We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gunes Motel Nemrut
Nearby Hotels
US$65
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Divalin Hotel(Malatya)
US$55
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$45
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
4
7
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
7
11
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Like many reviewers I took the Nemrut Dagi tour from Malatya that is run by Günes Motel. Even though I'd booked ahead by e-mail, I was still confused as to where to meet up with the tour, as apparently the famous Kemal is now sick and not frequenting the usual tea garden. I recommend just going into any one of the many travel agents in the centre of town as they all know who to talk to.

I was picked up at 1130 from the travel agents and did the rounds picking up others from their hotels, leaving Malatya around midday. The journey to Günes Motel is about two hours and the scenery is fantastic. The accommodation itself is fine - fairly basic rooms but pleasant enough. The bathroom was a little dirty but not too bad. For the techno crowd there is no WiFi or cell coverage, however, at the top of Nemrut Dagi people were using their phones just fine.

Although they didn't speak much English, the staff were very friendly and we were welcomed with free flowing tea. Our group chose to walk up the hill for the sunset and the views make the journey well worthwhile. Staying at the Günes Motel, including transfers, dinner and breakfast is now 120TL, plus you have to pay 9TL park entrance fee at the gate just further on from the motel. Following sunset we were driven down the hill to the motel and served dinner, which was of a reasonable standard (not chicken schnitzel like all the other reviewers!).

In the morning we were woken at 0430 and driven up the hill again to enjoy the sunrise. It was pretty windy and hence trousers and a jacket are highly recommended. Afterwards we returned to the motel for a simple breakfast, before being driven back to Malatya.

All in all, whilst the motel itself is nothing amazing, the overall package provided is and I'd happily recommend others visit Nemrut Dagi from the northern side.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1985Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

As seasoned travellers, we were not expecting much in the way of comfort and the beds were OK (I brought a hot water bottle with me which took away the chill), but the room was not at all clean, flies buzzing around, dirty windows, the bathroom was indescribable, no electric light or toilet paper. (Health and Safety would have a field day here!). We slept in our day clothes and couldn't wait to hot foot it back to Malatya for a hot shower. No cook, so the Manager was filling in for him in the culinary department; he had better stick to his day job. The chips had been cooked in greasy oil and left to sit for an hour or so! Yuk! And just when you could do with a drink - no alcohol is served. This place has so much to offer, but obviously the owner is reluctant to spend any money on improvements. It now costs tl120 for the round trip per person from Malatya. The magnificence and beauty of Nemrut Dag help one to forget the shortcomings of Gunes.

Stayed: April 2013
6  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The Gunes is really used only by those travelling from the city of Malatya to Mt. Nemrut. The trip to Nemrut, however, is worth the suffering inflicted by staying in this hotel. The location is superb and the beds ok but you need a nose plug and poor eye-sight to survive a bathroom visit. Better make it a quick one at that and make sure you have showered before you get there! The evening meal was left on the plate by 3 of the 6 people in our group. Only the men could stomach it. The breakfast was better but still not at all good. If you go there take some food with you in case your meal is as bad as ours was. Still, Nemrut rocks!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hasi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

In Lonely Planet the number of the motel is wrong, so when we arrived after the sunset they didn't have our reservation (we were 6 of us!). Fortunately they had enough available rooms!
It's cheap, with dinner and breakfast included (as you don't have anything but trees and sheeps and rocks within many kilometers!), the food was good enough!
Rooms are poor but they're ok as it's clean.
The receptionist was really kind and gave us tips for planning next days in Eastern Anatolia.
If you decide to visit Nemrut Dagi from Malatya at the sunset, you don't have other choice for accommodation, so closed to the site.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cia2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

This is a much better deal than visiting Mt Nemrut from the south. It's quicker overall and you get the advantage of being 10 minutes from the top. Plus you get the chance to see both sunset and sunrise. I preferred the statues on the sunset side. Be sure to bring some warm clothes, especially for sunrise.

Google the Gunes and they should get back to you fairly quickly. It would be best if you could get Ramazan's email from them. His english is much better and you'll ultimately have to meet up with him to take the tour anyway. The place is rough around the edges but considering the price and the fact that you're there for the scenery it's a great deal!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anevolver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews