We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Museum Poor Display”
Review of Mevlana Museum

Mevlana Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$62.61*
and up
Cappadocia 3-Day Tour from Side
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Konya
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Museum Poor Display”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

It is a good place to visit. Note that entrance ticket is now 5 TL, up from 3TL The mevlana Rumi and his relatives tombs are a reverence place. Even though all photography is forbidden, we saw several locals snapping pictures and the guards not saying anything.
The complex also houses the museum which has some interesting mevlana effects but these are housed in very tiny original rooms. These can be stuffy to get in or out with a crowd as there is only one access door for each room (tiny cubicle). You can spend an hour here easily.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank flyingwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    960
    420
    161
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Moderately interesting”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is more a pilgrimage site than a museum. Unless you are knowledgeable about sufism, much of what you'll see or of the explanation panels may seem a bit obscure. Still, t is a good occasion to learn a bit about sufims and the Rumi.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank George4144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Muslim attraction”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

For those non muslim, it's best to have tour guide w you to explain what is going on. Or u may use the audio guide but i don't know if they have.

Don't come w blind knowledge, or else u will standing like a fool not knowing their history here n there or even why u want visit this place.

And u exit w a regret face.

Helpful?
Thank Kelvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting site for a interesting old culture”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Sufi culture, very rare in the world, many people came to pay respect for an ancient believe.
Too many visitors

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 373traveloldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An great lesson in History from this Sufi Materso”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had traveled to Konya on the last leg of my 10 day tour to Turkey and this was a vacation where i had taken my parents along. My mom and I are both great admirers of Maulana Rumi's works and hence this Museum was an absolute essential part of our trip.

The Museum was extremely overcrowded with some women pilgrims, who seemed like Kurdish. Please ensure you avoid visiting Konya in May-June as this is the time when many tourists both Turkish and Foreigners, come to Konya to pay their respects to the Maulana, and the place can become unbearably crowded.

The Museum and Maulana's tomb are located in a single complex. Please respect the local Muslim culture and do not attempt to take pictures of Maulana's tomb or that of his disciples, who are all buried in the large burial chamber.

The burial chamber starts with the graves of several smaller Maualas, all of whom were Maulana Rumi's disciples. The are immediately followed by Mauala's grave. Magnificent is an understatement when it comes to describing the beauty of the tomb. There are several ancient Islamic artifacts elegantly displayed in the burial chambers, including Mauala Rumi's camp, his clothes and ancient manuscripts including hand written copies of the Holy Quran.

Outside the burial chambers, there are two small single room tombs of some saints. Moreover, there are several small rooms which contain artifacts from Rumi, Shams Tebrez, Ottomans, and from general era of the Ottoman Expire focusing specifically on the Sufiism. Some rooms also comprised of life like statues describing the way Sufis used to live and spend their time.

This was an extremely spiritual experience and I am extremely please I got to visit Konya. In Sha Allah, i plan to visit it again some day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Syed Saad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mevlana Museum also viewed

Konya, Konya Province
 

Been to Mevlana Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing