We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few minor problems but still an excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrrived late to the hotel. If you are driving Google directins or GPS highly recommended due to many no left turns, roundabouts, one ways around the hotel. Hotel has complimentay valet parking. Check-in from the doorman to the front desk was very smooth. -Cookies were provided- There was no HHonors upgrade but I think the hotel was full. The room was standart but new. AC worked great. There was no bathtub. Two problems happened: 1) Shower had only hot water. Something was wrong with the shower unit. It was fixed under 10 minutes
2) There was no roll aeay bed in our room, nor extra towels etc for my daughter. However this issue was also handled under 5 minutes.
Breakfast was superb. Panini / toasted sandwich station was my favorite. Breakfast staff, especially the waiters were excellent. They paid special attention to our small requests but the small differences make the big difference. special recommendation to the breakfast crew.
There is a very small but cool roof pool, next to a roof bar. Next to the pool, there are changing rooms and extra towels provided. Overall, it was an excellent stay

Room Tip: Rooms that have view of Izmir bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank borwukNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookie719, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Mr. Borwuk,

Thank you for your kind comments. We appriciate your loyalty. We would like to show our hospitability as soon as possible.

Kind Regards,

Elvan Çekirge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Hotel has been renovated and improved.
Welcoming you by traditional cookies.Hotel itself is quit clean and modern with classic lobby and full city view at the high floors,good location and easy shopping access,but small rooms and not well trained staff,also nothing spacial and no entertainment.it's good for short stay

Room Tip: Top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hamed r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookie719, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Mr. Hamed,

Initially thank you for sharing of your overall experience about Double Tree by Hilton Izmir/Alsancak. Furthermore, we appriciate for your loyalty to our Hotel.Due to the fact that your satisfaction is our core value,we will submit an examination of your views to the relevant deparment in order to improve our service quality. For your next visit we hope that you will feel more comfortable and feel as in your home.

Kind Regards,

Elvan Çekirge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is located within a few hundred meters of the seaside promenade. The room we stayed in had a very large and comfortable bed. Several English TV channels. We had fresh fruit in our room and bottle of water on arrival. As we checked in, the staff at the hotel did not help us with our bags until it was realized our room wasn't ready and then the stored our bags for an hour. We asked for a map of the area and they had no maps. The bellman ran into the office and printed our a Google map of the immediate area. They had no tourist information. When we asked how to get to the Agora, we were told it was 20 kilometers away and we would need a taxi. Well, the Agora ruins were about 1.5 kilometers away and an easy walk. We asked about restaurants in the area and they told us they could only recommend their onsite restaurant. We had dirty towels in our room that looked used. Housekeeping did quickly replace them. We were on the top guest floor under the restaurant and due to dinner parties we had a lot of what sounded like chairs dragging across the floor until midnight. When we checked out no one helped us with our bags and we asked for a taxi and the reception staff told us to go outside and find one. I am a Hilton Honors member as is my husband and we cannot believe that this is a Hilton family hotel. The dirty towels and terrible customer service - with little local knowledge and without guest services like information, recommendations and even maps - well, I suggest that Hilton consider letting this hotel go. It simply does not live to the Hilton brand...even with a comfortable bed and a great view from our room. I would not stay here again as there were a lot of other options in the area in the same class of hotel. We stayed out of loyalty to a brand.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room under the restaurant/banquet/party rooms. It is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear lmykle,

Thank you choosing of Double Tree by Hilton. Initially, we would like to apologize for unconfience situation.As your satisfaciton is our core value, we will deal with the problems relevant deparments as soon as possible.

We would like see you in our Hilton family again.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Double Tree Hotel by Hilton in Izmir Turkey is an exhellent hotel for families. It is very well situated in the center of Izmir and within walking distance of most sights. It is clean and wellcared for. Room service is very good and breakfast and meals are exhellent. The personnel is very friendly and the hotel manager is really friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _13_741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable comment. We would like to see in our Hilton family again.


Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

CONS:
- Health club, 24/7
- rooftop swimming pool, is not big, but very pleasant and quiet.
- Shower water temperature, constante temperature
- Air conditioner in the bedroom, very efficient and silent
- Internet available, free and fair speed
- Location, just a short walk away to city center, the bazar, exhibition center and seaside, etc.
- Carpark available and free
- Restaurants and bars. Good quality food with a turkish touch. And the Rooftop bar is a very pleasant place to relax.
- Amenities available in the toilet
- Amenities in the room, despite the paid minibar, free water bottle available.
- Room size. I stayed on one of the biggest rooms on the floor,(check blueprint picture attached). So I can´t complain about the size of the room.
- Towels in the bathroom. I like big towels and the towels available, are not the biggest ever, but very decent size.
- Price value
- Breakfast is very reasonable with a wide sellection of cold and hot food.


PROS:
- The downside of my stay was the check-in. It was the coldest check-in I ever experienced. I asked for some information regarding the open hours of fitness center and swimming pool, and the information I got from the gentleman on the reception was totally wrong. I found that later. Also I didn´t get my welcome cookie as usual on Double Trees Hotels, and I saw other guest with that. And I´ma HHonors member, I wasn´t received as one, even after showed my member card.


TO BE IMPROVED:
- Tv channels available, not much english channels and the signal fails quite often.
- General cleanness. Reporting this can be tricky, I can´t say the hotel in general was not clean, but two small details forces me to put this as a improving issue. Both details were in my room, I fond when I enter to the room for the first time a little piece of plastic on the floor and a smashed bug close to the bed on the wall. The plastic piece disappear on the second day, the smashed bug stayed during all my stay (5 days) check pictures attached.
- During my stay at night Izmir were little windy. All night I could hear the whistling wind on the corridor and under the door of my room. I guess this can be improved.
- Staff don´t speak english very well. In fact some of them almost don´t speak. I had some situations where was difficult to communicate with the people of the restaurant and bar.


DO I WILL RETURN?
Yes, can happen!


TAXI COST FROM/TO AIRPORT:
- Between 50 and 60 Turkish liras, roughly 20€

EXTRA NOTE:
- All week the hotel hold some events, every night a different one. I understand the Hotel have to make money, but this can disturb the guests, such on car parks, is small with limited places to park cars, easily can be full with just a few persons from the events. Also the "traffic jam" on the elevators, despite the 3 elevators available, easily a guest can be waiting several minutes for a free elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Mr. Henrique ,

First of all, thank you for your kindly comment but also for the hotel explanations. We will cope with to be mentioned problems by informing relevant departments. We would like to see you in hilton family again.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After staying with the Hilton Group before, I was disappointed with this property, despite in being relatively new. Welcome on arrival was good, a nice warm cookie, rooms were small, and the low ceilings made it more so small.
Bed was comfortable, windows opened, which is great. Carpet was stained ad not much room for luggage.
Dinner and brekkie buffet was great but beverage service in the evening and morning was average.
We had a long day on the road, and we were tired. It would be beneficial to put them through a Peopleology style course.
Overall an ok hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Your comment is one of the most important aspect for our loyalty. We will deliver your complain to relevant departmants as soon as possible in order to gain your loyalty. Thus, for next time we ll be ready for your happiness.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

it has small rooms, old bathrooms (the door lock was broken and wc doesn't function smoothly). there was no clean carpet for praying. At the hotel there is just one seccade and if someone used it, you have to pray on a towel. the staff don't know the qıbla sign. You should ask it to reception and they guide you about the way on the phone. It was vey interesting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Melek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Ecodiver,

Initially, thank you for your kind comments. Fortunately, we will deliver your basic problems to relevant departments. We hope to see you again in Hilton family.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#6 of 98 in Izmir
1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
0.2 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
1 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#10 of 98 in Izmir
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak

Address: Ismet Kaptan Mahallesi 1373 Sk. N5 Konak, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range: £40 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing