We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return - FANTASTIC!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillside Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We are a large family...we have 4 kids, so not many hotels can put us all up in one room, but we were pleasantly surprised with the ample space our two bedroom superior room had. The large balcony gave us all the floor space we needed too and the views were amazing. The food was of a very high standard, and the choice was incredible. The resort has everything you could want...there are quiet beaches for adults only, great family beaches with shingle which we grew to love (do have to wear beach shoes though) as unlike sand it doesn't get in all your crevises!!, a fabulous kids club, great selection of watersports, great pool, bars, nightclub....i could go on!! The staff were better than any i have come across. the shows every night were of a good standard. something for everyone i think....the kids loved it. My girls range from 13 to 18 months and we all had a fabulous time and can't wait to go back next year.
I will just say that if you're on a bit of a budget watch your drinks consumption!! Drink as much as you like for free during meal times in main restaurant (you will be charged for drinks at beach restaurant) and drink during happy hour, keep your consumption of ice cream to a minimum too!! Our bill on leaving was about £1,000 so just be careful!! But that did include crafts the kids did and some watersports.
But that said we had best holiday ever, and nothing would stop us booking again! in fact most of the people we met had been there at least 3 times, so if' that's not reccomendation i don't know what is!! BOOK NOW!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hoyleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2009

It is June 2009, we just came back from Hillside. It's difficult to say something that hasn't been said before in these numerous reviews.

Here's my take, maybe with a little more emphasis on the few negatives:

LOCATION:
Remote, secluded, isolated - perfect. Yet it's only a few minutes by a (free) shuttle bus or taxi to the nearby Fethiye. The surroundings are picturesque and unique, it would take a lot of effort to find a resort in this kind of beautiful bay in the Mediterranean Europe.

HOTEL
With the exception of a low-profile, almost shabby reception building, the rest of the hotel is fantastic. The buildings are for most parts brilliantly worked into the terrain. Considering the large number of rooms they have here, it doesn't feel that way looking at it from most angles. Kudos to the architects and the builders. Having said that, stay away from blocks 500,600 and 700. They're near a disco club called Pasha and it may get noisy late into the night. And that's highly annoying if you get stuck there. Fortunately we were able to change the room after the first night. Second problem: elevators. If you have a room right next to one of these (there are 2 in total), depending on how much of a heavy sleeper you are, expect to be woken up at night.

The best blocks: 200 and 300, as they are the closest to the beach and main restaurant, 400 is ok too, but a little further away, though that much quieter. That's the one we were in, and we liked it a lot.

ROOMS
I believe we had one of the cheaper D rooms without a balcony, but they were clean and modern looking. Either recently built (don't know how old the hotel is) or renovated. No complaints here whatsoever.

STAFF
I'm critical by nature, but these guys were truly great. From the receptionist, through waiters, cooks, customer service reps to cleaning ladies. They are helpful, work very hard, they're friendly yet by no means pushy, and you practically don't hear them say no. Kudos to them and to the management. I don't know who runs or owns this place, but this is truly a greatly managed hotel where things work the way they should.

But ultimately that's no surprise. I've been to Turkey before and they really try hard. It should be a precondition for the those lazy bums in Greece, Italy or Spain to visit and learn from the Turks how to provide services before they are allowed to open a hotel.

FOOD
Delicious, huge variety, plenty of it. I've been to some fine all inclusive hotels in the Caribbean, but this was the best holiday resort food so far in my life. Once again great management, great cooks. It's pointless to say more, you just have to try it. Watch your weights. It'll be tough.

POOL
Nothing special, didn't spend much time there, the water there is just way too warm, I suspect they heat it in collectors. I suppose babies may appreciate it.

BEACH
A beach is a very important part of any resort to me. The Hillside beach is fine, but far from perfect. Given the fact that the place is in a ravine (or a valley if you will), they had to work with limited space. Add 400 rooms on top of that and you have a situation, where you're gonna have a fairly large density of beds and sun umbrellas on a not-so-large beach. And indeed, they are tight, sometimes even uncomfortably close to each other.

Even though the beds are comfy and cushioned, and cleaned every morning, the sun umbrellas are a little dodgy. They are the weaving kind, not very large in diameter, and quite see-through. Maybe because of complains most of them have been added a fabric lining from the inside, which helped a lot. However it does get difficult at times to have both beds in the shade.

Having said the above, in spite of the high density of beds and umbrellas, the beach doesn't feel particularly crowded most of the time. The same goes for the water, definitely no problem there.

In its central area the beach has 4 or 5 rows of beds, but to the sides it goes down to a lot more comfortable 2 rows. The best part of the beach is on its north side (Pasha is on the south side).

Beware though, if you're concerned about about where on the beach you'll spend your day, you have to get your spot early. Once you have it, you have it for the day, as long as you leave your towels or other personal belongings there. Some people may not like this system, but that's the way it goes. The best, most private beds are taken between 7 and 7:30 am, but you can still get good a good spot at 8 am. And even if you come at 10 you'll still have beds, but probably in the 4th row in the busiest part of the beach. Whatever suits you.

Speaking of beaches, Hillside offers more than it's main central beach.

1. There is a similar but a lot smaller beach by the Pasha club.

2. Then under the block 400 there are 2 really neat floating docks with beds and very large, quality umbrellas. They are very quiet and private, and interestingly enough they can still be had after 8 am. However there is a very deep water underneath them, hence I wouldn't recommend it if you have small kids, which is why we never used them.

HILLSIDE BEACH CLUB HATES CHILDREN
3. That's right. The hotel operates two other beaches called Silent beach and Serenity beach. The Silent one is nothing special, but the Serenity one, even though quite a walk away (about 700 meters, though regularly serviced by a free shuttle boat from the main beach), is a real treasure, almost like a Robinson island. The sad and despicable part is that CHILDREN ARE FORBIDDEN ACCESS, which essentially means that NO PARENTS ARE ALLOWED either.

This is rather shameful, to make you as a parent confined to the crowded central beach, just because you have kids. At least one of the beaches should be made available to all. If someone really needs deafening silence, he needs to stay home for christ sake.

Waters sports and equipment like kayaks or windsurfs are plentiful, free and always available without the need to reserve them. I liked that.

THE SEA
It's unsurprisingly very clean, as the beaches are pebbled. Both ends of the beach offer limited but decent snorkeling opportunities. At first it may look like there's not that many fish in the water. But just throw in a small piece of bread and in 10 seconds you'll be surrounded by hundreds of them. It'll feel like a piranha attack in the amazon. I enjoyed that.

TRIPS
The hotel offers a fair amount of trips. We took a "12 Island Boat Cruise" at a cost of 35 euros per person (kids free). It's very convenient in that you board the ship directly from the pier on the beach, in fact I think it's the hotel's own ship.

And if you get lucky, like we did, you may end up with 8 other people on a ship with a capacity of 70, so the whole day will feel like you just rented your own private ship for yourself. The ship stops at various islands where you swim, snorkel, and just relax. We absolutely loved it and I highly recommend it.

"JEEP SAFARI" (BEWARE)
Just a word of caution. Hillside offers a so-called jeep safari at a cost of 60 euros per person. I don't know what that one is like, but we were cheap and bough an external jeep safari tour from our agency rep. And it was crap. The company running it was called "Evergreen Jeep Safari". They drive you around all day in UNSHADED landrovers, where you're crammed like sardines, they take you to the BIGGEST DUMPS the region has to offer, and in the end they take you to a pool of mud where they tell you to get in it. And if you're British and posses no dignity or self respect you do it, and even let them put some mud in their crotch and then on your head. And you laugh at how much fun it is.

I emphasize that this experience had nothing to do with Hillside, however it relates to the area, so watch out.

SUMMARY
To sum it up, Hillside is a superbly managed, great looking hotel with modern rooms, in wonderful surroundings, with hard working staff and food from out of this world. It could be more considerate of people who want to sleep at 1am and it should stop discriminating parents and children by opening at least one of their niche beaches to them. Other than that I think you're unlikely to be disappointed. If you have questions contact me.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank travellerCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

this was our 2nd visit to the hillside beach club and it was better then the first time..the food was fabulous the deserts were to die for...the service was next to none the staff even remembered us from our previous stay...our daughter who is 5 went to kids side where she had great fun with the kids team and made lots of friends this time they put on a kids show which was great fun..the entertainment was fantastic especially the gala shows we cant wait to rebook for next year

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badholBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Had a fantastic holiday as is such a beautiful spot and the food wasexcellent. For couples without children this is not the right complex as it is heaving with young couples with children. The beaches are lovely with great sunbeds and parasols but they are all shingle not sand. If you want to book a boat trip do it from Fetihye harbour, not the hotel or travel agent and you will get it for a third of the price. Would love to go back if it wasn't so geared for children.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda_Epsom_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Hill Side Beach Club is of the most beautiful scenery an amazing blue bay set ,, Thank you my boy friend chosed Fiethiye and chosed this hotel. We had a fantastic Holiday,

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank london013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We stayed in a delux apartment which consisted of a large double bedroom, large open balcony with a wonderful view of the bay, open air toilet / shower and a smaller front bedroom intended for children.

We had a geat holiday and there are plenty of reviews detailing what is great at the Hillside Beach Resort but there were some things that were not so great.

The apartment layout is not ideal for families with small children as the window locks in the smaller front bedroom are feeble ( 10m drop below window ) and there is nothing to stop them wandering out to the balcony at night or even leaving the apartment unnoticed. So our kids slept in the double bedroom with their mother and I used the front bedroom.

I think most families are put in rooms near the Pasha Resturant and Night Club we kept the bedroom windows closed and the air conditioning units on to drown out the noise which comes from the nightclub. If you are a light sleeper and want a noise free environment you will not find it here.

However, these minor niggles would not stop us visiting this resort again !

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillieGarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Someone just wrote a painfully incorrect review of Hillside. I don't usually leave reviews although I find this site very useful. But I can't help but defend Hillside on this occasion. The person who said "this is the worst hotel ever " should visit the hotel- they based their judgement on telephone/email contact and have not actually visited!
Here are a few points about Hillside-
The majority of bookings for the hotel are through internet/travel agents. Usually you have to book about a year in advance to get availability. A very large proportion of visitors to this hoteI have been there before which speaks for itself. I have been there 3 times so far. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. It provides an overall experience that is better than any 5 star holeI I have visited, and I have visited many. It probably has the most beautiful views I have experienced, and I have visited very beautiful places in Europe, the Americas, Asia and the Far East over the years. The entertainment teams for kids, teens and adults are amazing and very comprehensive and all included in the total price so it provides excellent value for money. It is probably not the place to go for a quiet, calm, child free, serene holiday experience, although there is a serenity beach two spectacular spas. Hope that clarifies things!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
1.4 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 101 in Fethiye
848 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lykia Botanika Beach & Fun Club
7.7 mi away
The Bay Beach Club
The Bay Beach Club
#37 of 101 in Fethiye
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#10 of 101 in Fethiye
3,371 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ece Boutique Hotel
Ece Boutique Hotel
#18 of 101 in Fethiye
133 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#2 of 101 in Fethiye
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Beach Club

Address: Kayakoy Mahallesi, Belen Cad. No: 132, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fethiye
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fethiye
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fethiye
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fethiye
#4 Spa Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range: £158 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Mediterranean caresses our private bay, Hillside Beach Club is a first-class international destination for living your dream. Relax, rejuvenate and revitalize or get active, fit and entertained - design your day in any way from dusk to dusk. It's only about you on the sunny side of life at Hillside Beach Club, where we make you feel at home and always go beyond your expectations. Love to feel good! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hillside Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Beach Hotel
Hillside Turkey
Hillside Beach Fethiye
Hillside Beach Club Fethiye
Hillside Resort Turkey
Hillside Club Turkey
Hillside Fethiye
Hillside Beach Club Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing