We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blacktree Farm and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blacktree Farm and Cottages
Ranked #16 of 93 Fethiye B&B and Inns
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

our best family holiday yet-the kids loved it. we stayed a day at the farm & the next day we went out; to Saklikent Gorge, to Patara beach three times and kayaked around St Nicholas island, visiting ruins on the way home.
we ate most evenings & half our lunches from the restaurant, the kids enjoyed the food & we loved it- not a duff meal. I think our bill came to 400 pounds- certainly much cheaper than we thought the 2 week total would be
Anthea looked after us with great care & interest, laying on arts & crafts for the children & even a birthday party for our oldest. Bob her husband kept us entertained too. I fell in love with 1 of the dogs (don't much like animals usually) & the other dog became our faithful companion coming on our early morning runs. The staff also were very smiley & nice
days at the farm passed tranquilly with beautiful short evening walks (scent of pine trees & vistas over craggy headlands of golden suns plopping into blinding seas), pony & donkey rides and the children able to explore freely around the farm- the kids loved the freedom. we chilled at the poolside sheltering under a roof of grape vines lounging on the Turkish divans- we all felt really relaxed by the time we left
At the beach the temperature could be a ferocious humid 40+ but at the farm it was a dry 30. evenings were warm or even cool & some nights we had to close the windows because we felt a little chilly
we can't go back because a second time won't be as wonderful as our first & we've 'done' what there is to do nearby- which is a great shame because I can't expect our next holiday to be as wonderful as this one was

Room Tip: house number 3 has 3 rooms which worked well for the 5 of us, would recommend highly if you are 5 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markspitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent here one night, until we walked on the Lycian Way. Because of this my review come from not just the average turist feeling.
The place of the hotel is very special, very peacefull, with some rustic family cottages, with outdoor pool, and very good kitchen with biofood. But the most important thing, the philosophy of the owner is fantastic! I like very much the balance between the business and the nature.
I have just 2 not positiv review, I need much cleaner bathroom, and the price a little bit UK compatible.
I think the place is especially very good for the families, not just for the hikers, and for everybody who want to be far from the tourist business!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miri-hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for 12 days. 12 delicious, relaxed, happy days. It is remote, definitely, but that's what's so wonderful about it - once you've made it up that mountain! After a couple of journeys the mountain road becomes quite ordinary (not the views which never fail to amaze!).

It's so easy to switch off here, the kids had such independence and freedom, which is a hugely wonderful thing for parents! The pool is fabulous with lots of gorgeous shady havens to relax in. The animals are great fun to watch and to be around, and Anthea and Bob are warm and welcoming and truly fabulous hosts. The restaurant is great and we ate there far more than we thought we would as just so easy and yummy! The few other families were all lovely and the children played together happily in the pool and sunshine. There are enough other people without it being anywhere near crowded. Perfect! We referred to our cottage as 'home' within hours!

It was hard to drag ourselves away from the poolside and the farm and the girls' new found friends, but we managed to get in a few trips, to gorgeous Patara (both ends of the beach are great), Olu Deniz which was cheesy but lots of fun for a noisy night out, a fabulous boat trip (organised by Anthea) to name a few. Whilst it was fun to get to busier places - it was always so wonderful to return to our little piece of heaven in the mountains. I have to confess to actually shedding some tears on the way home - that's how much I didn't want to leave! Can't be bad eh?!

This is what my 10 year old had to say.
"Best holiday ever. All the animals are very sweet and the food is delicious. Anthea helped us make mosaics and do pottery and block printing, which was brilliant. We miss you Blacktree"

Thank you Anthea and Bob, we hope to come back one day.

Room Tip: All the cottages that I saw were lovely. They're rustic and comfortable, not flashy, just as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceaupheee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

This really is a special place high in the hills between Olu Deniz and Patara beach. The owners Anthea and Bob have built a real haven from the touristy hoards below. We had a two bedroom log cabin , rustic , tranquil and characterful although the bathroom needs a bit of an overhaul. Chickens, turkeys, donkeys, rabbits and geese roam free and there is a sweet pool area with comfortable raised day beds. Our teenagers were happy with the table tennis, tennis and pool table plus there was a good library and lots of board games. We ate in the restaurant most evenings and the food was good. One thing to note: don't take the road from Olu Deniz unless you are in a 4 wheel drive. It is a rock track and long and difficult to negotiate . Ok in the mini- bus which clears the rocks. Take the other road from Esen by choice.
Finally , we drove to the main beach at Patara and much preferred that to Olu Deniz. Patara beach has great waves and a sandy base. Although there are sunbirds and a restaurant there the overall effect is not too touristy and the kids found the beach fun.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We are two youngish (34!) couples (unmarried) who spent 3 nights at Blacktree at the end of June. We came across the cottages on recommendation from a family member who was also intending to stay there over the summer and I must admit we weren’t disappointed.

If you are looking for a quaint, relaxing place with no distractions and don’t mind staying in a very remote place then this is the place for you.

We drove straight from Dalaman airport arriving at the cottages around midnight, and managed to find our way there with no problems despite the dirt track, and winding roads (not realising quite how traitorous those cliff drops were as it was pitch black!)

We stayed in Cottage No 9 – a 2 bed cottage (one double, one twin) with one bathroom but for the length of stay we were there and the amount of time we spent in the cottage (not a lot – just to sleep) it was perfectly adequate with a rustic charm.

As the cottages are so remote if you are intending on self catering it is worth taking food up with you before you arrive, however the food served in the Restaurant/Terrace was lovely and we couldn’t fault it and the service.

There are plenty of things to do at Blacktree. If you fancy some activities, bikes, and horse riding are available or you could just relax by the pool. We had a Turkish Bath and Massage from the man who visited the farm on the Sunday which was also lovely.

If you fancy a game of tennis during your stay there are rackets and balls available to use (though not quite up to Wimbledon standard!)

The boys decided to venture to ‘Butterfly Valley’ on recommendation from Anthea however despite the amazing views of the valley the path down is no more than rocks and rope (the girls were glad they stayed by the pool!)

Fresh water can be drunk from the well at Blacktree which is a novelty and the boys enjoyed fetching the water from the well (more so that it was FOC!).

We enjoyed our short stay and would certainly recommend it to other travellers looking for a slightly different stay in Turkey. We then spent a week in a luxury Villa near Kalkan which was an enjoyable but different experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

In Turkey we met dozens of warm and welcoming people. The owner of Blacktree Cottages was not one of them.
While hiking the Lycian Way, we spent one night at Blacktree Cottages. Rather than a warm greeting, the owner's first words to us were, "what is the relationship between you?" When we explained that we were a married couple travelling with our daughter she replied, and we repeat verbatim, "Good. We don't have unmarried people here. That would be awful." We were appalled. The picture of Jesus hanging on the wall of a bedroom added to the judgmental tone of the place.
A barely working shower and shutters that kept us awake slamming in the wind detracted further from a sense of warmth.
That said, the site itself is beautiful and charming. Hot tea and cheese biscuits replenished us after a long day of hiking. This was followed by a delicious dinner in front of a roaring fire. The local Turkish staff was incredibly friendly and attentive.
If you're a married couple and can prove it, consider a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikergirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burghausen, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

When researching this trip, we looked at the package holiday options in Turkey and knew very quickly that that just wasn't our thing. When we found Black Tree Farm and Cottages on booking.com, we immediately knew this was just what we were looking for: a place off the beaten track, family-friendly, peaceful and relaxing. And that is what we got. We had the place almost to ourselves for the first part of the week and were soon joined by other families toward the end, which was perfect for or son who enjoyed the company of other kids. We walked, hiked, biked, rode the ponies and I became very adept at driving on the mountain roads, which were a bit stressful at first, but you get used to it after a few days. It's the perfect place to combine a few days of sight-seeing with a few days of sheer relaxation. As a tip, I would also highly recommend before arriving at the farm that you purchase some basic supplies along the way, like milk, bread, coffee, butter, etc. so that on your first day you have some basics and don't have to drive back down the mountain right away after getting settled (though the farm does have a small shop). The food at the restaurant is excellent and every effort is made to meet dietary needs. Hosts Bob and Anthea are warm and hospitable and willingly share their knowledge of the area and will help you schedule any activities or make recommendations. They are an interesting couple with many good stories of their own travels, so makes sure you spend some time enjoying their company. Lastly, learn a few words of Turkish (hello, goodbye and thank you), it makes such a difference and will put a smile on the faces of the people you meet in this wonderful country.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilfayhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0.0 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#8 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinara Pension
Pinara Pension
#23 of 93 in Fethiye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Letoonia Club & Hotel
Letoonia Club & Hotel
#6 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jiva Beach Resort
Jiva Beach Resort
#4 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dikencik Cottages
Dikencik Cottages
#1 of 1 in Yesiluzumlu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacktree Farm and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacktree Farm and Cottages

Property: Blacktree Farm and Cottages
Address: Karaagac Koyu - Esen - Fethiye, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated off the beaten track in the lush heart of beautiful farmland and beneath the soaring mountain landscapes of the southwest of Turkey, Black Tree Organic Farm and Cottages is the ideal rural getaway.While a retreat for those seeking a holiday in Turkey away from the tourist hotspots and crowds, Black Tree is also a great place for young families looking for an active and creative vacation amidst unspoiled nature. Just 2 km from the famous Lycian Way trekking route, this traditional farmstead also offers a unique alternative to camping overnight and other local lodgings for walkers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blacktree Farm and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blacktree Farm And Cottages Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing