We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Tree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blacktree Farm and Cottages
Ranked #21 of 97 Fethiye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This summer we, my husband, my two kids and I, decided to have a tour starting from Kuşadası, Aydın and ending at Olympos, Antalya. Black Tree was just a two days stop over of our family road trip.We did not know what to expect because we only saw the pictures and read the comments, and made our reservation through the internet. When going there, 1600 m. above sea level, many times I thought we were lost. When climbing up the view was awesome. Only when we reached there I could believe that there was a place called Black Tree. And after a small tour around I thought we were in heaven. We spent two wonderful days at Black Tree. The stone house, with a fireplace and splendid furniture, food and people serving were all so amazing. It was really peaceful for us adults and so adventurous for our kids. They spent whole day at the pool and shared wonderful time, chasing rabbits at night and spending time with two sweet dogs, Maddie and Boncuk during the day and at dinner time. It is an ideal place for whole family. Adults can spend the day and the night without wondering where the kids are and what they are doing. There are workshops, pottery, mozaics, etc. and activities like pony riding and tracking for kids set by Anthea, the owner of the place. At the end of our stay there, neither my husband and I nor the kids wanted to leave.
It is especially a wonderful place for families. During our stay there, there were 10 kids, including ours, having great time.

Selin Alataş

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank selinengin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We spent an enchanting week at Blacktree Farm in August with my husband and 2 girls aged 14yrs and 10yrs old. We stayed in one of the detached 2 bed cottages which oozed rustic charm .The small kitchen was basic,but adequate for our needs and there was delicious organic food served all day in their restaurant which was very reasonably priced.The farm had plenty for the kids to do and the swimming pool was a magnet for all especially because of the beautiful inviting shaded cushioned areas around the pool .There were lots of other things to do around such as tennis, horse riding, walking trails and mountain biking but best of all were the hosts Anthea and Bob (Gurbuz) ,they are the most welcoming generous hosts you could wish for .Anthea has an amazing zest and passion for the place and surrounding area that it is infectious and Bob is a wonderful host in the restaurant ,both would bend over backwards to help us any way they could. This is a lovely enchanting magical place that we share reluctantly with others as we would honestly like to keep to ourselves as a secret hide away!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the detached cottages which are quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JandRDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We've just returned from a truly delightful fortnight at Black Tree. We are a family with two young sons, 7 and 5, and found it to be just the most magical place. The owners Anthea and Bob go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. the cottages are charming, the pool perfect for a cooling dip and the shaded, cushioned areas around it offer comfortable shade from the sun. The children were entertained not only by the pool, pony riding and the farm animals but also with Anthea's arts and crafts. While we were there she did mosaic and pottery with them as well as organising family activities in the evening for those that wanted to participate. Our friends were also staying in the first week and in the second week another lovely family arrived so the kids had others to play with which was nice, although the small scale of Black Tree means that you really feel you are getting away from it all for a relaxing break.

The cosy restaurant offers delicious food, much of it organic produce from the farm and it's a lovely place to unwind with one of Bob's famous G&T's in the evening. Part of the charm of Black Tree is its idyllic mountain location. As a result it's cooler than the beach resorts lower down so we were always glad to be returning to Black Tree after a day out. The mountain road down to Olu Deniz is not for the fainthearted but once you've done it a couple of times it gets easier and there is an alternative but longer route. We did plenty during our stay, boat trips and the fish market at Fethiye, ancient sites at Xanthos and Latoon and days at the beach at Olu Deniz and Patara but all interspersed with days just chilling out at Black Tree. A fabulous holiday in a very special place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I spent a week with my boyfriend at Black Tree Cottages and it was bliss. Wonderful to be away from it all up in the mountains where the air was fresh and the views incredible. The farm has a beautiful swimming pool with cushioned rest areas surrounding it where we spent many hours relaxing. There is also a tennis court, basketball net, games room and a small library and all sorts of animals roaming around including tortoises! Delicious home grown and homemade food is served all day by the incredibly friendly staff and owners. You hardly need to leave the farm! On days when we felt a bit more adventurous we made trips out to local beaches and towns recommended the owners, which were all stunning and within easy reach.

I'd highly recommend Black Tree to anyone seeking a tranquil and beautiful environment in which to unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Black tree is very special. Set high up in the mountains there is no humidity and a gentle cooling breeze. The stone cottages are comfortable and cool and are moments from a welcoming pool which has shaded cushion areas to rest in. . The restaurant uses organic produce grown on the farm and the meals cooked by Ayhan are just delicious. If you want to self cater the kitchens are well equipped in the cottages and you can stock up at local shops. Hire of a car gives you access to beautiful beaches, historic sites and amazing views. The owners Bob and Anthea make Black Tree a wonderful place to be. Anthea knows everything about the area and is full of historical facts, advice and suggestions of where to go. Bob is just Bob - the best company you could ever wish for. Black Tree is ideal for children - they have the freedom to explore in safety, animals to feed and the chance to do pottery with Anthea and have tractor rides with Bob. If you are looking for somewhere to lie under a tree in dappled shade with the soundgof goat bells in the distance this is the place for you - you will go back again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This was one of many visits to the Fethiye region and words cannot express the incredibly wonderful moment in time that was my holiday at Black Tree Cottages.
Whilst my friend, her children and I had confidently opted for a mixture of the adventure (renting a vehicle and driving from the airport at night...see below!) and the quiet, family friendly environment, nothing could prepare me for the sheer joy of the place....Being greeted warmly at the gates, long lazy breakfasts (kids have the loving dogs to distract them), stunning organic homemade food, traditional charm of the very comfortable cottages, awe inspiring scenery...and lots and lots of fun!
The wonderful proprieters Anthea and Bob manage to create a 'home from home' atmosphere that is better than any home! Both are very inclusive, familiar and relaxed, Anthea is the extremely capable host with superior knowledge, on just about anything! but mainly local places to visit, logistical tips, history of the region and culture. For instance Anthea would write a new Turkish Proverb everyday on the Daily Special Board with an English translation, and one day all the Specials were unique Turkish foods all being with the letter K!! Inventive, funny and very tasty! Local living legend Bob has a wonderfully unique way of making gin and tonics and were the best I have tasted!
Making lifelong friends and being in the warmth of infamous Turkish hospitality has previously caused me to feel like never going anywhere again but Turkey and now I dont feel I would want to stay anywhere else but Black Tree. I look forward in the future to seeing the farm in Spring, all green and lush and late late summer when the fire is built in the wonderful looking restaurant!
Practicalities
Cottage windows are screened (we still used plug ins) and not at all too hot without air con, even in August!
Strong walking sandles for the local mountain walks
Stock up cupboards cheaply and well from local markets ie Esen
Plenty of books, fiction and non fiction in the library to save on luggage weight
Try to change your cash at local Olu Deniz, excellent rates compared to airport and banks

A very very special place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I'm a single mum with daughter 9 and son 3 and have never holidayed with my children. So being brave I decided to holiday with my best friend for company and support! We hired a car from Dalaman Transfers for the duration of the holiday and picked it up from the airport at 9pm. We followed the excellent directions we had been sent by Dalaman Transfers and with the roads getting narrower and eventually turning into hairpin bends up the mountain we arrived at Black Tree Cottages at 11pm. We rang the bell on the gate and Anthea welcomed us and happily settled us in to our cottage.

We awoke to blue skies, stunning views of the mountains and the kids went wild with excitement! The Turkish breakfast was superb as was all the food in the restaurant. Fresh produce grown just yards from the restaurant was used extensively in the cooking so it was delicious. There are daily specials to choose from and Anthea and Bob were always on hand to help with a large gin and tonic or a Turkish coffee or tea.

I was so comfortable at Black Tree Cottages with its quiet location in the mountains that I was happy for my son to go to sleep in our Cottage while my friend and I dined in the restaurant. My kids had such freedom to roam and explore safely. They built homes for tortoises, rode the donkey and pony, had tractor rides, watched films in the strictly kids only room, did treasure hunts and made pottery. All put on for free by Anthea and Bob and their team. The pool offered wonderful shaded cushioned areas to relax and read and more than enough sun loungers. The kids spent hours in the pool and my son gained enormous confidence in the water. The other guests, some with kids and some without, were enormously friendly to each other and the kids (of all ages, 20 months-14) quickly made friends and played happily together.

Having a car was a good idea to enable us to explore the local area. We went to Kabak beach, Olu Deniz, paragliding, swam with turtles at Dalyan, tickled trout and ate on a treetop platform at Yakapark, were wowed by ancient ruins at Tlos and Kayakoy, waded through waist high water at Saklikent Gorge, the old town at Fethiye with its fantastic fish market and scenic Kas with it's Greek architecture and nooks and crannies to wander through.

All that said it was always a relief to be going back to Black Tree Cottages for it's calmness. We would rest for a day by the pool then venture out the next. The temperature down on the coast from Black Tree was a very humid 40 but up in the mountains the humidity went so the heat was easier to cope with. Plenty of drinks kept us all going!

We couldn't fault our holiday at Black Tree. We all talk about it with tender memories that will be treasured. Hopefully we'll be back next year - unless you read this and it could be fully booked.........

Room Tip: All the cottages semi-circle the rear of the site. They differ in size and number of bedrooms so wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Amber2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0.0 mi away
Minu Hotel
Minu Hotel
#12 of 102 in Fethiye
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jiva Beach Resort
Jiva Beach Resort
#4 of 102 in Fethiye
1,926 reviews
0.0 mi away
Letoonia Club & Hotel
Letoonia Club & Hotel
#11 of 102 in Fethiye
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fethiye Guest House
Fethiye Guest House
#7 of 97 in Fethiye
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antas Deluxe Aparts
Antas Deluxe Aparts
#56 of 102 in Fethiye
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dikencik Cottages
Dikencik Cottages
#1 of 1 in Yesiluzumlu
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacktree Farm and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacktree Farm and Cottages

Address: Karaagac Koyu - Esen - Fethiye, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Fethiye
Price Range: £42 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated off the beaten track in the lush heart of beautiful farmland and beneath the soaring mountain landscapes of the southwest of Turkey, Black Tree Organic Farm and Cottages is the ideal rural getaway.While a retreat for those seeking a holiday in Turkey away from the tourist hotspots and crowds, Black Tree is also a great place for young families looking for an active and creative vacation amidst unspoiled nature. Just 2 km from the famous Lycian Way trekking route, this traditional farmstead also offers a unique alternative to camping overnight and other local lodgings for walkers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blacktree Farm and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blacktree Farm And Cottages Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing