We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an affordable, bespoke and environmentally friendly holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blacktree Farm and Cottages
Ranked #18 of 96 Fethiye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I was delighted with our stay at Blacktree. It was the perfect retreat from the big tourist machine, while offering a good base to discover the Lycian coast.
The location is stunningly beautiful, an untouched mediterranean hamlet on a forested hill.

Anthea, the owner, is a gold mine of (local) knowledge and is always ready to lead the most entertaining conversations.

You can cook your own food in your cottage or eat at the restaurant. Daily specials are fresh, tasty, sourced locally and mostly organic. A real countryside treat!

I will definitely return...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arno-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Blacktree Farm and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2010

We had never been to Turkey before and were looking for something a bit different as we are not the type of people just to sit round a pool and stay in a high block.

This was our 2 year olds first holiday abroad where he was mobile.
We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom cottages, accommadation is basic but adaquate and comfortable. As we were quite high up and in October it did get chilly at night but that didn't bother us sitting round an open fire with a Gin & Whiskey.

The farm is set on a large plot of land with plenty to do for our 2 year old even though it was unfortunately too cold to swim. He was just happy roaming around visiting the animals and collecting stones!
The on site shop was a bit bare but that was due to the time of year - it was the end of the season for all the fruit & Veg. We would love to go back in the Spring as there would be an abundunce of organically grown produce on the farm. We cooked most lunches in the cottage but had dinner in the restaurant where the food was delicious home made traditional Turkish dishes. Not too expensive you have a tab to pay off at the end of your stay.

We cannot speak highly enough of BOB and all his staff - they really did make the holiday due to there selfless hospitality and kindness. He was a mind of information and advised us on all we needed to know in the area. Our little boy fell in love with BOB and he became the target of his attention. Nothing was too much trouble - but i am sure this was partly to do with us being the only family staying at the time. I am sure at the height of season when there are lots of kids BOB may keep a lower profile!!!!

In nutshell we would hightly reccomend BlackTree to any family with energetic little ones who love the outdoors. Our little boy had a wonderful time and we loved the peace and quite and getting back to the simple things - a million miles away from the busy lives we have at home.

Thankyou BOB from us all - a high 5 and Cheers from Charlie!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Travelling_Lowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Would highly recommend Blacktree Cottages for anyone looking for a totally relaxing holiday. The friendly owners have it just right with a sociable but non instusive environment. They help everyone get the best out of their stay by providing advice on the local area and they also sometimes do walks and pick ups for those who do not have a hire car.
The food is fantastic - whether you fancy somethng on thats on the menu or not - they are so flexible and friendly. I also loved the novelty of drawing drinking water from a well, then in the evening the water in the cottages is heated by the wood burning stove.
With a hire car you can go to Oludeniz, Fethyie, Kalkan, Kas etc. We went down to Oludeniz one early morning and the drive was beautiful but after so much relaxation the town was a bit hectic for us so we quickly come back up the mountain to the peace and tranquility of Blacktree. Driving through the local villages is also educational - showing rural turkey in its element with lots of friendly kids running around the villages and goats on the roads inbetween the villages.
Although we didn't take advantage of the great walking in the area it looks phenomenal - it was a bit too hot in august to do much between 8am and 6pm.... but them maybe that was just our excuse to keep chilling out by the lovely pool!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iolsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

From the moment we arrived (after midnight due to a delayed flight) Anthea and Bob made us feel welcomed into their home at Black Tree and were wonderful hosts throughout our stay, full of stories, local information, recommendations and good humour. This was the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday we have ever had.

Black Tree itself - the cottages a thoughtfully spaced out in the grounds, and inside simply and comfortably furnished with everything you need. Each has a veranda for al fresco drinks/food, you could cook if you want to, spotlessly clean all round. The pool area is lovley with shady pergolas and sun loungers, and the restaurant has both a large shaded terrace and room indoors with a fire for cosy evenings when the mountain air cools down.

Food - was always delicious, whether Turkish breakfast dishes like menemen, snacks like hand made hummus (I will never be able to buy supermarket ones now I've had the real thing), daily changing dinner specials like potato and lentil pastries or moussaka, or desserts like baklava. And you must try Turkish tea (cay) too.

Location and things to do - Black Tree Cottages are 1000m up Mount Baba (Baba Dag) with no neighbours so it is incredibly peaceful. You are near to many ancient Lycian sites, beaches (usually involving a walk/scramble from the car as they are in valley coves), marked trail walks and there are adventure sports organised from nearby towns so there is lots to choose from if you can tear yourself away from your poolside pergola.

Driving - it is about 30 minutes drive to Oludeniz, the first part of which is on a newly blasted track so it is bumpy. We managed fine in a hired Hyundai Getz, just take it slow and steady! The other side down towards Esen, Xanthos etc is much better with proper roads until the last couple of km then a good condition track.

Green credentials - water is carefully collected and re-cycled for use on the farm, hot water comes from wood-burning stoves (lit for you by the staff and was always piping hot whenever we needed it), food is organic.

Things we did sing Black Tree as our base - sunbathing, walking in the local hills and forest, ancient sites of Letoon and Xanthos, Kayakoy abandoned town, Kabak and Butterfly Valley beaches, Saklikent gorge, a Turkish bath, sea kayaking

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hip_chyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This was one of the most relaxing holidays that we ever had. The kids were liberated as it was safe for them to wonder around the farm, made friends and got close contact with animals. Having hired a car, was nice for exploring the area, although was it tempting to just chill all day by the pool. The lack of mobile reception and internet connection, meant that you would be in the farm unaware of the time, day or date of the week, and that is a sign of a deep relaxation. The food served in the restaurant was fresh and locally sourced. The best part was the hospitality of the owners and staff. We had a great holiday and looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RemziyeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Black tree is located in a very remote and dramatic spot high in the mountains overlooking the sea. It is the ideal place to slow down, reflect and nourish yourself with great food and fresh air. You can very easily while the days away in the shade of the grape vines by the pool or on the veranda of your cottage, and there's no pressure to go hunting for things to see. If you do however like to get up and see the area there are lots of ruins of the ancient city of Lycia which the owner Anthea conducts very lively tours of.

The cottages are beautifully laid out with Turkish textiles and homemade decorations made by Anthea. They are well equipped for self-catering though it's difficult to get produce as varied and fresh as in the farm's restaurant, which serves delicious organic Turkish food all day. If on a tight budget you'll find food to cook but the restaurant is very reasonably priced and portions are big. Also if you are hoping to enjoy your drink be prepared for it to, of course, be much more expensive than in Europe - from £10 for a bottle of red wine.

Neither is this a beach holiday unless you fancy lots of steep downhill driving on unmade roads. If you won;t have a car it's not easy to get around, should you want to leave the farm, though there are a number of walks you can do from the farm - from a short stroll up a hill for an incredible view of mountain sloping down to the sea or longer treks through forest and nine 'lakes'. Once a week Black tree offer a beach service where you can get dropped off on the coast for the day and picked up - but once you get down to the spots full of tourists you'll be relieved to come back to the calm, quiet and cool of Black tree. Once a week is more than enough!

Here you will be welcomed into Bob and Anthea's home as though you are part of the family. It is a very warm and friendly place, ideal as a calming break from modern life, quite unique and thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jizephin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

This is an isolated organic farm with nine self-catering cottages. It is in a beautiful location 15 km south (and a world away from) Oludeniz.

The cottages are comfortable but not deluxe (no air-con but being high up it is cool enough at night for this not to be a problem). Like everywhere in Turkey the tap water isn't drinkable but you don't have to buy bottled water as there is a well on site and a nearby spring.

There is a small pool with shaded sitting areas. There are lots of things for children to do: rabbits to feed; a games room; a craft room and pottery; ponies and donkeys to ride; a soft chill out room with a dvd player.

If you don't want to buy fresh produce from the shop and cook yourself there is a restaurant with a varied and delicious menu.

It is not a good base for extensive touring (as I said it is remote) but there are excellent beaches - Kabak and Patara - within an hour's drive and the ancient ruins of Xanthos and Tlos and the wonderful Saklekent Gorge within easy reach.

Anthea and Bob the proprietors are friendly and helpful.

The atmosphere is gentle and relaxing - we felt refreshed in mind and body after our stay - our only regret was having to leave

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank btbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fethiye
0.0 mi away
Ece Saray Marina & Resort
Ece Saray Marina & Resort
#15 of 103 in Fethiye
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mozaik Boutique Hotel Rooms & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Sirin Apart Pension
Sirin Apart Pension
#16 of 96 in Fethiye
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jiva Beach Resort
Jiva Beach Resort
#5 of 103 in Fethiye
1,794 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilim Apart Hotel
Kilim Apart Hotel
#6 of 96 in Fethiye
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Uygar
Hotel Uygar
#3 of 96 in Fethiye
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacktree Farm and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacktree Farm and Cottages

Address: Karaagac Koyu - Esen - Fethiye, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Fethiye
Price Range: £42 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated off the beaten track in the lush heart of beautiful farmland and beneath the soaring mountain landscapes of the southwest of Turkey, Black Tree Organic Farm and Cottages is the ideal rural getaway.While a retreat for those seeking a holiday in Turkey away from the tourist hotspots and crowds, Black Tree is also a great place for young families looking for an active and creative vacation amidst unspoiled nature. Just 2 km from the famous Lycian Way trekking route, this traditional farmstead also offers a unique alternative to camping overnight and other local lodgings for walkers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blacktree Farm and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blacktree Farm And Cottages Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing