We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Londerzeel, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff, great location”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

In spite of the fact I had to stay in bloc C, the room was very comfortable.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Great location, walking distance from the most attractive and interesting places in Izmir.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulLonderzeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,346
    293
    60
    16
    27
See reviews for
298
397
85
764
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Everybody have to visit thise hotel evetything are perfect food, beverage , rooms , spa ,just perfect!!!!! The food was perfect in all the restaurands in the hotel and the quality very very hi i would like to say thank you to all the staff and it will be my pleasure to visit thise hotel again!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stavros1979_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is truly a first rate Hotel. The grounds are beautiful, the lobby is grand and clean. The rooms are wonderful and clean. We had a view of the bay. The bathroom was modern and the walk-in shower was great. The hotel breakfast was first rate. We were there in September and we swam in the pool every day. The hotel employees were very polite and helpful and I strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Get a room with view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The Grand Efes was the symbol of Izmir since 1050's. It is renovated and now belongs to the Swissotel group. We spend 4 nights there with my family and had a wonderful experience. The room was very comfortable, the bath in the room exceptional and the service and breakfast was really good. The hotel differentiate itself not only because of its history, but also because of the beautiful garden and open swimming pool. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who want to have a comfortable stay in Izmir near to all the historical places like Ephesos and Pergamon.

Room Tip: Choose rooms either with a view to the Izmir Bay or to the beautiful garden. If you want to use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tumerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gefes, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Swissôtel Grand Efes as your home during your visit to Izmir. Thank you vey much for taking time to share your comments. It is nice to know that you enjoyed staying in our hotel . Looking forward to welcoming you back in Swissôtel Grand Efes for your recent visit to Izmir.

Kind Regards,
Swissôtel Grand Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had a nice room on a lower floor - all the rooms and small suites are very modern and lovely. Our location right over the parking garage was unfortunate when a car alarm went off at 3AM. Otherwise, the hotel is fairly quiet and nice. Modern fittings and furnishings are lovely but the light switches and other conveniences in the room take a little lesson to know how to operate. We never did figure out how to turn on and off individual lights. The location is great - two blocks away from the lovely walk along the water, and near shopping, hotels, and the small park with its equestrian statue of Attaturk. They had security everywhere - but we were not obligated to pass through the metal detector at the door and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were busy and did not get to the pool, but it looked huge and wonderful, and we were told that they have an equally wonderful indoor pool. One other small fussy detail -- we wondered at their choice of light colored carpeting - which was stained in our room and in the hallway. Kind of a blot on an otherwise lovely hotel - but request a room away from the parking area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wywyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I usually stay here with family at new year. Top class, modern hotel, very comfortable, new and clean (and well looked after). Service ok - staff have a few things to learn and there a usually a few errors but we are very demanding ;) Love the Nespresso machine in our suite. Very safe and good location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Wonderful three night stay in Izmir. Beautiful and comfortable room. Big pool and excellent buffet breakfast. Close to restaurants and harbor side walks. We particularly enjoyed the bar
and views at the top of the hotel. Would have loved to spend another couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lartom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gefes, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel and staff during your visit. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our property.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Grand Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 97 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 97 in Izmir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir

Property: Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Address: Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 1 Alsancak, Izmir, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
#1 Family Hotel in Izmir
#1 Spa Hotel in Izmir
#1 Business Hotel in Izmir
#2 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12.000 m² of landscaped gardens Swissotel Buyuk Efes, Izmir is a five-star deluxe hotel located in the heart of the city’s commercial hub and overlooking the spectacular Kordon Promenade, on Turkey’s Aegean Sea. Adnan Menderes International Airport is less than 10 miles (15 km) and 20 minutes away. Swissotel Buyuk Efes has 402 luxury rooms including 55 elegantly decorated suites At Swissotel Buyuk Efes the guests are presented an inspiring art collection from Fernando Botero to Turkey’s leading exponents of modern art throughout the hotel with more than 800 art masterpieces and a selection of traditional Turkish and contemporary cuisine in a variety of attractive restaurants & bar: Equinox, Cafe Swiss, Aquarium and Sky Bar. Equipped with the latest technology available Buyuk Efes Convention Center located in the hotel, is designed to host all kinds of meetings and conferences in an ideal setting. Over 5,500m², Purovel Spa&Sport provides the Alpine inspired solution to healthy living within a stylish and contemporary environment. Facilities include; 14 treatment rooms, a Presidential Wellness Suite for couple therapies, a hydrotherapy room, solarium, a relaxation lounge, Turkish Hammam, steam bath, sauna, jacuzzi, indoor & outdoor swimming pools, pilates studios, group fitness classes, personal training and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir Hotel Izmir
Swissotel Grand Efes Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing