We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice city hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Izmir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very nice city hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The location is fantastic. It's in the most lively and central location of Izmir. Hitlon and Swissotel are just in front. But this hotel is brand new compared to these two and the rooms are very nice decorated. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It's a young generation city hotel where you can see a DJ playing in the evening hours in the loby. Breakfast in the roof restaurant was also more than my expectation.

Room Tip: Try to prefer upper floors not be close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HED81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeAssaf, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear HED81,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor; you certainly have an eye for details and I have enjoyed reading your description to the hotel and the services we provided.

I am glad to see that we have lived up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Izmir.

Thank you very much,
Sincerely,

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    66
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
41
91
20
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very nice hotel in the heart of Izmir. Rooms very large with every comfort inside. The service is perfect, relaxing SPA and well equipped Gym. You can have breakfast/lunch/dinner in an amazing place in the 8th floor (the last one) with a lovely scenario and fresh air to take.
Great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeAssaf, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Francesco V,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your review is like music to my ears :).

We appreciate your feedback and description to our property and I am very delighted to see that your stay was satisfactory.

your comments are very valuable and we already shared them with our team.

Thank you for choosing Renaissance and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Izmir

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmaris
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We found check in efficient. We were upgraded to a junior suite form a club room and that obviously set the tone. I thought that the Renaissance was a really good quality 5 star city hotel. The dining experience was excellent, the food was very good but the drinks were expensive. I did think that the 'club room' was not well done and I think that some serious re arranging of the ground floor is required.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandTitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeAssaf, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Chris and Titch,

Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay at the Renaissance Izmir Hotel.

I appreciate your feedback about hotel and services and I am very delighted to see that we have lived up to your expectation.

Your comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for improvement and encouragement.

Thank you for choosing Renaissance and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in your future visits to Izmir.

Sincerely yours.

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent a night there while traveling down the Aegean Coast. We arrived around 11, so the hotel was already pretty quiet, but we found the next morning that it's located right next to a walk along the sea filled with tasty breakfast options. The room itself was fantastic - comfortable and didn't feel like a generic hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, and free valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelHinchliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear MichaelHinchliffe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review after your recent stay at the Renaissance Izmir Hotel.
We are very pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay. Please note that your ratings and comments are very important for us and are shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

Mr. MichaelHinchliffe, again thank you for choosing Renaissance and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Izmir.

Sincerely,

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The first floor was below standard: check-in took too long; no one was tending the cafe; lounge too noisy. Everything past the first floor was excellent.

It literally took 20 minutes to check in, and that's AFTER we arrived at the reception desk; well below Rennaissance standards. In other words, we waited in a small line (not counted in the 20 minutes) and when it was finally our turn to check-in, it took 20 minutes to complete the check-in at the desk and obtain a room. They have very few efficiencies in their check-in procedures, and while this may be acceptable to people from other nations, it is poor showing for Americans who are always in a hurry. In other words, the amount of time and steps one must undertake to complete the check-in procedures will waste your time.

Location of their lounge is on the first floor, adjacent to the reception lobby with no wall or barrier between them, and was very noisy and too busy to relax. Too noisy and busy to enjoy the lounge, so we didn't stay in the lounge very long.

They have a cafe across from the reception desk on the first floor and when we arrived no one was working there, so us, along with other guests that arrived a few minutes after us, assumed it was a help-yourself cafe. So we made our own cups of tea or coffee. The next day, we saw someone tending the cafe, so our assumption (and that of the other guests) was that it was a help-yourself, when in fact, it is not. You'll need to relax at the cafe while one member of your party spends 20 minutes checking you in at the reception desk.

Very friendly staff. Excellent restaurant on top floor, with a great view and breakfast buffet. The restaurant service was exceptional; the wait- staff were most accommodating and extremely friendly. Room was nice/Renaissance quality.

15 min walk to the clock tower, shopping area, good restaurants, pier, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C130driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear C130driver,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and please accept my sincere apologies regarding the inconvenience that you experienced in our lobby.

I would like to inform you that that after reviewing your comments, I have met with my operations managers and discussed your issues to improve our processes and consistency of Check IN speed, and Lobby attendance. I fully understand your disapointment and please note that this inconvenience was an exception and not our standard.

I would like to also thank you for the nice comments you made about our staff and their hospitality skills; I am glad to learn that we have liked our rooms and the restaurant and will be glad to share your comments with the team.

Again my apologies for this inconvenience and thank you for choosing Renaissance and look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Izmir.

Yours sincerely,

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I visited renaissance izmir hotel recently with my husband. The hotel was beyond our expectations, starting from our welcome drinks to the final check-out, everything for phenomenal. Highly courteous staff and excellent service. A must Recommended hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RamalAsadKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mrs. RamalAsadKhan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I love your note, It is such a pleasure to read and learn that we have lived up to your expectations, comments like these are encouraging us to do more and makes us very proud of our hotel and team.

Your review is very valuable to us and we have shared it with the entire team.

Again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back very shortly.

Kind regards

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance Marriott at Izmir and right from check-in to check-out, the staff was extremely helpful. The room was large and contemporary, in line with most designs of 2014. The spa/massage experience was amongst the best we have had.

The breakfast spread was exceptional. The chef was able to accommodate our children's needs with a smile and being vegetarians, dinner was also customized by the chef.

We even landed up extending our stay here just because of the hotel's experience.

Overall, I would recommend this property in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vshah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear "vshah3",

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; I have enjoyed reading your description and appreciate your feedback about the hotel, SPA, Breakfast, staff and the services we provided.

Please note that your opinion is very important for us and your review is shared with our team. I am glad to see that we have lived up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Izmir.

Many thanks again
Sincerely,

George Assaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.1 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#6 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.3 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 96 in Izmir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Izmir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Izmir Hotel

Property: Renaissance Izmir Hotel
Address: Akdeniz Mah. Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 16 | Alsancak, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Izmir Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Izmir Hotel is a metropolis in the Anatolian part of Turkey and a popular destination for its Mediterranean climate. Renaissance(R) Izmir Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Izmir's commercial district, steps from the water front, the Kordon Promenade. You cannot miss the charming outside facade of the hotel when you are in Gaziosmanpasa Boulevard. Renaissance Hotel is the signature lifestyle brand within the Marriott International family. The 110 large and sophisticated guestrooms boast luxury bedding and the latest technologies. Luxury bathrooms feature spacious shower with a traditional Bathing Basin, "Kurna." All-day dining restaurant serving Mediterranean delights is located on the rooftop and the terrace offering sweeping views of Izmir Bay. Leisure facilities include a fitness, spa, Turkish Hammam and plunge pool. This hotel in Izmir is designed to meet most demanding requirements of today's travelers and meeting organizers with 2,130 square feet of meeting space and a dedicated business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Izmir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing