We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good scrub”
Review of Sim-Er Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sim-Er Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kars
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Okay, I agree with the "cosseted Westerners" review, BUT the room was just plain nasty. Dirty drapes and tobacco smoke had penetrated every fiber, even to the carpet and upholstery. The out to the corridor had a large and conspicuously greasy handprint. The towels were not replaced, just refolded (even though they were clearly soiled). The trash was not emptied. Some of dishes in the dining room for the buffet were cracked and chipped. Salt and pepper shakers, sugar bowls were sticky with food and grime. No coffee, just Nescafe. Crumbs on the breakfast tablecloth had been left from yesterday's evening meal. Staff was not cordial, never smiled. I was sad that I had to spend more than one night at this place and couldn't wait to get out of Kars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenighir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Unfortunately there is not much to chose from in Kars as far as hotels. Rooms were quite cramped, and the decor was underwhelming. The breakfast buffet was one of the most limited during our month-long trip through Turkey.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlaskansinOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

You need places like this. It helps you more fully appreciate the others. Your choices in Kars are limited. Our group tour spent little time (2 nights) at the hotel. We came to see the area historic sites. The breakfast buffet had a limited selection but plenty. The WiFi connection was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It seems that hotels in this part of Turkey of a standard we cosseted Westerners are used to are hard to find. I can tolerate basic for overnight stops as long as the rooms are clean and comfortable, the food better than OK. Kars is definitely worth a one night stay to see the historic sites and I believe this hotel is as good as it gets in this town. That said, there was definitely an unpleasant smell of stale smoke in our room - this seems a common complaint for this hotel. Do they have non smoking rooms I wonder? They should!
The twin shared room was small and with basic simple Ikea like furniture but it was clean and comfortable and quiet for a good night's sleep. We had shower only and town view. There must be citadel view rooms as well. The food was indeed OK, nothing exceptional but adequate. We were on a group booking for a week in Eastern Turkey so I cannot comment on value for money for this hotel alone.

Room Tip: You could try asking for a non smoking room and a view of the citadel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EleanorStoneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very bad, smell smoke from other rooms into my room. I believe all rooms are smoking rooms. Unfortunately got stuck here on a group tour and would not recommend it at all. I think we should have continued to drive until next town. Very old and in need of a remodel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Small faded room. Bathroom a bit better. Breakfast buffet limited. Wi-Fi was out the entire time (two nights). Desk person kept promising Wi-Fi, finally claimed that my Ipad was broken (it worked perfectly well the entire trip).

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SeattleRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

sim-er otel is an old hotel in need of an overhall that probably will never happen; that said, the hotel has everything to make your stay adequate and happy. rooms are clean, beds comfortable and how often do you see turquoise television sets with remotes to match!? free wifi sporadic depending on how close your room is to the routers on your floor, but available in lobby. breakfast adequate, except for coffee: turkish tea ok!! staff very accommodating and helpful...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kars hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Katerina Sarayi
0.3 mi away
Kars Kale Hotel
Kars Kale Hotel
#4 of 8 in Kars
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Karspark Hotel
The Karspark Hotel
#6 of 8 in Kars
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Temel
Hotel Temel
#7 of 8 in Kars
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kar's Hotel
Kar's Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kars
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheltikov Hotel
Cheltikov Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kars
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sim-Er Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sim-Er Hotel

Address: Eski Erzurum Yolu Su Kapi Meckii No:187, Kars, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Kars Province > Kars
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kars
Price Range: £43 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sim-Er Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing