We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Otel Mevlana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otel Mevlana
Ranked #20 of 29 Konya B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our small tour group stayed here for one night. It was disgusting. The rooms were cramped, mouldy, and stank of stale cigarette smoke. The hotel is mostly frequented by men who come to visit the mosque and stay only one night. It is very close to the mosque so the morning call to prayer is very loud. The breakfast was not adequate as there was no milk and bread was stale. Most of our group felt sick after eating it. I would avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
9
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our small group seemed to be the only tourists - the other guests were all locals - always a good sign. Good location for walking to Alaaddin's Hill and Mosque and for Mevlana Museum - very central.
The rooms were quite basic and the breakfast was perfectly adequate

Room Tip: I hesitated between average and poor for cleanliness - there was a strong smell of cigarettes to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professeurdefrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rakiura, Stewart Island
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The room was smallish but comfortable. It was clean and tidy and I imagine that it would be perfect for packpackers, except that the cost was a little above what we encountered in other towns and cities. Maybe that had something to do with the accommodation availability in Konya, the season, or the location, but it certainly wasn't reflected in the breakfast - decidedly average.
There are a few pluses though.The bed was great.The location can't be beaten - a short walk front the museum and from other attractions, including lots of eating and shopping options.The staff were keen to help and really friendly (but my lack of Turkish and their lack of English was a bit of a hindrance).

Room Tip: away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWW
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed a night in late May 2013; the staff did not speak English but with some creative hand gestures, we "communicated" very well. Everyone was at the ready to help, like when I wanted some soup late at night, the bellboy accompanied me on this quest for food. He took me to a shop that was still open at that late hour and had them delivered my chosen soup to my room, set on a tray; instead of me taking it away in a ignominious plastic bag from the shop. What class!

The room was a bit dated and the buffet breakfast was so -so however. For a night, it was OK and not too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wombelano, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night as part of a tour group. It was by far the worst hotel we have encountered anywhere - noisy, smelly rooms, with exposed wiring, even in the filthy bathroom. it's a wonder no one has been electrocuted here. I was very hesitant about getting into the bed, as I was not confidant that it was clean. Breakfast was just as dismal. Do not go there.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else in Konya
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FarmerSue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Konya hotels

Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed here for one night as part of a tour. The location is hard to find, tucked away in a dark alley. The room I stayed in was filthy. Dirty bed linens, floors, and bathroom. The toilet was caked in filth, the tiles had a haze over them and the grouting was black with mold. The shower hung in the middle of the bathroom - when used, everything got wet. I've experienced this in other hotels and don't have a problem with it when there's room to stand under the shower head. However, the location of the toilet made showering difficult. Additionally, the exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work and was pulled out of the wall, leaving exposed wiring. The light switch was similarly pulled out of the wall. I had visions of being electrocuted. I saw some of the other rooms and noticed they were similarly filthy. The room across the hall didn't have a window to the outside but rather to the hallway (huh?). The breakfast was terrible as well. In a nutshell, stay away.

Room Tip: I don't think any good rooms exist here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here as this was chosen by our tour company as an overnight stay, it was terrible!! My room and bathroom was very dirty, grimy and moldy. I had to ask for new towels as the 'fresh' ones in my room stank. The room smelt of smoke to the point it became difficult to breathe without opening the window. The surrounding area is dirty and noisy. Breakfast was poor. I do not recommend this hotel,they don't seem to care at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeruiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konya hotels
5.2 mi away
Konak Otel
Konak Otel
#28 of 39 in Konya
4 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rixos Konya
Rixos Konya
#6 of 39 in Konya
651 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Konya
Ibis Konya
#12 of 39 in Konya
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Anemon Konya
Anemon Konya
#20 of 39 in Konya
148 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hich Hotel Konya
Hich Hotel Konya
#1 of 39 in Konya
856 reviews
5.1 mi away
Selcuk Otel Sems-i Tebrizi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otel Mevlana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otel Mevlana

Property: Otel Mevlana
Address: Istanbul Cad. Istanbul Sok. No:2 Konya Merkez, Konya, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Konya Province > Konya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Konya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Otel Mevlana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing