We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in Izmir!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Izmir!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Swissotel is stylishly modern, clean and very comfortable. Perfect place to stay after many hours travelling through Turkey countryside to the magnificent remainders of Ephesus. As others have stated, this hotel has a separate shower - unlike many other hotels in Turkey that have a shower over a very high bath! Really loved this hotel and would stay there again! We also stayed in the Swissotel in Istanbul that overlooks the Bosphorus; not as modern as this one in Izmir, but it was still outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    292
    60
    16
    27
See reviews for
298
397
84
763
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Well travelled Tourism Manager - A really lovely hotel, great standard with stylish touches. Check in procedures a little long winded with the need to photocopy passports and go into a lot of detail. Room very comfortable and stylish, modern and comfortable. Ideal for business needs if you are staying for a few days and the room has a desk area to use as an informal office.
Bathroom exceptional - loved that I could have a shower whilst partner was taking a bath. Didn't come into contact with many staff as this was my choice but house keeping were a bit intrusive. First time I've seen a door indication system such as the one installed but I usually prefer not to be disturbed whilst in the room so indicate accordingly, but this was ignored.
Great location, short distance to town centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms are in a quite good conditions except that the carpet could be more thoroughly cleaned or changed. The total disappointment is coming from the restaurant which is not at the level of such an hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank P Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Please accept our sincere thanks for spending your precious time to share your kind feedback.
In order to learn more about your experience in our restaurant, please contact us through guestrelations.izmir@swissotel.com or +90 232 414 51 76. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Double Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

As a well-travelled UN staff member, I have stayed in many hotels all over the world, but for service and facilities this one has to rank at the top. The room was full of light, the view was spectacular, the sheets and pillows were soft and clean, and the bathroom modern, but mainly it was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, and the warmth of their welcome, that made this hotel the outstanding one it is.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Service was very bad in a few cases. During a wedding reception I had to show three different waiters a paper napkin before i could get one. At the same wedding reception, i had to point out to the waiters the bottle and the ice in order to get a drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Baks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere thanks for spending your precious time to share your kind feedback. In order to learn more about your experience during the event. Please contact us through guestrelations.izmir@swissotel.com or +90 232 414 51 76. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortehemmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I've visited the Grand Efes Izmir as a business traveller for the fourth time now and can only say "it's a great experience". Beautiful rooms and perfect staff. Breakfast is more then superb! I'm sure my next stay in Izmir will be in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great hotel with excellent location
Friendly and helpful hotel staff
Excellent hotel amenities
Free upgrade to Executive accomodation - made us love the hotel even more
Will come back for sure - 100% recommended to others

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Alp O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel and staff during your visit. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our property.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 97 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#3 of 97 in Izmir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir

Property: Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Address: Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 1 Alsancak, Izmir, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Izmir
#1 Family Hotel in Izmir
#1 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
#1 Business Hotel in Izmir
#2 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12.000 m² of landscaped gardens Swissotel Buyuk Efes, Izmir is a five-star deluxe hotel located in the heart of the city’s commercial hub and overlooking the spectacular Kordon Promenade, on Turkey’s Aegean Sea. Adnan Menderes International Airport is less than 10 miles (15 km) and 20 minutes away. Swissotel Buyuk Efes has 402 luxury rooms including 55 elegantly decorated suites At Swissotel Buyuk Efes the guests are presented an inspiring art collection from Fernando Botero to Turkey’s leading exponents of modern art throughout the hotel with more than 800 art masterpieces and a selection of traditional Turkish and contemporary cuisine in a variety of attractive restaurants & bar: Equinox, Cafe Swiss, Aquarium and Sky Bar. Equipped with the latest technology available Buyuk Efes Convention Center located in the hotel, is designed to host all kinds of meetings and conferences in an ideal setting. Over 5,500m², Purovel Spa&Sport provides the Alpine inspired solution to healthy living within a stylish and contemporary environment. Facilities include; 14 treatment rooms, a Presidential Wellness Suite for couple therapies, a hydrotherapy room, solarium, a relaxation lounge, Turkish Hammam, steam bath, sauna, jacuzzi, indoor & outdoor swimming pools, pilates studios, group fitness classes, personal training and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir Hotel Izmir
Swissotel Grand Efes Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing