We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what it says on the tin....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ceren Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ceren Hotel
Ranked #75 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what it says on the tin....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

A basic hotel with a wow factor location.We stayed with a group of 5 adults 2 children in Sept 2010.Just returned and if I had to sum up this hotel I would say without the wow factor of its location right on the front at Calis beach I probably would not recommend it to people who are used to attentive service and friendly staff.On arrival a rather glum manager handed us our key and promptly returned to his office leaving me and my nine year old daughter to carry up a large heavy suitcase up two flights of stairs.The bar staff were young and really semed only interested and attentive if you were a female in your twenties.
Breakfast was adequate and always plenty of fresh bread and coffee available.The rooms were cleaned daily with very friendly hard working staff who made up for the sullen bar staff and manager. Fabulous sea view from the balcony with the most amazing sunsets.The kids loved the pool which had a seperate tots area.Sun beds were in short supply on occasions.We opted for no air conditioning which was ok if you left the door open although ear plugs were a must with the bar music up to midnight and beyond. Air conditioning was at a charge of four pound a night and a charge for a safe and fridge the cost could soon add up.
In summary I would book this hotel if you want a good value hotel in a wow location good for families wanting a week in the sun that wont break the bank.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    10
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
15
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

I have stayed at the Ceren before and was horrified by what I read on Tripadvisor after booking. However, with the exception of the 'club' it has not changed a great deal. It has a fabulous location, right on the beach and our rooms were certainly very clean. Our sheets were changed every other day and our towels every three days.There was only one night we were disturbed by the noise, but we were at the back.

The breakfast is typical Turkish buffet and consists of: Bread, brown or white, a toaster, feta cheese, yellow cheese, salami, boiled eggs, fresh tomatoes, cucumber, olives, cereal, yoghurt, strawberry and cherry jam and honey. There is also tea, coffee, milk and cherry juice and orange juice on alternate days (although these are longlife or powdered I think).

The room was clean, and the beds quite hard. They do charge extra for aircon, about £2 a night I think and for the safe, but for a seafront hotel I think it is excellent value for money. They do not play loud music by the pool during the day and I was really pleased to lie there in peace reading my book.

Overall I had a lovely time and I do not sweat the little things. A lot of people seemed to be fed up with things, but they were things that didn't bother me.
I think it is very much a case of is your glass half empty or half full. I am going to put a picture on when I get it downloaded. It is a picture from my balcony. If you see a scrubby yard then don't book this hotel. If you see stunning mountains and islands in a sparkling sea then it is probably worth booking.

Two more things - 1) we ate at the hotel restaurant once and would not recommend it. We liked Er Oz which was on the corner at the turn off for the water taxi and the Turkish Kitchen next to the Merhaba about 100 yds down from the hotel. 2) We paid for some trips with Seaview tours. I would avoid them. My grandson and his girlfriend, both 17 paid £30 of their own money for a trip. She fell ill and couldn't go and he refused to change it. He said that the boatman wouldn't change it but I know that wasn't true. So the children lost their money. He also wasted a whole morning of ours by not turning up on time and then taking us to the wrong place. Book with them at your peril, and be warned they also are involved with Focus tours. There are lots of companies to choose from so be careful.

Overall I love Turkey, Calis is a great little resort and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hevcbsiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

nice clean hotel with adequate rooms and on the seafront. Pool was clean- thats the good bits.

Breakfast is meadocre and repetitive

On arrival you get stung for airconditioning and safety deposit as extra and these are not cheap!

It was not peaceful, particularly at night time as the hotel has leased off their bar to a third party. The bar staff seem to use both the pool for their own games and play load music until the early hours- loads of people complained, but you just get ignored- it seems the staff were having their own party and the management off the hotel seemed unable to curtail them!

Otherwise an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fethiye hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Witham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

I have just come back from a stay in the Ceren and felt I owed it to future customers to write a review!
This hotel is situated in a great beach view location, however that is the ONLY plus point!
On arrival we were told there were no staff available to help us with our Luggage, up two flights of stairs, we were also told that we had to pay for Air con, Safe and Fridge, none of which were reasonably priced!
The rooms are very dated and bedding and Towels were very shabby and grey. The pictures on Thomson website and in brochure are definitely not a true representation of the rooms available!
Breakfast is between 8 and 10 am however most of the food is gone by 9am and is not replenished so get there early!!
The pool area is ok, but not cleaned regularly and the toilets are cleaned even less regularly!! On complaining to the rep we were told to speak to the manager who told us to complain to the Bar! This was a completely seperately run business and had nothing to do with the hotel, confirmed by the manager himself at a later date when we complained about the loud music at 2am in the morning when he said there was nothing he could do about it!
If you are staying with Thomson all I can say is don't rely on your rep for anything, he is useless!!!
Basically I would not recommend this hotel, it is very poor value for money and I would not stay here again, I am suprised that Thomson even put this in their Brochure at all!! In the words of the Turkish Manager of the pool bar "you are staying in the worst Hotel in Calis!!"
We have stayed on Calis on several occasions and have had fabulous holidays and can only say avoid this hotel and choose another!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shunk1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We have stayed in Calis Beach on a number of occasions and have had really relaxing and enjoyable holidays. However, on arrival at the Ceren Hotel we were asked for extra money for a room with a sea view (this had been requested when booking the hotel) The young member of staff was quite insistent that there wasn't a room booked for us with a sea view and it would cost us more money. We also had to pay for air con and a safe. We were offered a fridge in the room for another £18.00

We had great difficulty relaxing and sleeping at night ,as in the hotel grounds there was a bar that played music until the early hours of the morning (more appropriate for Ibiza) the music at times was so loud that the furniture in the bedroom was vibrating. We spoke to the manager of the hotel who said there was nothing he could do as he had rented out the bar to someone else and he refused to turn down the music. So for the whole of the holiday this continued. The young member of staff who booked us into the hotel either smirked at us or avoided us. The holiday company rep told us to put in a complaint and a claim for compensation when we returned home as there was nothing he could do. There is a noise curfew in turkey where music and noise has to be reduced by 12am this was ignored.

The hotel cleaning staff were extremely pleasant and friendly as was the lady who catered for breakfasts.

The hotel is situated on the sea front and you get wonderful views of the sunset for which Calis is famous. I would not recommend this hotel to friends or family but maybe to a group of teenagers. It was not conducive to a good relaxing holiday

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We travelled wıth Thomsons ''Just' and thıs about sums up the hotel. Whıle the rooms are clean they are extremly dated and held together wıth stıcky tape and hope. Watch out for the hıdden costs on arrıval we were hıt wıth Aırcon at four ponds per day and a safe and frıdge for eıghteen ponds for the two weeks. Thıs hotel needs some serıous attensıon. Whıle we were there we were wıthout hot water for three days and when we complaıned by coıncıence the manager / owner decıded to dose the pool wııth chemııcals so we couldn't use ıt the next day. We also had trouble wıth water comıng through the ceılıng turns out they forgot to grout around the shower ın the bathroom above. They fırst thought that the leak was comıng from the aır condıtıonıng but we came back to fınd the pıpes etc all over the floor.
The cleanıng staff are great and generally they try there best. The receptıonıst (Syble) speaks the best englısh and he trıes. The owner / manager (Bazıl) hasnt go a clue what a good hotel he could have.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

we booked with thomsons to stay in the ceren. when we got there they did not have our booking and had no room for us. when we got there at midnight the bar in front of the hotel was playing really loud music and whilst on holiday in turkey we heard a lot of people complaining about this music being played as late as 5 in the morning including the rep not being happy. if you want loud music all through the night book this hotel but if you like to sleep i would not. however this hotel is right on the beach!!!
i am also going to write a review for the harman hotel where we actually stayed. brilliant upgrade and thomsons gave us some money to make up for the problem of the hotel being full!!!!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Welshcocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kerim
Hotel Kerim
#49 of 102 in Fethiye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
4.6 mi away
Club Hotel Turkuaz Garden
Club Hotel Turkuaz Garden
#46 of 102 in Fethiye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mendos
Hotel Mendos
#69 of 102 in Fethiye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mutlu
Hotel Mutlu
#16 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.9 mi away
Remer Hotel
Remer Hotel
#27 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bezay Hotel
Bezay Hotel
#45 of 102 in Fethiye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceren Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceren Hotel

Property: Ceren Hotel
Address: 1082. Sok. No:72 Fethiye Merkez, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ceren Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Ceren Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceren Hotel Fethiye
Ceren Hotel Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing