We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Double Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely outstanding”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

As a well-travelled UN staff member, I have stayed in many hotels all over the world, but for service and facilities this one has to rank at the top. The room was full of light, the view was spectacular, the sheets and pillows were soft and clean, and the bathroom modern, but mainly it was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, and the warmth of their welcome, that made this hotel the outstanding one it is.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    297
    62
    16
    28
See reviews for
301
398
88
776
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Service was very bad in a few cases. During a wedding reception I had to show three different waiters a paper napkin before i could get one. At the same wedding reception, i had to point out to the waiters the bottle and the ice in order to get a drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Baks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere thanks for spending your precious time to share your kind feedback. In order to learn more about your experience during the event. Please contact us through guestrelations.izmir@swissotel.com or +90 232 414 51 76. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortehemmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I've visited the Grand Efes Izmir as a business traveller for the fourth time now and can only say "it's a great experience". Beautiful rooms and perfect staff. Breakfast is more then superb! I'm sure my next stay in Izmir will be in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great hotel with excellent location
Friendly and helpful hotel staff
Excellent hotel amenities
Free upgrade to Executive accomodation - made us love the hotel even more
Will come back for sure - 100% recommended to others

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Alp O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel and staff during your visit. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our property.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortehemmen
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I've visited the Grand Efes Izmir as a business traveller for the fourth time now and can only say "it's a great experience". Beautiful rooms and perfect staff. Breakfast is more then superb! I'm sure my next stay in Izmir will be in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Izmir Swissotel is a beautiful, luxurious, and comfortable place to stay. The rooms are commodious and comfortable, with excellent lighting, plenty of closet space, great bathroom with separate shower and a jacuzzi tub, plus a powder room. It is quiet and peaceful. The location is excellent: near the waterfront and not in a congested area. The staff is courteous and extremely helpful. The two swimming pools are large, beautiful maintained and in lovely surroundings. If you have the breakfast--and I strongly suggest that you do--you will find an extraordinary assortment, including juice, vegetables and fruits, savory and sweet pastries, smoked fish, cheese and on and on. And it is elegantly served. It was really a wonderful stay and we were sorry we couldn't stay longer due to our schedules.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and have stayed at swissotel in other countries before so I had positive expectations before my arrival , the rooms are very sleek in design and have extra special details as the pillow menu with wide range of pillows to choose from , also the rain shower and adjustable lights on the bed sides add positivity to your stay , as a welcome I had a fruit plate sent to my room and welcome note from hotel management , the front desk were efficient and could speak clear English yet some waiters at the restaurant and security personnel did not know any English.

I had problems with connecting my laptop to Internet and front desk helped me by calling the IT manager who was off because it is a Sunday , I found it strange that there is no IT on Sunday in a big 5 star hotel but my problem was solved, upon my departure and finalizing my bill the hotel wanted to charge me for advanced Internet service fees which I explained that I did not request any advanced Internet service so it was taken off the bill .

The sky bar on top of hotel has beautiful view of city and sea and the main restaurant has good variety of turkish cuisine and international cuisine served in Buffett style for breakfast and lunch.

The housekeeping service was perfect and friendly and always greet me with a smile and were always ready to provide assistance efficiently when requested.

Finally i found it surprising to see a woman with a big tattoo on her arm working in a front desk in a 5 star hotel I have nothing against tattoos but it just is not traditional and takes away from the professional image of the hotel.

The TV channels selection could be improved as 90% of the Chanel's are turkish channels with limited selection to non turkish channels.

All in all I enjoyed my stay and recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking forward to enjoy a nice visit to Izmir.

Room Tip: If you do not like walking through a very long corridor ask for a room close to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khaledismail72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Swissôtel Büyük Efes as your home during your visit to Izmir. Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments. It is nice to know that you enjoyed staying in our hotel . Looking forward to welcoming you back in Swissôtel Büyük Efes for your recent visit to Izmir.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 96 in Izmir
1,245 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
0.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 96 in Izmir
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir

Property: Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Address: Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 1 Alsancak, Izmir, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Izmir
#1 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
#1 Business Hotel in Izmir
#1 Spa Hotel in Izmir
#2 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12.000 m² of landscaped gardens Swissotel Buyuk Efes, Izmir is a five-star deluxe hotel located in the heart of the city’s commercial hub and overlooking the spectacular Kordon Promenade, on Turkey’s Aegean Sea. Adnan Menderes International Airport is less than 10 miles (15 km) and 20 minutes away. Swissotel Buyuk Efes has 402 luxury rooms including 55 elegantly decorated suites At Swissotel Buyuk Efes the guests are presented an inspiring art collection from Fernando Botero to Turkey’s leading exponents of modern art throughout the hotel with more than 800 art masterpieces and a selection of traditional Turkish and contemporary cuisine in a variety of attractive restaurants & bar: Equinox, Cafe Swiss, Aquarium and Sky Bar. Equipped with the latest technology available Buyuk Efes Convention Center located in the hotel, is designed to host all kinds of meetings and conferences in an ideal setting. Over 5,500m², Purovel Spa&Sport provides the Alpine inspired solution to healthy living within a stylish and contemporary environment. Facilities include; 14 treatment rooms, a Presidential Wellness Suite for couple therapies, a hydrotherapy room, solarium, a relaxation lounge, Turkish Hammam, steam bath, sauna, jacuzzi, indoor & outdoor swimming pools, pilates studios, group fitness classes, personal training and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir Hotel Izmir
Swissotel Grand Efes Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing