We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A potentially good experience spoiled by poor quality control and indifferent hotel management.”
Review of Beyond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beyond Hotel
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A potentially good experience spoiled by poor quality control and indifferent hotel management.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I made reservations well in advance to stay at Hotel Beyond twice during the month of August, 2013 as bookends to a six day stay at a beach resort on the Mediterranean coast. Had we known our second visit would be worse than the first, we would have definitely gone somewhere else.

During our first stay for two nights, even though I had written in advance twice to confirm that our room was ready, upon entering our room, we immediately discovered that the A/C wasn't working and had to request a different room. It was not fun wasting time waiting for the A/C to work (the A/C is not turned on in the rooms until your enter), request a new room, wait for a new room, and then move to a new room after we had already started unpacking. Since we wasted so much valuable time before getting to bed, we had to modify the next morning's schedule and lost valuable time and engagements.

Assuming the incident was an anomaly, we returned six days later to stay for three nights. The very first night, at 11 pm, after waiting for 10 minutes with no hot water, we called for help. Unfortunately, she ended up waiting in her bathrobe for the next two hours as they attempted to address the problem. During that time frame, the water pouring from the faucets went from clear to yellow to dark orange. It was simply disgusting. After all that waiting for the shower to work in our room, they told us that she could use the shower in another room on the same floor. They stated that the problem was isolated to our room only. We went to that room and, after trying for another 30 minutes, my wife had to deal with the same problems: no hot water and dark orange water. Unbelievable! Then they told us that she could use a shower in another room on a different floor. Our patience exhausted and just wanting to get it over with, we went to the room on another floor. Initially the same problems were experienced in that room, too. But after waiting long enough, the water seemed to clear up and my wife hesitantly used the shower knowing full well the situation could change for the worse. Keeping my wife waiting like this, then sending her to other rooms to take a shower only to find the same problems was quite embarrassing and frustrating. We didn't get to bed until 1:30 am and, just like it happened during our first visit, our morning program and much valuable time was lost.

The next morning, the showerhead in our own room would not work properly. I requested a couple tools which they brought promptly and I fixed it.

Located in the nicest district in Izmir, this is supposed to be one of the nicest hotels in the city. It is definitely not worth the price for this kind of hassle and inconvenience.

During check-out, having not received any attention from hotel management to the problems we had experienced, I requested that the charges for two of our five night stay be refunded. The lady said she did not have the authority to do that which was understandable but showed a total lack of attention from hotel management.

Not only are their quality controls lacking and insufficient, but their management response leaves much to be desired. I wrote to the Hotel Manager, Kaan Celik, after returning back to the States. He sent a rather dismissive reply and didn't even apologize for all the troubles we endured.

The staff is friendly and tries hard to please, the rooms are nice (as shown in the pictures), and the breakfast is decent. However if you want to avoid problems with basic necessities and indifferent hotel management, choose to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texashillcountryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    37
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
29
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The Beyond hotel is a wonderful small boutique hotel,one block from the waterfront. Excellent and helpful staff. Tney came to our rescue, as we had a hard time making it to the front door because of the maze of one ways surrounding the area. The manager also helped us ascertain exactly where we needed to return our rental car at the airport.

Reasonnable sized rooms,, a small but very well equiped bathroom, with good quality soaps and shampoos. A wonderful breakfast,with a variety of choices.

Enjoy a dinner in one of the seaside restaurants,only a few hundred yards away.

We would recommend the Beyond Hotel to anyone coming to Izmir.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

After living at this hotel for over a month, it has become clear that the staff here is willing in every way to go above and beyond what someone could expect for a small hotel in a large city. If you're staying in Izmir, give this hotel a chance, it will not disappoint. The color scheme is interesting, and was evidently worthy of a Design award, unlike many of the very ugly or older hotels nearby. The breakfasts are typical Mediterranean, the rooms are comfortable, and it has the added benefit of a workout room on the top floor. Nothing to complain about after staying here for a long time. Love the location, and would stay again on my next trip to Izmir.

Room Tip: Avoid the green floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkiHye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed here for 4 weeks and it couldn't have been better. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Great location near to lots of good restaurants, shops and nightlife. Rooms are nice and clean, well furnished with good showers. Compact and bijou hotel that i would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickydiver78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Wireless Internet service needs to be improved drastically.
The hotel is close to restaurants, shops, etc in the Alsancak Kordon area... the rooms are small and minimal but comfortable. Service is good as the staff try to accommodate and help, and are very flexible. Bathrooms have a jacuzzi tub which is excellent and a new fitness center had been put in on the upper floor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our group of 15 stayed at the Beyond Hotel in Izmir. Apart from the amazing colour-coded decor, the whole stay thus far has been fantastic. The staff is very helpful, and goes out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. Each room has a jacuzzi bath (fab-u-lous afer a long day!) and it's very near to the waterfront area.
I definitely recommend staying at this hotel when in Izmir.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

location is perfect - right next to the shore and you´ll find perfect places for dinner in a radius of 10min. the rooms are nothing special, not perfectly maintained but clean enough. breakfast is also average. a little disturbing is the trial to give the hotel a modern design style by putting the roomnumbers in the floor instead on of plates on the wall as well as the blue"design" lights in the room. for frequent travellers who search for an alternative to the huge chainhotels this is a good alternative - thats why I´ll come back again. cost-performance is simply acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolceVita36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.0 mi away
Zeniva Hotel
Zeniva Hotel
#31 of 96 in Izmir
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kordon Otel Alsancak
Kordon Otel Alsancak
#22 of 96 in Izmir
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karaca Hotel
Karaca Hotel
#16 of 96 in Izmir
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
0.9 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#10 of 96 in Izmir
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Hotel

Property: Beyond Hotel
Address: Kizilay Caddesi No:5 Alsancak, Izmir 35220, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Izmir
#12 Business Hotel in Izmir
#25 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique class ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beyond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beyond Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing