We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really really good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blacktree Farm and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blacktree Farm and Cottages
Ranked #16 of 93 Fethiye B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

A vacation at Blacktree Cottages is a unique experience – one of the highlights of our trip to Turkey. The only potential drawback, depending on what sort of vacation you are seeking, is that it is remote, very remote. That said, the drive up or down the narrow, winding mountain road to Blacktree can be an adventure itself.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FenStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oludeniz, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Having been tempted by the website, we booked our turkish holiday at Blacktree Cottages for early July. Our arrival at 4am produced the first evidence of the wonderful hospitality provided by our hostess Anthea who was at the cottage to greet us and make us feel welcome.
The cottages are simple clean and tastefully decorated with good kitchens and comfortable beds. Although temperatures on the coast soared to the high 30's, the cottages remained cool despite the lack of air conditioning.
A small shop and vegetable garden provide lots of food for those wishing to cook. We would highly recommed the onsite restaurant where local produce is cooked up to a very high standard. The restaurant is a good place to meet other guests in the evening over a bottle of Turkish wine.
Anthea and her husband Bob provided us with a wealth of information about local wildlife, walks and cultural visits. The site is quite remote with some spectacular sea views a short walk away. We stayed for 2 weeks with 2 teenagers. The teenagers tended to spend their days by the pool reading and playing tennis while my husband and I did some spectacular walks in the local mountains and down to isolated Mediterranean beaches). We rented a car with Anthea's assistance for the middle week which allowed exploration further afield-eg Saklikent Gorge and local Lycian ruins. There seemed to be plenty of other activities for those wanting to be more stationary- a small library, video room, pottery studio (guided by Antheas steady hand) and the pool surrounded by cushioned grape arbours.
The site is remote (half hour drive down a steep windy gravel road to the nearest town) and not for those who enjoy the bustle of a big resort but the holiday was one of our best . Many thanks to Anthea and her team.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a nice week at Black Tree, where we especially appreciated the relaxed pace, the lack of packaged tourism, and the delicious food! We loved the views driving up and down the mountain daily and felt right at home in our well appointed and tasteful cabin.

Be sure to have a car if you stay here, as it is difficult to do much exploring without one. With a car, you are a 45 minute drive from ancient ruins, hidden beaches, and shopping in Kas and Kalkan. Also, we recommend visiting when it isn't quite so hot (though, staying at such a high altitude as Black Tree meant that the humidity was considerably lower than by the coast).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racheloBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

I was delighted with our stay at Blacktree. It was the perfect retreat from the big tourist machine, while offering a good base to discover the Lycian coast.
The location is stunningly beautiful, an untouched mediterranean hamlet on a forested hill.

Anthea, the owner, is a gold mine of (local) knowledge and is always ready to lead the most entertaining conversations.

You can cook your own food in your cottage or eat at the restaurant. Daily specials are fresh, tasty, sourced locally and mostly organic. A real countryside treat!

I will definitely return...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arno-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We had never been to Turkey before and were looking for something a bit different as we are not the type of people just to sit round a pool and stay in a high block.

This was our 2 year olds first holiday abroad where he was mobile.
We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom cottages, accommadation is basic but adaquate and comfortable. As we were quite high up and in October it did get chilly at night but that didn't bother us sitting round an open fire with a Gin & Whiskey.

The farm is set on a large plot of land with plenty to do for our 2 year old even though it was unfortunately too cold to swim. He was just happy roaming around visiting the animals and collecting stones!
The on site shop was a bit bare but that was due to the time of year - it was the end of the season for all the fruit & Veg. We would love to go back in the Spring as there would be an abundunce of organically grown produce on the farm. We cooked most lunches in the cottage but had dinner in the restaurant where the food was delicious home made traditional Turkish dishes. Not too expensive you have a tab to pay off at the end of your stay.

We cannot speak highly enough of BOB and all his staff - they really did make the holiday due to there selfless hospitality and kindness. He was a mind of information and advised us on all we needed to know in the area. Our little boy fell in love with BOB and he became the target of his attention. Nothing was too much trouble - but i am sure this was partly to do with us being the only family staying at the time. I am sure at the height of season when there are lots of kids BOB may keep a lower profile!!!!

In nutshell we would hightly reccomend BlackTree to any family with energetic little ones who love the outdoors. Our little boy had a wonderful time and we loved the peace and quite and getting back to the simple things - a million miles away from the busy lives we have at home.

Thankyou BOB from us all - a high 5 and Cheers from Charlie!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Travelling_Lowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Would highly recommend Blacktree Cottages for anyone looking for a totally relaxing holiday. The friendly owners have it just right with a sociable but non instusive environment. They help everyone get the best out of their stay by providing advice on the local area and they also sometimes do walks and pick ups for those who do not have a hire car.
The food is fantastic - whether you fancy somethng on thats on the menu or not - they are so flexible and friendly. I also loved the novelty of drawing drinking water from a well, then in the evening the water in the cottages is heated by the wood burning stove.
With a hire car you can go to Oludeniz, Fethyie, Kalkan, Kas etc. We went down to Oludeniz one early morning and the drive was beautiful but after so much relaxation the town was a bit hectic for us so we quickly come back up the mountain to the peace and tranquility of Blacktree. Driving through the local villages is also educational - showing rural turkey in its element with lots of friendly kids running around the villages and goats on the roads inbetween the villages.
Although we didn't take advantage of the great walking in the area it looks phenomenal - it was a bit too hot in august to do much between 8am and 6pm.... but them maybe that was just our excuse to keep chilling out by the lovely pool!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iolsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

From the moment we arrived (after midnight due to a delayed flight) Anthea and Bob made us feel welcomed into their home at Black Tree and were wonderful hosts throughout our stay, full of stories, local information, recommendations and good humour. This was the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday we have ever had.

Black Tree itself - the cottages a thoughtfully spaced out in the grounds, and inside simply and comfortably furnished with everything you need. Each has a veranda for al fresco drinks/food, you could cook if you want to, spotlessly clean all round. The pool area is lovley with shady pergolas and sun loungers, and the restaurant has both a large shaded terrace and room indoors with a fire for cosy evenings when the mountain air cools down.

Food - was always delicious, whether Turkish breakfast dishes like menemen, snacks like hand made hummus (I will never be able to buy supermarket ones now I've had the real thing), daily changing dinner specials like potato and lentil pastries or moussaka, or desserts like baklava. And you must try Turkish tea (cay) too.

Location and things to do - Black Tree Cottages are 1000m up Mount Baba (Baba Dag) with no neighbours so it is incredibly peaceful. You are near to many ancient Lycian sites, beaches (usually involving a walk/scramble from the car as they are in valley coves), marked trail walks and there are adventure sports organised from nearby towns so there is lots to choose from if you can tear yourself away from your poolside pergola.

Driving - it is about 30 minutes drive to Oludeniz, the first part of which is on a newly blasted track so it is bumpy. We managed fine in a hired Hyundai Getz, just take it slow and steady! The other side down towards Esen, Xanthos etc is much better with proper roads until the last couple of km then a good condition track.

Green credentials - water is carefully collected and re-cycled for use on the farm, hot water comes from wood-burning stoves (lit for you by the staff and was always piping hot whenever we needed it), food is organic.

Things we did sing Black Tree as our base - sunbathing, walking in the local hills and forest, ancient sites of Letoon and Xanthos, Kayakoy abandoned town, Kabak and Butterfly Valley beaches, Saklikent gorge, a Turkish bath, sea kayaking

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hip_chyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0.0 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#8 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lykia Botanika Beach & Fun Club
0.0 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jiva Beach Resort
Jiva Beach Resort
#4 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 125 in Fethiye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinara Pension
Pinara Pension
#23 of 93 in Fethiye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacktree Farm and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacktree Farm and Cottages

Property: Blacktree Farm and Cottages
Address: Karaagac Koyu - Esen - Fethiye, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated off the beaten track in the lush heart of beautiful farmland and beneath the soaring mountain landscapes of the southwest of Turkey, Black Tree Organic Farm and Cottages is the ideal rural getaway.While a retreat for those seeking a holiday in Turkey away from the tourist hotspots and crowds, Black Tree is also a great place for young families looking for an active and creative vacation amidst unspoiled nature. Just 2 km from the famous Lycian Way trekking route, this traditional farmstead also offers a unique alternative to camping overnight and other local lodgings for walkers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blacktree Farm and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blacktree Farm And Cottages Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing