We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below Standards - best to avoid this property” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karabag Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kars
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karabag Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kars
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Below Standards - best to avoid this property”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night and although we were booked to return a few days later, we cancelled. The staff was friendly and the outside of the hotel looked fine but our room was not what we were expecting. Although the bed linens seemed clean and I was able to sleep, the floor was so dirty I had to put a towel from the bathroom down to walk on it. It had not been vacuumed even though the dirt was obvious. The bathroom did not seem clean and we did not use the shower. Our tour agency booked this hotel but we refused to go back to it for the second night. Kars has other hotels so be careful to not get booked in this property. We loved visiting the Lost city of Ani nearby- a must see and something we will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 119phoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
3
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

In Karabag hotel we were two nights. the last day when we went to breakfast we left things in the room. when we got back to the room we noticed that we're missing some money. we went to reception and demanded control cameras. your camcorder has been seen that in a time when we were having breakfast in the room went Cleaner. We called the police, but they did not solve anything. from Kars we left with 550 euros less! Of course when the police came cleaner was not in the hotel, because it had happened somewhere out! so dear or be careful or choose another better and cheaper hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kars hotels

Yalikavak
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The reception carpets should have given us a clue to the standards of qality to follow. Both my wife and I tripped over the worn and raised edges, thankfully avoiding serious injury. The room rate was 120tl which as way over priced for such a shoddy town with absolutely nothing to do other than marvel at the rubbish strewn all over the town! The hotel room was no more than adequate and the bathroom disgusting with mould growing all over the place. The beds (one old tatty double and a single) were comfy, but the sheet were not long enough to cover the unsightly mattress beneath. The breakfast provided the mere basics, no fruit juice and fresh bread only when requested. What appeared to be a potatoe and sausage mix on a hot plate, had all but dried up leaving insufficient for us to eat. Whilst hoping for a romantic view of the distant mountains, all we got was a good view of the near dustbins down below in the back yard and corrugated iron roofing of the neighbouring properties. Whilst Michael the owner collected us from the railway station, before receiving payment - he was not prepared to provide a return journey. I guess that was because we had paid? Beware of the taxi drivers also. The railway station is about a kilometre from the Karabag and in a straight line. The taxi took us about 4 times the distance at a charge of 10tl.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deep Valley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsfeld, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This hotel is still one of the "best" in Kars. But it is totally overpriced, dirty and has extremly narrow single rooms. Anyhow it will be difficult to find a better solution. There is only the similar quality SIM-ER hotel some kilometers out of town and Sarikamisch (which is not in Kars, but the best value). BACK TO THE HOTEL:The carpets are really dirty und can only walk in shoes,not berefoot. The restaurant is also bad - much better solutions are outside left around the corner....Breakfast also is very basic (no coffe, very old bread (airline quality) and few choice. The manager makes prices according to his taste - for turkish peolple much cheaper and gives better rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wuzile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

It was an average hotel, nothing special. The staff was friendly and tried to be helpful as much as possible.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zepaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed at Karabag Hotel for three nights and paid TL120/per night for a double room with buffet breakfast. We requested for a room on the 5th floor (for a good view of the snow capped mountains) and at the back (away from the busy main street and so quieter).

In terms of value, cleanliness and service, Karabag didn't fare as well as the other pensions and little hotels we stayed at in Turkey. But it is centrally located where the sights in Kars, supermarkets and eateries are all within walking distance. Spacious and brightly lit room thanks to the big windows.

PS: Karabag is not listed in Lonely Planet's March 2011 edition

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor and at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_1-plus-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The Karabag is a reasonable 3 star hotel in Kars, where the choices for western-quality hotels are limited. The front-desk staff was helpful, despite their limited English-speaking capabilities. They provided directions to us, helped us find a place to park our car, lit up the lobby seating area so we could have a place to read, etc. Rooms were clean, large enough, and had all the basics. We had a room in the back which cut down on traffic noise from the street.
The breakfast buffet was in a fancy dining room and had typical Turkish breakfast foods, with a few extras such as bowls of molasses and honey, various kinds of sausages and hot soup. In general the food was nothing remarkable but nothing that was a problem either.
The lobby was a great place to gather as a group. The lobby porter helped schlep our luggage, helped with the elevator, moved the traffic cones so we could park in front of the hotel, and in general was extremely helpful even without being asked.
The location of the hotel is good; right at the main intersection in the center of the city, with easy walking access to shops, restaurants, cell phone stores, etc.
Overall, the place could use an update, but there is no reason not to stay there. The elevator was a bit claustrophobic, and the timer lights in the hallways sometimes went out before you got to your room, but these were minor issues. Not knowing what to expect in a smaller city in eastern Turkey, we were quite satisfied with the Karabag; it is probably was the best accommodations available in Kars. As long as you're not expecting a Hyatt, you should be satisfied at the Karabag.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bwana58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kars hotels
0.4 mi away
Kars Kale Hotel
Kars Kale Hotel
#4 of 8 in Kars
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sim-Er Hotel
Sim-Er Hotel
#5 of 8 in Kars
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Temel
Hotel Temel
#6 of 8 in Kars
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kar's Otel
Kar's Otel
#1 of 8 in Kars
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bizim Konak Hotel
Bizim Konak Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kars
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gungoren Hotel
Gungoren Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kars
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karabag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karabag Hotel

Property: Karabag Hotel
Address: Faikbey Caddesi No: 142, Kars, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Kars Province > Kars
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kars
Hotel Class:3 star — Karabag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing