We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite style”
Review of Gulevi Safranbolu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gulevi Safranbolu
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Safranbolu
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exquisite style”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed for a weekend on February, hotel is consist of 3 wooden mansion blocks which all are 200 years old, you can smell the scent wooden when you are in the hotel, all details in the hotel are a product of exquisite mindset.

Decoration, objects, service, feeling of antique, Bose underground music system on the garden, breakfast, music taste, service, all are immaculate. Hotel manager and owner Ibrahim Bey is on the board all time and treats guests very well, all the other staff is also very kind and helpful, will definitely visit after their ongoing restaurant project is over.

There is a great boardroom for companies who wants to make weekend escape and business combined.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    33
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
83
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had an amazing three nights at Gulevi during our honeymoon in Turkey! The rooms are absolutely beautiful. The family who owns the hotel is really sweet and full of excellent recommendations for what to do around Safranbolu. The staff was also very kind and helpful. And the breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

The entrance to Gul Evi is unprepossessing and we wondered whether the taxi had brought us to the right place. But beyond the screened door on the cobbled street are beautifully restored Ottoman houses and spacious, tranquil gardens. We arrived at night and on a warm evening, people were enjoying the candlelit gardens. We were hosted magnificently at Gulevi. The breakfast was tasteful and elegantly presented and our room was large and comfortable. It would have been good to have access to tea and coffee though. We enjoyed a conversation with the architect- owner before we left and were glad to have a greater understanding of the history and development of Gulevi.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank patchycrowsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at this property in September this year. It was a real highlight because of it's authenticity.
It is an old Otterman house, actually the hotel consisits of 3 houses in total. The main house I stayed in has been modernised where necessary for comfort, ie the ensuites but apart from that it still has a very authentic and romantic feel. Up a few steps out the back is a delightful garden where the staff will bring you a drink to enjoy in the evening after a busy day out.
We also had a delightful lounge on our floor with a great view over the mosque and town
Breakfast was also wonderful, fresh fruits, cheese, bread etc and a freshly cooked hot dish. All really fresh and healthy.
As well as having a wonderful place to stay, Safronbolu is also an amazing place to visit!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Three of us stayed in October 2013. The best hotel we stayed in in Turkey. It consists of three Ottoman houses lovingly gutted and refurbished by an award-winning Istanbul architect who, along with his wife, is the innkeeper. Gül says that even though the house is named for her (translation of Gül Evi is Gül's house), it is her husband who did all the work, Ibrahim Canbulat, and who paid attention to every item of decor and building--"It is his house" as she says. There is amazing attention to detail and it is worth taking the time to relax and observe it all. There is a great little vitrine display case with very interesting jewelry available for purchase at reasonable prices--no tourist trash, just lovely. The hotel is tip top clean. The hotel is 5 years old and seems as good as new--maintenance is obviously taken very seriously. The two rooms we had were spacious, with warm puffy quilts, wood ceiling and floor, rugs, elegant. The decor is authentic Ottoman plus modern and the two styles work very well and tastefully together. We just could not have been happier. Bathrooms are nice for Turkish bathrooms. Teak slat mat on tile floor--like what one sees in a sauna. Shower curtains (not all Turkish hotels have these, so worth noting) and nice tall shower head high up on the wall. Would have been nice to have a shelf in the bathroom for the dop kits, but that is not unusual in our experience in Turkey. Lovely large and comfortable sitting area on our floor. Wide staircase with gentle rise, but no elevator so one does need to be able to climb the stairs. We did not ask if there are handicap accessible rooms in the other buildings. The manager at the desk did carry our bags upstairs for us. This is one of the few hotels where internet access actually worked in the rooms. There is a small bar with a TV. Breakfast was in the building behind the street front house in a nice room overlooking the big lawn and garden between the two buildings. It was individually prepared, though each guest got the same breakfast--i.e. no buffet. It was plentiful. Fruit, eggs, yogurt, bread, butter, jams, nuts, tomatoes, cucumbers, cheeses. Such a wonderfully healthy breakfast. And really good "American" style coffee--not Turkish coffee. Juice and tea also. There are a number of places to sit outside if you have time to hang out at the hotel--under a huge shade canopy, on the grass, on a terrace. Ibrahim was very patient and kind and helpful in planning our next day's travel. We will need to come back because we weren't able to go to a lot of the places he hoped we would have time to see as we were there at the end of our trip to Turkey. The owners and the manager are proud of the place, as they should be. It is a reflection of themselves. We loved being here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is in a very central location and has a car park which is conveniently located just across the road. The rooms are in a very good condition. The standard breakfast is a little boring but you can ask the staff and they will be happy to prepare other things. There is normal squeaking of the wooden floors if you are irritated by that kind of noise. The outdoors area is perfect for chilling out, reading your newspapers, books or chatting. Don't worry if you forgot to bring any books cause you will definitely find something in the library.The owner of the hotel is a very nice man, dedicated to hospitality, who is looking for ways to improve the hotel in every possibility. He can give you good advice on what to do and what to eat as well as the history and characteristics of the region.

We never had any meals other than breakfast at the hotel so I cannot comment on that but overall nice, pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: You can select one of the rooms on the top floor to avoid the wood squeaking sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phiGursoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
binghamton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Everything about Gulevi is impressive. This is the only place I stayed in Safranbolu so I can not compare but I would be surprised if there is any place better in case of staff, service, taste of decor, quality of restoration and location.
Three beautiful 18th century mansions were bought and revitalized by the owners. The three mansions are unconnected except that they all share a beautiful green area. The owners were obviously in love with the mansions and they were very respectful to the original history of the mansions. Our room was Refika and I loved our big bed, the colors, the closet spaces, the bathroom, event the subtle woody/rosy smell of our room.
The staff is very kind, informative, helpful. The hotel is immaculately clean and well kept.
Impressed by every detail, and all the genuine effort. Sincerely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leylajimmison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Safranbolu hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Safranbolu
Hilton Garden Inn Safranbolu
#2 of 20 in Safranbolu
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cesmeli Konak
Cesmeli Konak
#1 of 20 in Safranbolu
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leyla Hanim Konagi
Leyla Hanim Konagi
#6 of 20 in Safranbolu
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Imren Lokum Konak Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Zalifre Hotel
Zalifre Hotel
#14 of 20 in Safranbolu
53 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kolagasi Butik Otel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulevi Safranbolu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulevi Safranbolu

Property: Gulevi Safranbolu
Address: Cesme Mah. Hukumet Sok. No:46 Safranbolu Merkez, Safranbolu 78600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Karabuk Province > Safranbolu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Safranbolu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulevi Safranbolu 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gülevi Safranbolu emerged as a project of living through revitalization rather than one of accommodation. The project was initiated to survive the richness and subtlety of life which flourished during the 18th century in Safranbolu which is currently inscribed in the UNESCO World Heritage List. Gül and İbrahim Canbulat acquired three neighboring Ottoman mansions in the early 2000s and started running these buildings following restoration. All three mansions date back to the 18th century. Damage and wear due to time and human intervention were recovered by the restoration process; the mansions were granted their genuine architectonics. Modern facilities required for the present-day functions of these mansions were installed without distorting the authentic integrity of the Ottoman mansion. Gülevi Safranbolu offers 18th-century elegant life style with no compromise on contemporary appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gulevi Safranbolu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing