We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly”

Kizlaragasi Han Bazaar
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$250.56*
and up
Izmir City Tour with Kordonboyu Republic Square, Konak Square, Clock Tower...
Ranked #2 of 43 Shopping in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“smelly”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Smelly place in a good way... all oriental food smells, many people, shopping area... the sad thign is that as soon they smell you a foreigner prices grows . If you have a turk friend you can shop much cheaper everything. probably is not related just to izmir i saw same thing in istanbul must be an oriental behaviour. As advice i bought things ONLY where the prices are written. No prices ... then run away! It works with anything including restaurants etc..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Radu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    72
    13
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Tourist trap selling poor quality goods”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We made a day trip to Izmir for the first time from our holiday base (Gumuldur) on the coast. We had read about what a must see the Kizlaragasi Han Bazaar was if one was visiting Izmir. However, from our experience we have a greatly different opinion of the place.

Yes there were a few interesting shops but many were either catering to the local Turkish market - wedding dresses and cooking implements or just selling really poor quality goods to whoever would buy them. I was searching for a leather handbag for a gift and after walking around for a few hours, all I could find was the same cheap imitation leather bags in all the stalls! Most of the souvenirs that we saw were of the nasty variety with a distinct lack of authentic local handicrafts.

In the centre area of the bazaar is an interesting looking eating area with ample seating in the middle. The largest doner kebab I have ever seen roasted horizontally in front of hot coals. We were drawn by the irresistable smells wafting through the air.

However, that's where the positive experience ended. The portions were stingy and the prices astronomical for local conditions. A plate of doner meat with some rice costed more than we pay in Germany ! With no menu and no advertised prices, it makes me think that they had one price for locals and one for tourists.

If you do go here, don't expect too much if you are looking for an 'authentic' experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank OzFFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“local bazaar”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Interesting place to see locals shopping, eating, having a drink or going to pray. Just get yourself lost in the maze of alleys and observe.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dbeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
158 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Little brother to Istanbul's Grand Bazaar”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just less flashy. Carpets, clothes, small things to give as presents, tourist-y stuff - all ina closed building (with a nice atrium too).

Recommended for the vibe and experience, NOT if you have been to IStanbul already.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SpirosK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Too much pestering”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I generally love haggling in bazaars but found this too much "in your face". Not many of the sellers were going to budge on the price. Couldn't wait to get out and into some decent shops. Istanbul's bazaar is much better and their sellers are much more fun to haggle with.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank foodiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kizlaragasi Han Bazaar also viewed

Izmir, Izmir Province
 

Been to Kizlaragasi Han Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing