hotel Izmir Palas
Address: Kultur Mh., Ataturk Caddesi 188, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Izmir Palas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Izmir Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palas Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing