We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proactive & welcoming manager”
Review of Kosk & Esra Otel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kosk & Esra Otel
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Konya
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a small boutique hotel; cleanliness is ok.
I suppose the pros for staying in a smaller hotel is the more personalized service and genuine warm hospitality of the staff. We were served tea whilst waiting for our transport, and the manager even invited us to join him & his staff for lunch. I had wanted to buy some mineral waters for our departure journey to Pamukkale; the manager gave us some for free.
Small gestures like that reflect on the friendly and warm hospitality of the Turkish people.
The hotel is about 15 minutes from the local baazar. Lots of interesting local products to look at and it's also hassle free, quite a change in comparison to the grand baazar at Instanbul. People are also very friendly.

Room Tip: We could see ongoing construction works from our window. It is ok for a night stay. If you are pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jercyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Staff was very friendly but it's odd to change from a building to another using a basement tunnel.. Room had a lot of space, mattresses and pillows were very stiff and be careful with the expiration dates when having breakfast.. We didn't eat anything because an unclosed milk package had already expired and everything didn't look very well. Location is ok.. Odd street but you can walk (10 mins) to the mevlana museum.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nunogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We have stayed at Kosk and Esra Hotel for Seb-i Aruz which is a pick season for Konya. Rooms have been recently renovated, they are adequate and clean enough. Breakfast is a traditional Turkish one, tasty but do not expect a variety such as cookies or fruits etc. Staff takes care of every guest and is friendly. Hotel is close to Mevlana Museum. Only negative point was smoking allowance in rooms, since you can smell next room's smoke.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Friendly people, safe parking, warm welcome with coffee, nice clean room and excellent location to visit the highlights of Konya. Breakfast wasn't the best we ever had in Turkey but that wasn't much of a problem.

Room Tip: Beware your head in the corridors! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is two hotels, and I am not sure which is Kosk, and who is Esra. They share one reception. The room I got was in the other building, which meant a labyrinthine walk through a narrow, and as low as you have to bend your head, corridor underground between the buildings, and find your way up unmarked stairs and corridors ..
I asked If I could walk another way out to street, and get back to the reception that way, but this was the only way, I was told. Which, I suppose, also means it is the emergency exit: Unmarked, dark, hard to find the way - even if the light bulb would lit.
I bring a head torch when travelling, and here I was really glad I did.

But what really got me mad, was when I was struggling my way back towards the reception, had to pass through a room, still underground, where some people were decorating for a Bollywoodish wedding celebration. I must say I was rather annoyed by the idea to have to brake into a private celebration to get to my room, and I was not polite when I spoke to the receptionist.
Then I went out to have a first look at the city.

When I came back a while later, I had got a new room in the same building as the reception - and when collecting my things, did I learn that the 'wedding ceremony' only was the hotel's 'restaurant' and breakfast room, which has a ....aa, yes, let's say: 'special style'.

The new room was somehow OK, with close view to the smallest mosque I have ever seen. It was without minaret, which meant that the loudspeaker (really loud) pointed straight into my window, only about fifteen meters away. I assure you: I did not miss the morning prayer that morning. And even if the sound from the muezzin is one of the dearest sounds for me in Turkey, was this a little bit too much ...which it also was for the alarm in a car parked near by: When the muezzin had done his part, the car continued his desperate cry for help, which never came .....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Following a recent one night stay at this hotel I have this report to make:

I found this hotel in the Rough Guide to Turkey and stayed there with my Turkish girlfriend for one night. We were informed by the staff on arrival that we would have to take 2 rooms, as unmarried couples are not allowed to share. My Turkish friend had suspected this would be the case in the ultra conservative Konya, so we were not surprised, and gladly accepted to take 2 rooms, respecting the local customs.

My girlfriend was subsequently sexually assaulted by the attendant who showed her to her room. He attempted to kiss her as he showed her the room. When she informed me of this later I suggested we move from the hotel but she played down the incident and said it was ok. We returned to the hotel later in the day and the attendant showed her to the wrong room, got on the floor and tried to grab at her legs. She quickly returned to the reception and got the right room key.

As you can imagine I was absolutely livid when I heard about this incident, but also realised that I could get myself into a lot of trouble if I tried to approach the attendant at the time, and end up in a Turkish cell for the night.

We begrudgingly stayed the night in the hotel, I escorted by friend to her room on returning in the evening (the attendant was off duty then), and discovered that they had put her in a room on the complete opposite side of the hotel - one that was difficult to find. My room was much nearer the reception - with other vacant rooms near to it.

In the morning I insisted we report the attendant to the manager. I began to explain in English, but as he was having difficulty in understanding me my friend explained everything to him in Turkish. She identified the attendant on CCTV and the manager insisted that he would be dismissed. Though as we were leaving, I cannot confirm whether or not he was actually sacked. For the record, he was not a Turk, possibly an Afghan, though we are not sure.

Maybe this was an isolated incident, but it was completely unacceptable, and especially infuriating as we were happy to respect their rules on separate rooms. I also noticed that the reception was usually occupied by about 6 men, many of whom were quite happy to stare my girlfriend up and down, even as I caught their eyes accusingly.

I realise this review contains strong accusations against this establishment, but please read my other reviews to see positive experiences of my mostly fantastic trip to Turkey.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
8  Thank TurfMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

They park your car for you, offer you a welcoming glass of tea, whisk your luggage away and make you feel at home immediately - just what we needed after a long drive. Arriving for our second overnight stay at the Yeni Kosk Esra during the return journey, we walked into reception where the manager, Mustafa, was sharing a communal dish of bulgar wheat, chickpeas and meat with some friends. He immediately invited us over to share it (all four of us) and ordered more food and tea - all free of charge. Boith rooms were comforable, clean and reasonably spacious with satellite TV, air conditioning and free wi-fi but you will be woken up by the nearby mosque. That's part of being in Turkey for us and as privileged holidaymakers we could roll over and go back to sleep rather than having to to get up and pray. Breakfast is from the buffet amid the entertainingly eccentric breakfast room decor with the usual choice of cheese, olives, cucumber, tomatoes, sausage, hard-boiled egg, jam etc plus delicious tahini with 'pekmez ' grape syrup - a good substitute for peanut butter-deprived Americans.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m0tm0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konya hotels
0.2 mi away
Safa Royal Muze Hotel
Safa Royal Muze Hotel
#27 of 39 in Konya
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Konak Otel
Konak Otel
#26 of 39 in Konya
7 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Konya
Ibis Konya
#12 of 39 in Konya
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Selcuk Otel Sems-i Tebrizi
1.9 mi away
Demosan City Hotel
Demosan City Hotel
#23 of 39 in Konya
14 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dundar Hotel
Dundar Hotel
#13 of 39 in Konya
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosk & Esra Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosk & Esra Otel

Address: Aziziye Mah. Kadilar 2 Sok. No:7 Karatay Merkez, Karatay, Konya, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Konya Province > Konya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Konya
Price Range: £20 - £554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kosk & Esra Otel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kosk & Esra Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing