We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”
Review of Kar's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kar's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kars
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Oasis”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A nice, if expensive, oasis in eastern Turkey. Friendly staff and above average furnishings for the region. That said, the hotel is on a busy street with a mosque and military camp next door so it can be noisy. Ani is a great excursion out of town (and really, the only reason to come to Kars; the town itself is not terribly inspiring).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daoda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    20
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
21
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Kars is not a warm, cheerful or welcoming town - it's worth going there for Ani but that's about the only reason you'd go to Kars. This hotel is a welcome haven after wandering around Kars and the old house has been nicely redone. The rooms are white and very simple but with everything you need. It's quite refreshing. The outside courtyard is lovely for breakfast or coffee. The restaurant is currently closed, but we had a breakfast there when it was raining - good breakfast and lots of choice. Staff were very nice but we didn't find anyone who spoke English - we managed fine with our attempts at Turkish. Good value for money and a lovely room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegaTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Great place for a romantic getaway in a city that doesn't have much else to offer. It is pricy but if you ever happen to want to view the sights around Kar's it's def. a place to stay. The staff was very helpful and English speaking (which doesn't happen often in smaller cities around Turkey). The restaurant is presently closed, doesn't serve food, just snacks and tea/coffee. But the breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moontab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A first class hotel in a beautiful old Russian house located in central Kars. Great breakfast. We stayed in the attic room which had been converted with obvious attention to detail. The other rooms were of equal standard. Certainly not a cheap hotel but certainly a very high quality one!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north of Seattle, Wa.
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We decided to take the bus west instead of the night train which meant we needed to stay in Kars one more night. Our hotel was full so we checked into the Kar's Otel for the night as it was at the other end of our block. The receptionist seemed a bit "uppity" as if we weren't quite up to snuff. She only would show us one room although there were several empty ones. The next morning, the breakfast staff checked the food on the table about every two minutes even though we were the only two people there. It was as if she were checking how many slices of bread or cake you had just put on your plate.
Yes, the room and the breakfast were more than adequate but it was the total lack of hospitality that stood out the most.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hasi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This is a gorgeous hotel - beautifully decorated . The breakfasts were superb - and the staff were charming. I hope soon they will open or re-open the restuarant. Kars is a very pleasant city and Ani is well worth seeing

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We decided at the last minute to explore the eastern border of Turkey after spending time in Istanbul. We found Hotel Kars in the Trip Advisor and it was voted #1 in the area of Kars, Turkey. The interior of this renovated Baltic architechure 8 room gem of a hotel was contemporary, lovely, and a really special place to stop off to see the surrounding ancient sites. Breakfast included the famous local cheese and honey. Staff were so helpful - it was a wonderful place!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street - can be a bit noisy - local dogs, local people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BerkeleysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kars
0.5 mi away
Hotel Katerina Sarayi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Temel
Hotel Temel
#7 of 8 in Kars
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sim-Er Hotel
Sim-Er Hotel
#4 of 8 in Kars
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarikamis Toprak Hotel
Sarikamis Toprak Hotel
#8 of 9 in Sarikamis
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Konak Hotel
Konak Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kars
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kent Ani
Hotel Kent Ani
#1 of 4 in Kars
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kar's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kar's Hotel

Property: Kar's Hotel
Address: Yusuf Pasa Mah. Halit Pasa Cad. No: 31 | Halit Pasa Street. No: 31, Kars 36100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Kars Province > Kars
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kar's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Different powder shades are chosen in every room that is decorated by using modern lines. In every room there are LCD TV, wireless internet connection, and work tables. “King size” beds whose sizes are 6 square meters are chosen for each room and each room has been decorated with sui generis sheets, bedspreads and the sleeping sets that are made of high quality goose feather. Our customers get high quality service via the room service during twenty-four hours. 5 of 8 rooms of Kar’s hotel are standard rooms. In the standard rooms, each of which is decorated with various shades on every floor, all kinds of comforts are available. LCD TV, telephone, and wireless internet connection are the standard services. Akyaka, Selim, Susuz, Digor, and Kağızman are the standard rooms of Kar’s Hotel. ARAS SUITE There are specially fireplace, resting coach that is shaped as a longue chair, and laptop desk in Aras Suite. This room is a special room of Aras Suite which has a big terrace. Watching historical Kars streets from this terrace will take guests into a unique travel. ARPACAY FAMILY CONNECTION SUITE It is the only suit that is located on the top floor of Kar’s Hotel. Arpaçay Suite has two different rooms in itself. This room, in which two different bedrooms are located separately, carries the grand luxurious atmosphere of a penthouse. It is a suitable choice with its roomy area for our guest with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kar's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing